We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired but good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Views Monumental Lido
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Facilities and staff are excellent as is the food. There are areas of the hotel that need updating and renovating. The Half Board buffet breakfast and evening meals are excellent, a varied menu that is well presented and cooked. Good fitness centre and swimming pools. There are two computers in the library to provide free internet access. A sea view room is a must because the rooms at the rear as advertised by Thompson state they have garden and mountain views... the garden is across a busy road and not part of the hotel and the mountains are obscured by apartment blocks! The road is very noisy and busy. It is a good hotel and once the planned refurbishment is completed I imagine it will be an excellent place to stay. Located within walking distance of Funchal centre and the many nearby restaurants. Good bus services from right outside the hotel or across the road.

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brian_elaine_bowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the 3rd. time we have stayed at this hotel-half board. Half board is advisable as meals out are expensive . Around 18 euros pep person for an evening meal. The food is good and the staff friendly. The indoor pool and the hot tub , both free are good. The cinemas at the Forum centre six of them are really cheap and show up to date films all in English. Air conditioned and run to time. Get Giro bus tickets from the shopping arcade next to the hotel.
Go to the Whie House Pub . Turn left outside the hotel up the incline and on the left - 5 minutes
Very cheap drinks and good food.

Room Tip: A seaview room is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I don't know if there is anything more I can say about this hotel that I have not said in my previous three reviews.
Previous reviewers have mentioned the hotel is looking a bit tired which I agree with but this will be overcome during the October - March shutdown for an upgrade.
The staff are obviously sensitive to this and go out of their way, if this were possible, to make up for it.
As always, they were magnificent. From the front of house staff to the cleaners and chambermaids.
I look forward to visiting again sometime next year.
Keep up the good work Sergio.

Room Tip: Although the apartment is very basic before the upgrade, the terrace of room 638 is almost four time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just returned from a weeks self catering stay at the four views monumental in Funchal. The rooms were spacious but a little out dated and when the room had been closed for a few hours on return there would be a musty smell that would disappear once the balcony doors were opened. However I understand that there is to be a refurb later this year. Unable to comment on the food as we were self catering. Cleaners very good when cleaning the rooms but the stairs were not cleaned regularly as there was the same flyer on the stairs from the start of the week until the end.
the self catering accommodation was at the front of the hotel which is on a busy road and very noisy, once the doors were closed there was no noise at all so did not interrupt sleep.
Funchal is a delight, very pretty and friendly. Went on two excursions both very enjoyable. Would recommend Maderia and would also recommend the four views monumental although not really up to 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Looking over the many contributions for this hotel, I find that there can be little more to tell readers. My wife and I had room 618, which had a sea view at extra cost, but well worth it. Food was as good as others have reported, and the staff were friendly and efficient. One thing that did cause us concern was the staff habit of propping open the main dining room doors, allowing ferral pigeons to wander in and out under the tables. I don't have a hang-up on pigeons but they can become nuisances, apart from the health worries. Incidentally for those who wander down to Funchal and look for some refreshment, I suggest you avoid the bar/snack bar behind the cathedral church.It is in a small, open area beneath an awning suspended from trees, and is virtually over-run by a flock of these birds. As soon as customers stand up to leave, a cloud of pigeons arrive, landing on tables, chairs, and even heads, in their eagerness to find food. The staff do nothing to dissuade them.
There was an invitation lying on our bed when we returned to our room on our second day. To a cocktail reception by Mr Sergio Costa, operations manager of four views hotels, for 5.30 pm next evening. We attended, together with numerous other guests, and were told the news that the hotel would close at the end of November through to the beginning of March, when all rooms were to be upgraded into the modern era. They had set asside room 501 for us to view at our leisure. We did, and were impressed. I recommend visiting this hotel in the future to anyone who fancies a Madeira holiday.
A moment of amusement when we read a bedside notice in our room. It referred to safety when using the large, metal ceiling mounted fan, and urged guests not to stand on the beds when the fan was rotating !
For excursions we used Madeira Happy Tours at their office inside the shopping centre next to the hotel entrance. These tours are held every day and we chose two. The quality of the tour depends very much on the driver/guide of these mini-buses, as well as the large number of coaches and mini-coaches arriving at each village/viewing point together. Lunches can be booked through the drivers, but we noticed the large number of guests who "borrowed" food at breakfast and shovelled it into bags for their free lunches. Presumably they blame uk government "cuts" for this ?
For days out in Funchal we recommend visiting the Palace Gardens in Monte. The 48 bus from opposite the hotel terminates there. The sledge trips can also be observed hurtling down the Monte roads guided by straw-hatted runners. After the trip, the 48 bus stops outside the hotel, in Lido(Lee-doh) Madeira bus drivers are frustrated Grand Prix drivers, we reckoned. They are the fastest buses we have ever used. .

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel has rooms facing a road and distant hills. There is not much sun at the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

well after reading some of the reviews wasnt expecting too much but was very pleased and surprised. The Hotel is in a marvelous location on a busy road but once inside you cant hear it nor can you hear it too much from the pool area and nothing in studios. The Hotel is spotlessly clean with friendly staff, we stayed for 11 nights in a studio it wasnt huge but was big enough, it had a microwave and 2 rings and a fridge . big bathroom with clean towels regualry changed,cant comment on the food as we were self catering but the pool bar had lovely snacks available as mentioned in other reviews its closing for a full refurb in october it is in need of this as its a bit tired in places but not to an extent to spoil a holiday all in all a lovely hotel

Room Tip: higher up gets the view and rooms for bed and breakfast get most of the sun some studios on the 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mattysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Good hotel, due for a refurbishment so is closing for a few months in Oct. Situated on the flat so not a bad walk into town. Rooms are a good size as is the bathroom, there is a kettle but you have to provide tea or coffee, there is a useful mini fridge so you can keep the milk cool or beer, wine. Staff are freindly, food is ok but can be a bit repetative there is always plenty. overall we had a good holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dianehale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#26 of 88 in Funchal
834 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#25 of 88 in Funchal
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#33 of 88 in Funchal
802 reviews
0 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#46 of 88 in Funchal
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#29 of 88 in Funchal
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $84 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
4 Views Monumental Lido
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing