We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in good area for restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Views Monumental Lido
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We prefer self-catering holidays so we can try local food, therefore we booked self-catering rooms. We had everything you needed to cook full meals, although we really only used it to prepare breakfast and snack meals.

The hotel rooms were clean and spacious although we were given rooms with tiny balconies. When we complained we were immediately offered a change and given a free meal at the weekly barbecue. Our advice is don't accept rooms 221 and 222 if the balcony is important to you, althoough the rooms were fine otherwise!

The barbecue was a bit of a let down and made us glad we weren't eating in the hotel regularly as the food is nowhere near as good as the local restaurants produce. Avoid the dried out pork steaks and fatty meat skewers and go for the sardines and bratwurst instead. The desserts were very disappointing too - again much better can be had in local eateries.

The pool area was great with helpful staff to bring pillows for the sunbeds and umbrellas on request. The pool itself was good but got a bit rowdy when full of kids - avoid the school holidays if you are averse to this.

The rooms were well maintained and cleaned daily, again by friendly staff. The air con worked fine and kept the room lovely and cool.

The trips offered by our Thomas Cook rep were good too - we would heartily recommend the Jeep safari (try the Sunday tour of the south-west side of the island), catamaran trip to sea dolphins and open top bus tour of Funchal. All reasonably priced and exactly what was described to to us by the rep Diane - in fact she told of the catamaran trip was better value than a higher priced trip so full marks there.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 221 and 222 id a balcony is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveCullen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just come back from Madeira and stayed there for a week. Had a very good time, staff friendly and good food with plenty of variety.

Did have slight problem on arrival, checked in and given key card to go to our rooms only to find one room not ready, however after letting reception know it was all sorted within the hour. Also the other rooms air con stopped working and again all sorted very quickly.

Would I go to this hotel again? Yes I would.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OJ9395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 and agree with all the good points made.

Everywhere clean and the rooms spacious and well appointed with patio doors, A/C and ceiling fans. Bathrooms big enough with a decent shower. Sea views from high up (10th floor) are excellent. There are kettles and fridges in the rooms.

Negative points,

1/ Night 1 we had a bottle of wine at our dining table and told any wine left will be corked and reproduced the next day. They gave it to someone else then gave us half a used bottle after writing out room number on it. It wasn't our bottle so after drinking what they brought they gave us an extra glass of wine each.

The solution here is to have dinner at the 8 o'clock sitting, go to the bar for happy hour then just before 8 and order glasses of wine during happy hour.

The bar is next to reception and is done out in dark wood and is dimly lit, not very inviting but after happy hour it shuts at 8 and if you need a drink in the hotel after that you have to go to the pool bar which is outside, not very comfortable or welcoming. It is also cool if the night air cools down.

On BBQ night it was a bit disorganised where first it got extra busy as b&b guests could pay to eat and you then had to trapes outside to go and get your BBQ food. The staff got stressed which was very evident, but the food was good.

There are only 3 small lifts one of which stops if 4 medium people get in it.

These are gripes and the hotel is a good one with friendly staff and very clean, go and have a look.

Room Tip: Go high and ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just back hotel a bit tired but staff very good and friendly , would return ,very clean ,views outstanding I would recommend it to anyone :-) the hotel is very centriley located. The buses run every 15 minits between the hotel and old Funchal just take the number 1-2-4 the cost is1.90 or cheaper if you get a travel card :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Read the reviews before booking the late holiday, and everything was really good, staff so friendly, food was great and loads of choice, everywhere was so clean, restaurant, bedrooms, pool areas, great location, so, all in all..........Well worth the money, would definitely return here.

Room Tip: We were allocated a rear room with side mountain view, no problems at all, we were on 6th floor, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank buxhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013, had a fab holidy and have already booked to go back in 2014. Very clean hotel, lovely staff and the food was excellent. Would highly recommend. I beleive its closing for refurb in October, this will make it a top class hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are slightly noisy due to the traffic, upgrade to a sea view for quieter lroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank musiccentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Facilities and staff are excellent as is the food. There are areas of the hotel that need updating and renovating. The Half Board buffet breakfast and evening meals are excellent, a varied menu that is well presented and cooked. Good fitness centre and swimming pools. There are two computers in the library to provide free internet access. A sea view room is a must because the rooms at the rear as advertised by Thompson state they have garden and mountain views... the garden is across a busy road and not part of the hotel and the mountains are obscured by apartment blocks! The road is very noisy and busy. It is a good hotel and once the planned refurbishment is completed I imagine it will be an excellent place to stay. Located within walking distance of Funchal centre and the many nearby restaurants. Good bus services from right outside the hotel or across the road.

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brian_elaine_bowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#26 of 88 in Funchal
831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#24 of 88 in Funchal
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#33 of 88 in Funchal
799 reviews
0 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#45 of 88 in Funchal
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#28 of 88 in Funchal
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $82 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
4 Views Monumental Lido
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing