We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, good value holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Views Monumental Lido
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
uk
1 review
“Great, good value holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

We had a fantastic holiday at this hotel which we booked through Portland holidays (I believe they are part of Thomsons as we flew on a Thomsons plane and had a Thomsons rep). The hotel is in a great location in the heart of the lido part of Funchal but it is on a busy main road so take care when going in and out . The rooms were more than adequate for me and my friends and when we asked for extra pillows the staff were more than happy to arrange this for us and were very speedy. The food is ok, nothing amazing but we always found something good to eat for dinner and we went out a couple of evenings as there are so many good restaurants in the area especially sola juda (probably the wrong spelling) where we had the beef on a hot stone...a very smoky but delicious night out! We found plenty to occupy us during our stay including shopping of which there is an abundance but the island itself was the real highlight of our stay. We booked a 3 trip deal with John our rep and found it great value for money. We got to see the whole island and still had plenty of time to relax and see the city. There were cheap places around town to book trips including one right next to the hotel called Strawberry World but we heard some bad reviews about them from friends who had been to Madeira before us and I think most of these cheap places are linked with timeshare properties so we stayed well away. We always book with the reps anyway as we know they're reliable and we'll be taken care of. Their guides are amazing especially Darlene who really made the trips for us with her commentary and knowledge plus she only spoke in English so we got her full attention through the day. If you are planning to go to Madeira I can highly recommend this hotel and the tours. Say hi to John if he's still there...he was fab!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hinckleylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    492
    146
    45
    10
See reviews for
159
699
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

I have just returned from hotel monumental lido where i stayed for 14 nights, the hotel, staff and food was to a high standard. Madeira is an island that you must get out and see. After reading comments on this web site about Strawberry world we thought we would try. However i would not recommend the excursion company outside the hotel the are very misleading in the excursions when we went on the trip it was in 5 different languages. They insisted on taking the bus to outlets for people to buy items. This is not what i wanted in a day out to be harrassed into a shopping trip. This is the first time we have not booked through our rep and it will be the last.
Trip advisor should be advice to other traveler about hotels and people should not be allowed to write adverts for such like companies it really put a dampner on my holiday.
As i said madeira is a must see island but i would definatly pay a little extra in the future to see it without the harassment.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunter1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

I just spent 8 nights here. The hotel is well situated and though probably not the best hotel on the island, more than satisfied my needs. The room was bright and cleaned daily - large terrace balcony (though not all rooms had this) Facilities, such as pools, gym were all good. I only tried breakfast once - ok but glad I had not booked it for all week. Did not try evening meals. There are so many restaurants close by to sample, which to me is all part of the holiday enjoyment. I particularly liked the Irish pub along the main road, which had a lovely terrace. Would recommend Strawberry World for excursions. The guide made the trip to North and West of the island so interesting. All in all, I had a super break.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjeasumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed here for 11 nights, having booked as recommendation of family members who also booked for 7 nights. Made bookings in advance via the Hotel's website, and received very good advance rates on accommodation (although had to pay in advance)

We booked room only in "partial sea view", which turned out to be in the extension to the orginal building via the rear set of lifts. The partial sea view is explained by the obscured view by the next door hotel, complete with ugly mobile phone and air condition stacks (see picture from earlier reviewer). The balcony was extremley small and unappealing. together with the noise polution from the previously mentioned air conditioning fans meant we made little use of this facility.

That said, the room was very clean and comfortable, and well equiped. Having selected a room only deal, we made use of the small kitchen area, which was sufficient with microwave, 2 electric hobs and fridge/freezer. Beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom a good size. A Flat screen TV could only be viewed from the beds, but have several English channels, and many other foreign channels showing English/US programmes with Portuguese sub-titles. We found all the staff extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. The Outdoor pool and area are pleasant and well used, but the indoor pool and spa unappealing.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the Reception and bar area are generally dark, being under the shopping centre. The nightly entertainment we found rather mixed and aimed at the mature holiday makers. Though now in our 50's we found the musical offering of the resident bands dated.

The hotel is located in Funchal's Hotel zone and is a good 20 minute walk from the Funchal centre, or a short bus ride on the 5 minute frequent No 1 bus. The area has clearly been heavily developed over the last decade or two, and more recent large and expensive hotels have been built along this part of the coast. The area outside of the hotel is noisy and busy being on the main road between Funchal and Fomosa beach, but it has the advantage of being close to good transport links, many restaurants, shops and supermarkets.

The hotel obviously raises mixed reviews, and will depend on room location in the complex and individual likes and dislikes. However, overall we found it good value and had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

I have stayed at this Hotel on 7 occasions now. The Hotel is on the main avenue in the tourist area of Funchal and not a dual carriageway as mentioned, more like a garden with flowers, palm trees and benches that seperates the two lanes of traffic. The staff are great and the majority are the same as my first visit ( as a restauranter myself, let me tell you it's a good sign). Talking to a UK couple at breakfast, i asked them what they were upto that day and they told me they were spending the day at Antonio's house, Antonio is a barman at the hotel. The food is good. hot and cold bufet style and changes daily with plenty of choice. I would agree that the corridors, apart from the lighting given by the exit signs are dark and on timer switches, when i jokinly mentioned it to a room maid she said the island government have gone crazy on energy saving. The rooms are clean, bathroom tiles wiped over every day, loads of towels daily. Outdoor pool is maintained religously, Indoor pool with spa and gym i cant say much about it because who the hell wants to spend time in the gym on holiday. I find this hotel perfect for the money and my holiday. There are dozens of much ! much ! better hotels on the island but you wont have any change from £2000 for a week per person. 750 quid half board for two weeks ...Bargain...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhodriWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

The Four Views Monumental fronts on to a busy dual carriageway, with the bulk of the ground floor facade forming part of the Monumental Shopping Centre. Rooms at the front of the hotel are sea facing and most have a sea view beyond the road. The back of the hotel is directly onto a side street, with rooms on the ground floor having balconies or patios that finish where the pavement starts.

When entering the hotel, the foyer is large but dark. The only natural light comes from the windows at the front which are heavily shaded by a canopy making it rather reminiscent of a cave, getting progressively darker the farther you get inside, and with your eyes taking a while to become accustomed to the light, or rather, lack thereof. Check-in was quick and easy and the reception staff friendly and helpful.

To get to the elevators, it is necessary to progress further into the gloom via the partly partitioned off bar area. The bar is closed during the daytime and is even darker than the reception, illuminated only by a few lamps in a low ceiling, and rather reminiscent of a 1980’s Eastern European airport. Its depressing ambience meant that we personally didn’t use it at all during our stay, although it appeared fairly busy most evenings when a few more lights were on and the entertainment was in full swing.

Our room was located in an adjoining building which also contained the Spa and Indoor Pool. This building is constructed in a completely different style and with different materials to the main hotel. The two buildings are linked internally only at ground floor level, via a dismal internal passageway with wall lighting contained in boxes shaped rather like coffins from a fairground Ghost Train ride.

Our room on the 6th floor was very quiet, modern, fairly comfortable, clean and well equipped, having a small kitchenette (self catering) with table and chairs, it had a nice bathroom and a distant, but obscured sea view. The main panorama consisted of a fire escape at the rear of a neighbouring hotel, a nest of air conditioners, the indoor pool ventilation system and a concrete tower block with a plethora of roof mounted antennae. (See photograph) The balcony at just over a paltry 4’ x 4’ (130 x 130 cm) was filled entirely by a small bistro table and two chairs. The disappointing view and lack of space meant that this was rather underutilised during our stay.

The pool areas and pool bar were clean and pleasant enough, although they appeared to have evolved over time in a rather ad-hoc fashion, rather than as the result of a considered design. The centrepiece is a large glass structure which I assume is to provide light for the shopping centre below. The pool changing area, toilets and showers were excellent, probably the best we have come across, well equipped and spotlessly clean. A rather unusual raised deck equipped with sun loungers on the roof of the restaurant had a high and unobstructed sea view, but was positioned above a Chinese restaurant located in the shopping centre below. We like Chinese food, but found the constant, distinctive smell unpleasant and slightly nauseous, especially just after breakfast, and wondered if that was why we were the only patrons using this area. There were plenty of sun loungers around the pools and those we used were comfortable and in good condition. Food from the pool bar was of an acceptable standard and the service was friendly and good.

The Monumental Gymnasium is located in the main hotel, away from the indoor pool and spa. It is extremely well equipped, and offers a range of exercise classes, but It can get busy at times and is closed on Sundays. It also, rather bizarrely, provides hotel access to the shopping centre. Whilst hotel guests may use the gymnasium free of charge, I was informed on arrival, that it is a privately run facility and as a result seemed only to be used by locals who don’t appear particularly keen to have hotel guests using their facilities; so don’t expect to feel welcome. You will also need to provide your own towel and drinking water.

The Lido area of Funchal where the hotel is located was not quite as nice as we had imagined and slightly run down. The main seawater pools opposite the hotel were empty and in a state of disrepair.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stem_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

Just to advise that we were tranferred here for 3 nights by Thonson/Thomas Cook(never established who was responsible) due to the Ash cloud having previously stayed at The Porto Santa Maria in the old town which was absolutely lovely and will have clouded our judgement somewhat.
Art deco top portion of the hotel,shopping center bottom.Gloomy exterior,gloomy interior.Dark gloomy faceless corridors.Small room,small bathroom.No toiletries in bathroom other than plastic soap dispenser.
woodchip wallpaper throughout.Small balcony with sticking door overlooking noisy road where drivers appeared to take turns tooting theirs horns in the morning or 'bottle man' as the rep called him who emptied large bottle containers in the morning.Big sign on the door saying - don't lock yourself out.Big sign on the pool towell saying - if you leave this by the pool you will be charged.Big sign of the bottle of water - if you drink this you will be charged.
Restaurant was more of a works canteen - large,loud disorganised,pushing.Poor crockery,mixed utensils.More big signs - you will be charged 1 euro for every item that you take outside the restaurant.Poor breakfast quality throughout.Evening meal a little better.Reasonable vegetables and a good salad selection.Meat overcooked,fish ok but strange mixes eg white fish with pineapple.
Pool was closed for 2 days whilst I was there.
Gloomy bar area downstairs with mixed cabaret similar to old fashioned british working mens club(without the smoke).
This is a cheap faceless that somehow has 4 stars allocated to it.
2 or 3 staff in the restaurant did their best though they seemed to be working with meagre resources

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.0 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#28 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
6.2 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#41 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Property: Four Views Monumental Lido
Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Monumental Lido
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing