We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Solid Hotel in Great Location (beach!)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orca Praia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orca Praia Hotel
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Solid Hotel in Great Location (beach!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Location is great if you like to wake up to the sound of waves or see the sunset from your balcony. Stairs go straight from hotel to the pool and beach is 5 feet away, too. A bit outside of town and you need to take the bus or a 20-25min walk to Lido/outside of Funchal. Remodeled a few years ago. Clean. Breakfast/Dinner is simple 3-star hotel buffet but everything you need and they do make an effort to have a lot of local/portugese/fish. For the money I spent it was a good deal. Gym/Fitness studio is a joke, though: not open and if only one treadmill there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ESR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    160
    40
    10
    5
See reviews for
52
195
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Pros: view from the balcony, especially at sunset. Fantastic. Just take a bottle and sit and watch Decent size and quality of room, despite ants. Balcony itself - large (some rooms have small). Location between Funchal and Cabo is nice.

Cons: decidely indifferent, almost to a person, staff. Not rude, just not happy to be there. Tasteless breakfasts, which you can supplement with a 2 euro instant coffee by the pool. Atmosphere is a bit glorified retirement home for middle Europe. You pay for wifi - 4 per hour or 10 per day, but then to use it you have to stay in the lobby. To me, this is preposterous. Perhaps for retireees its no issue. Because we never ate at the hotel we did need to shop for snacks and water etc. Unfortunately the room had ants who streamed out during the evening and a couple times in middle of night I absent mindely reached for a cracker or half banana and...... So we rented a fridge. No fridge in the room but you rent for 5 euros a day. There is bar open from 1800 (with only 1 available red wine, weirdly) which has rather odd live acts from 2130. We saw a couple. I loved the magician on Saturday but there was no audience for the poor fellow.......... All in all, we found the place a little depressing - but closing our eyes and going straight to balcony every day worked well, sort of). The restaurants on the beach to the left aren't bad..... We did abandon this hotel in the end in favor of a far superior place bizarrely ranked a couple notches below Orca by Trip's system - and were very happy to have done so.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dopice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

It is a very special hotel, wonderful for those who do not look for crowds. It is situated some 15 minuted bus ride to the center of Funchal. It is quiet, clean, with a beach (partially sandy, partially pebbled), a number of nice restaurant around, including some on the oceanfront. The rooms are very big, so are most of the balconies. The beds are comfortable You hardly need air conditioning as there is always breeze from the ocean. Still you can rent a fan for some charge. The same is right about a fridge and a safe box. We did not close the glass door, so we fell asleep and woke up listening to the music of Atlantic. As all the rooms have an ocean view it is difficult to miss beautiful sunsets and sunrises. The place offers a very good breakfast. Almost every day there is a nice entertainment programme in the bar.The staff was friendly and helpful.. We found it was strange - the hotel was full, but we did not notice it a bit. The feeling was very cosy, comfortable, relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank regaleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Location
Pro - fantastic location set in the cliffs above Praia Formosa beach - the views of the ocean are amazing and we left our room doors open all night and fell asleep listening to the ocean.
Con - the hotel is very isolated - it is 3 miles to the nearest supermarket and when the courtesy bus is not running - i.e holidays, Saturday and Sunday - it is very difficult to get out and about. The lifeline is the Funchal yellow buses - you need to buy 2 Giro cards from reception (one each) and get a timetable
Rooms
Pro - the rooms are very large and comfortable with massive balconies - big enough to take a table, 2 chairs and 2 sunbeds
Con - there is very little storage - we ended up leaving our clothes in a suitcase all the time
Food
Pro - breakfast was great - lots of fresh fruit and fresh bread, cereals,cheese and ham and hot English breakfast
Con - the main course was limited in choice for English palates. We never went hungry though - filled up on lovely home made soups but we weren't sorry when we started to eat out in the 3rd week
It is possible to swap dinner for 3 course lunch round the pool - a much better option
Entertainment
Pro - a brilliant trio called 3D played twice a week - we would have paid to listen to them - they were class musicians with a brilliant sense of fun - got everyone dancing.
Con - the magician did the same show 3 times - very boring
Staff
Pro - this is a family run hotel - the staff are amazing! They cannot do enough for you - always cheerful and friendly - must mention Angelo - a great character in the evening bar and Sandra - the head of the restaurant
Con - there is no con to the staff but the hotel does charge a lot for extras - sunbeds on the balcony, safe, wi-fi, fridge, pool/snooker.
Warning
Other people have mentioned the steep climb from the pool to the hotel. We are fairly fit nearly 70 year olds - still playing golf and tennis - but the hill was a killer - we had to rest to get our breath 4 times coming up. In another couple of years, we couldn't go there.

We only paid £700 for 3 weeks at this hotel with Mercury Direct but we still can't make our mind up about this hotel - would we go there again - don't know!!

Room Tip: Floors 1/2/3/4 at the top of the hotel are the best - ask for a room with a big balcony - a couple o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JeanS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed there only one week but it was wonderful week! Hotel Orca Praia was the best choice for us. Thanks to other reviews here. We are young couple but we don´t like to lay all days on the beach or go to to disco at night. We prefer calm places and harmony of nature. Only noise you can hear at Orca Praia Hotel is sound of Atlantic ocean, but when you close large windows you can´t hear nothing. We enjoyed sitting on balcony and watching ocean. And we enjoyed breakfasts and dinners also. The meal was very good and waitress and service was excellent. The room service and service on reception was great. Really very kind people work there! So there´s nothing we can complain of. Maybe for people who have some mobility difficulties could be problem to walk down to the beach and pool. The pool was fantastic. There´s nice promenade between Funchal and Camara de Lobos. Camara de Lobos is nice place to visit for dinner or glas of wine. It´s a small romantic village. Walk to Funchal takes us about 1 hour I think. Better is to take a bus. Bus stop is straigt above hotel entrance. You can buy ticket for public transport in Funchal. We bought it for one week and we really enjoy yellow buses :-) For 7 days and 2 persons it costs 43 euros. Madeira is wonderful and this hotel provides you calm and friendly background for your island explore.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kacipaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Orca Praia & as in previous reviews the access back up from the pool bar & "promenade" is REALLY steep,we did it in stages & the steep climb from the front of the hotel to the main road.Having said that the hotel is in a lovely setting very peaceful & great sea views.Our room was excellent,clean comfy beds,large with armchairs to watch a plasma screen tv if you wished & a huge balcony with rattan chairs & good sized table to match.It was possible to hire sunbeds & an umbrella for the week but we like the sun so din`t bother.The bathroom had a sink each with good shower & towels were changed every day.There was no air conditioning but it was very nice to have both patio doors open at night & listen to the sound of the sea.We only had breakfast which was adequate so can`t comment on dinner.Hotel staff pleasant & reception very helpfull.Good bus service into Funchal from the stop close to the hotel on the main road.Only 2 restaurants in the vicinity & we mainly ate in the Piano Bar which was a left turn from the top of the drive but be warned HUGE portions!From the pool a right turn was a nice walk into Camara de Lobos \which was one of our favourite places to sit at one of the bars & watch the fishermen.To the left a path led along the beach to a couple of local bars/cafes where we ate a couple of times at reasonable prices & watched the Portugal football game with the locals,amazing atmosphere!But how people say you can walk into Funchal from there is a mystery,we tried & failed coming to a full stop up against a brick wall.The only downside (if you can call it that)is that until our last morning we thought we were the only English people at the hotel,when at breakfast we met two other couples who thought the same & they were due to leave the day after us!All in all had an excellent holiday,this was our 7th visit to Madeira so caught local buses to our favourite places but if you have not been before do "get out there" & see amazing scenery.

Room Tip: Superior room 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank funkycas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed her with my adult daughter for two weeks, we had a wonderful holiday, our room was huge with a fantastic private balcony on the 10th floor. The food was varied and attentive staff. This hotel is not suitable for people with mobility difficulties due to the steep access. It's a delightful walk into Funchal along the beach, stopping for a swim or refreshments on route. Would recommend this lovely hotel and hope to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 mi away
Duas Torres
Duas Torres
#38 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#25 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.2 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#35 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#21 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orca Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orca Praia Hotel

Property: Orca Praia Hotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 335 | Prainha do Arieiro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-236, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Funchal
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#24 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orca Praia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Orca Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orca Praia
Orca Praia Funchal
Orca Praia Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing