We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit to this newly renovated hotel, although we visited many times, before the renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Views Monumental Lido
Ranked #30 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“First Visit to this newly renovated hotel, although we visited many times, before the renovation”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just back from our first visit to the newly renovated Fourviews Monumental, although we have stayed many times before it was renovated. We both loved many of the new things. The rooms are modern, comfortable and look so much bigger. The new pool and pool area are lovely and Reception is now very bright and modern looking. The apartments have also been renovated and ours very comfortable and well equipped. Beds were comfortable and it had lovely new comfy pillows the maid service every day was excellent. Unfortunately there were roadworks on the road outside during our visit, so our balcony was unusable for lots of the time. To the Hotel's credit they did offer to move us, in hindsight we should have accepted their offer. I think the roadworks started the day we arrived and were almost finished the day we left! Speaking to other guests who were in the hotel rooms or studios which are set further back, the noise didn't seem to carry so badly to there, so we were just unlucky. We only found 2 negatives, food preferences are a very subjective thing and unfortunately neither of us enjoyed the food very much. We both thought that the choices, although vast, contained too many competing flavours and we found it difficult to make a full meal that we enjoyed. Also, we quite often found the hot choices not to be hot enough, but we do like our food piping hot. On a few occasions we swapped dinner for lunch and found this worked well for us as the food at lunchtime was freshly prepared, simpler and hot. We do realise that they are trying to cater for many different nationalities and we're sure that lots of people enjoyed the food, it just wasn't for us. The other negative, for us, was the evening bar area. We thought it was too big, too brightly lit and lacking atmosphere. I believe they are aware of this and are planning changes to this area. Although we didn't like the bar area, most of the entertainment was enjoyable for us. Charlie and partner who performed Tuesday and Thursday were particularly good.
It's quite difficult to review somewhere you have known for so long and has changed so much, but, we think we have been very fair in our assessment.
During our stay every member of staff we dealt with was friendly, helpful and lovely to deal with. The fabulous staff(all of them)was the one thing that hasn't changed.
We will be back, but perhaps bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: We prefer the Seaview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Calderglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We feel happy to read that in a general way you have enjoyed your stay and that you found that the renewing was worth it and needed.

Has we previously spoke there are certain areas that we are still working on, in this particular case our Restaurant and Bar.

Regarding the food it is s bit of a sensitive case has we are also receiving very good comments, has our Guest opinion matter now we have available the Meat Lovers (every Friday day) and the Fish lovers day (every Tuesday) so that the Guests can have another possibility to choose from.

The bar itself we understand that it is not as crowded as it used to be, for this matter we are working on new possibilities and for sure that when you visit us again everything will be in order.

Thank you very much for visiting us again and for always choosing Fourviews Monumental for your holidays destination.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    502
    146
    45
    10
See reviews for
162
706
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just had an excellent week in one of the hotel apartments very good everything you need, supermarket close by. it was a 10 minute ride into Funchal on the bus very cheap but can be crowded, plenty of taxi's but watch the drivers they try and over charge, make sure the meter is running. Back to our hotel recently refurbished local entertainment in the cocktail bar in the evening, good pool with bar + restaurant was very good. Plus plenty of restaurants and bars close by very good value.Food everywhere was very good and got plenty for your money.
Hotel staff very helpful and friendly in fact everywhere we went we found locals very friendly.
Madeira is a very hilly place and if you are a keen walker some excellent walks. I would certainly look at going back there again and certainly would stop at the Four Views Monumental, There are lots of good hotels close by and speaking to other reports were good again would certainly Madeira

Room Tip: We were in a small apartment to the side of the hotel very quite / didn't have any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mallyg1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and in our Sunny Island.

It is important for us that you felt that this new rebuilding was a plus and that you enjoyed the cocktail bar, the restaurant, the rooms, our hotel In a general way.

We have also appreciated the comments on our staff, thank you for the kind words.

In terms of location everything is considerably nearby, you have the beach, the restaurants, the bars, the supermarket, the taxis all around.

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your holidays destination.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks in May after a last minute trip. We were very lucky with the weather and had 10 days straight of solid sun before a few days of broken cloud.

Hotel is in the main tourist location with most of the other hotels. It is about a 30 minute walk into Funchal center on a relatively flat road bar some low gradient slopes. You can catch a bus from outside the hotel for under 2 euros that gets you into Funchal in 10 minutes. Taxi is 6-7 euros. Tuctuc 5-7 euros.

From the hotel you can walk straight ahead down an incline toward the lido and access the sea, small pebble beach (frequented by locals) and fishing point within ~10 minutes.

There are 2 main bus tours that both stop right outside the hotel, 12 euros for 48 hours as a hop on hop off service. Round trip 90 minutes and hits a majority of tourist attractions.

We stayed in an apartment as we were travelling with our 1 year old and wanted a dividing partition so he could sleep whilst we could still be active in the room. Apartments are located on floors 2 and 3 of the hotel. The pool, sunbathing area and restaurants are all on floor 4. Smaller rooms with views go from floors 4 to 11. Recommend 6th floor upwards if balcony sea view is important and a twin/double room is OK.

Apartment was nice, two flat screen tv's, well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed, balcony, bathroom with shower only, hanging space, safe etc.

There is a busy road at the front of the hotel which the apartments look over. Unfortunately there were also road works happening on this road for the duration of our trip which made the balcony almost unusable Mon-Fri during working hours. I am sure this started the week we arrived and probably concluded the week after we left and I haven't considered this in my marks.Balcony door/window was very sound proof so we weren't impacted with the door closed.

We booked half board. Food was nice. Evening meal consisted of 1 soup, a bread station, a pasta station (3 trays), a cold starter station (8-10 trays), a main course station (8-10 trays) and a desert station plus cheeses. Drinks are at cost although not too expensive. Wine 8-18 euros a bottle.

Hotel had been completely refurbished prior to our arrival so everything felt very modern and new. Hotel was also quite empty. Our son was the only baby there so had the run of the children's pool and small creche room. Note the small children s pool is bizarrely colder than the main large pool which meant on occasion it was a little too cold.

Hotel has a spa and gym. Spa pool is relatively small, Jacuzzi is free but all other spa facilities need to be paid for.

Very local to the hotel are some nice restaurants and bars. The hole in one was a favorite with live entertainment and table service every night. The Yacht bar opposite the hotel was also better priced than anything else we found. We had several meals out to break up the holiday. Atlantic restaurant provided a great view overlooking the sea, mamma mia was a nice Italian and a specialist meat on a spit restaurant just opened when we were leaving. All within 5 mins of the hotel.

All in all a good trip and a nice hotel.Would go back to Madeira again and recommend for those who want a break but aren't overly fussed by beaches and prefer a quieter holiday.

Room Tip: 4th floor has the restaurant and pool. 2nd and 3rd floor contain the apartments. Views aren't as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank G_Evans_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We feel happy to read that in a general way you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

It is true that the hotel Is very well situated has it has got everything you need around. The post office , the pharmacy, supermarket, restaurants, bars etc..

Thank you for mentioning the refurbishment and that everything looks new.

We feel that it is important that our Guest feel that we wanted to keep the same quality of service and combine it with a new refresh in the structure. This would be the perfect combination.

Regarding the road works they are public so we could not manage to stop it. At this moment everything has been solved out and we don’t have that noise issue anymore.

Thank you for choosing our hotel.

We look forward to meet you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is easily the best hotel we've ever stayed in. I can't really fault anything. Staff were wonderful from reception to cleaning lady. Breakfast had the biggest variety I've ever seen and is served in a beautiful room overlooking the sea and swimming pool. Bedrooms are very comfortable and large.
We went to Madeira for my husband's birthday and the hotel offered us a dinner for two, which unfortunately we had to decline because one of the members in our party is a fussy eater, but the menu had plenty of options of meats and fish. Next time we'll definitely try the restaurant for our main meals as well.
They even have an organic garden where the cook gets vegetables and herbs from, for the restaurant!
Towels were also provided for the indoor and outdoor swimming pool.
The daily tours around the island start outside the hotel, so this was another plus. There were also a variety of restaurants in the same building as the hotel offering Chinese, Italian and local cuisine food.
I can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: Back rooms are noisier because of road but once the window is closed, it's no problem. Opt for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank greenlady77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel.

The words you have used regarding our hotel are simply perfect; It is such an honor to understand that we have provided a memorable stay.

Thank you for your kind words, for the appreciation of the hotel, the breakfast, our food, our organic garden, for everything.

It is reviews like the one you wrote that makes us believe that our daily effort is well worth it and that it is recognized by our guests, we will share your words with our staff so they can feel this appreciation.

Even having wrote a lovely review in Tripadvisor about our hotel we consider that the best feedback you could give us would be coming back in your next holidays to our hotel.

Thank you very much for your kind words and for the appreciation of our hotel.

We look forward to see you again,

Until them I’ll leave you with my best personal regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Excellent hotel let down by just two points. Management of dinning room poor on a few occasions when the tables were not cleared or set (loved the choice of food) The bar is unattractive and entertainment poor but plenty of choices to go elsewhere.

I had a room at the back, lovely view of church with beautiful gardens. Not a quiet location but well soundproofed in the room. Tea and cake at Riviera cafe (up from the church) 2 euros, pot of tea in Rieds (on walk to or from Funchal) 5 euros. In Reid's go downstairs to see the memorabilia room.

Don't miss the Madeira story (Funchal) or the Monte Palace Gardens (Monte) The 48 bus ride to the terminus at Monte is as exhilarating as any cable car ride. Lovely weather for getting out and about in the morning and sunbathing in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Floor 8 at the back in the middle of the hotel suited me. No sun on balcony until late evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Polyana63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read and understand that you have enjoyed your holidays with us.

Concerning the details on the restaurant we would like to inform you that we are working on in it order to improve our service.

Your words have been important and we feel that everything will be in perfect order for your next visit.

The little tips you mention about Funchal and our Hotel are a must to read, we love the appreciation.

Thank you very much for your time.

We look forward to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
127 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a week as a part of a large group. Must say we were pleasantly surprised by a warm welcome and the condition of the hotel. Our room was spacious, on a higher floor, views were beautiful and the bed comfortable.
Can't complain for anything. The trip was very expensive but we were happy with everything also the overall experience at the hotel was better than expected even if this property was not between top ten on the island.
The staff was very attentive and helpful, much better as in mainland Portugal.
Would return if we traveled to Madeira again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for writing a review in Tripadvisor regarding our hotel.

We are happy to read that your have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and that you felt that the rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable and that the rooms have beautiful views.

With this new renovation of the hotel everything looks nice, bright and clean.

Thank you very much for the time you took writing a commentary in Tripadvisor.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Our stay at Four Views Monumental we thought was great value for money. Loved the way they had decorated the bedrooms and bathrooms.The bed was comfortable, the sea view on the 9th floor was good. The rooms were cleaned to an excellent standard every day. Note you have to hire the room safe key at 15 euros per week but that was fine.Towels for the pool have to be collected and taken back to the reception area.
The fridge in the room is switched off - so if you want ot use it you need to turn it on.
An information sheet in the room about all of this would be handy.

All of the staff were very friendly even when they were very rushed off their feet during the Easter holiday week when we stayed. We felt they could have done with more staff in the restaurant to serve drinks and clear tables. We waited 35 - 40 minutes on 2 nights for a bottle of wine and a bottle of water after ordering it.

The only other gripe we had was with the temperature of the food at breakfast. The water trays under the food were not lit early enough and so the food was going cold quickly after being brought out from the kitchen. There was one chef cooking omelettes but he was very busy as there was always a queue. The omelettes were worth waiting for though. Apart from that the food choice for breakfast and dinner was excellent and there was plenty of fresh local fruit and vegetables.

The hotel was in a good location for out of city bus tours or the yellow or red buses around local sights. It was also only about 20-30 minutes walk into the main shopping area or port depending on how fast you walk (up one hill back). Madeira has some great shops due to the cruise ships that stop there most days.The cable car and visit to the Palace Gardens and Museum was well worth a visit plus the Botanical Gardens.
So was the East tour which includes Santana where the small thatched houses are located.

Would we come back to Madeira - yes and would stay at this hotel again - if the price was right - yes we would.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room and ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

It is so nice to read that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and that you would love to come back to our hotel.

It is so important for us that you have enjoyed the new decoration of the rooms and the quality of them.

We are a green hotel so for this matter we always think first on the environment having our green policies like the one you mentioned about the fridge in the room that it´s switched off, allowing our guest to turn it on.

It has been particularly interesting to read that you have felt that all of our staff are very friendly, we will share your kind words with them.

Thank you the kind words regarding our restaurant and our show cooking, for the words regarding our Hotel and Madeira island itself.
Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.0 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#28 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
6.2 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#41 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Property: Four Views Monumental Lido
Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Funchal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Monumental Lido
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing