We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth time in four years at Four Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Views Monumental Lido
Ranked #30 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fourth time in four years at Four Views”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I don't know if there is anything more I can say about this hotel that I have not said in my previous three reviews.
Previous reviewers have mentioned the hotel is looking a bit tired which I agree with but this will be overcome during the October - March shutdown for an upgrade.
The staff are obviously sensitive to this and go out of their way, if this were possible, to make up for it.
As always, they were magnificent. From the front of house staff to the cleaners and chambermaids.
I look forward to visiting again sometime next year.
Keep up the good work Sergio.

Room Tip: Although the apartment is very basic before the upgrade, the terrace of room 638 is almost four time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    509
    146
    45
    10
See reviews for
164
711
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just returned from a weeks self catering stay at the four views monumental in Funchal. The rooms were spacious but a little out dated and when the room had been closed for a few hours on return there would be a musty smell that would disappear once the balcony doors were opened. However I understand that there is to be a refurb later this year. Unable to comment on the food as we were self catering. Cleaners very good when cleaning the rooms but the stairs were not cleaned regularly as there was the same flyer on the stairs from the start of the week until the end.
the self catering accommodation was at the front of the hotel which is on a busy road and very noisy, once the doors were closed there was no noise at all so did not interrupt sleep.
Funchal is a delight, very pretty and friendly. Went on two excursions both very enjoyable. Would recommend Maderia and would also recommend the four views monumental although not really up to 4 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Looking over the many contributions for this hotel, I find that there can be little more to tell readers. My wife and I had room 618, which had a sea view at extra cost, but well worth it. Food was as good as others have reported, and the staff were friendly and efficient. One thing that did cause us concern was the staff habit of propping open the main dining room doors, allowing ferral pigeons to wander in and out under the tables. I don't have a hang-up on pigeons but they can become nuisances, apart from the health worries. Incidentally for those who wander down to Funchal and look for some refreshment, I suggest you avoid the bar/snack bar behind the cathedral church.It is in a small, open area beneath an awning suspended from trees, and is virtually over-run by a flock of these birds. As soon as customers stand up to leave, a cloud of pigeons arrive, landing on tables, chairs, and even heads, in their eagerness to find food. The staff do nothing to dissuade them.
There was an invitation lying on our bed when we returned to our room on our second day. To a cocktail reception by Mr Sergio Costa, operations manager of four views hotels, for 5.30 pm next evening. We attended, together with numerous other guests, and were told the news that the hotel would close at the end of November through to the beginning of March, when all rooms were to be upgraded into the modern era. They had set asside room 501 for us to view at our leisure. We did, and were impressed. I recommend visiting this hotel in the future to anyone who fancies a Madeira holiday.
A moment of amusement when we read a bedside notice in our room. It referred to safety when using the large, metal ceiling mounted fan, and urged guests not to stand on the beds when the fan was rotating !
For excursions we used Madeira Happy Tours at their office inside the shopping centre next to the hotel entrance. These tours are held every day and we chose two. The quality of the tour depends very much on the driver/guide of these mini-buses, as well as the large number of coaches and mini-coaches arriving at each village/viewing point together. Lunches can be booked through the drivers, but we noticed the large number of guests who "borrowed" food at breakfast and shovelled it into bags for their free lunches. Presumably they blame uk government "cuts" for this ?
For days out in Funchal we recommend visiting the Palace Gardens in Monte. The 48 bus from opposite the hotel terminates there. The sledge trips can also be observed hurtling down the Monte roads guided by straw-hatted runners. After the trip, the 48 bus stops outside the hotel, in Lido(Lee-doh) Madeira bus drivers are frustrated Grand Prix drivers, we reckoned. They are the fastest buses we have ever used. .

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel has rooms facing a road and distant hills. There is not much sun at the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

well after reading some of the reviews wasnt expecting too much but was very pleased and surprised. The Hotel is in a marvelous location on a busy road but once inside you cant hear it nor can you hear it too much from the pool area and nothing in studios. The Hotel is spotlessly clean with friendly staff, we stayed for 11 nights in a studio it wasnt huge but was big enough, it had a microwave and 2 rings and a fridge . big bathroom with clean towels regualry changed,cant comment on the food as we were self catering but the pool bar had lovely snacks available as mentioned in other reviews its closing for a full refurb in october it is in need of this as its a bit tired in places but not to an extent to spoil a holiday all in all a lovely hotel

Room Tip: higher up gets the view and rooms for bed and breakfast get most of the sun some studios on the 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mattysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Good hotel, due for a refurbishment so is closing for a few months in Oct. Situated on the flat so not a bad walk into town. Rooms are a good size as is the bathroom, there is a kettle but you have to provide tea or coffee, there is a useful mini fridge so you can keep the milk cool or beer, wine. Staff are freindly, food is ok but can be a bit repetative there is always plenty. overall we had a good holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dianehale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visited this hotel in May and found it to be a good base for enjoying Funchal and its gardens and for excursions around the island. It is a popular hotel with busy meal times, but we never had a queue at the buffet although there were mornings when we had difficulty in finding a breakfast table. This is because many visitors are setting off for a days walking or sightseeing and require to eat early. When we were there the were severasl large groups who tended to arrive in the dining room around 8pm and were sometimes rather noisy.The staff are most friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean. We enjoyed the food which included a good cold buffet as well as the usual heated buffet and the desserts were particularly enjoyable. Maderia is a very mountainous island and this means you are walking uphill or downhill every time you go out. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and there are also three supermarkets nearby for people who want to make picnics. Buses into town are frequent and stop just across the road from the hotel. Excursions start at the hotel door.
Eating out is much cheaper in the old town than close by the hotel and there is plenty of choice. We thought the hotel was good value for money although some guests thought their rooms were becoming a little tired. It will be closing for a short time in October for refurbishment so this criticism may not apply in future.

Room Tip: Sea view and high up mean quiet nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushton england
Level Contributor
134 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is nothing to set the world alight but it is just about fine in most places. The rooms are clean and tidy though in need of a bit of tlc. The food is all of good quality but just lacking that bit more choice. Most hotels I have been in have a choice of 2 soups in the evening, this had one. The salad choice varied each night but if you wanted all without dressings etc, it was a bit more limited. Breakfasts were standard fayre but you dont get fried eggs every day and they were probably catering for German/French tastes, with more on the cold side.
The staff are all friendly and helpful and the hotel is located on a busy road. We were on the second floor above the road but it was no problem, as we had a sliding door to cut the noise out. We also had full kitchen facilities, which was great.

Beer and wine in the evening was around E2.50 for a smallish glass - obviously cheaper outside.
There is a supermarket down the road opposite and also right from the hotel and plenty of trips to go on. The walk to Funchal takes about 30 mins but there are loads of buses.
Overall, a good hotel in a nice position on a lovely island.

Forgot to say that there are plenty of sunbeds and parasols to use and a free sauna and jacquzi.

Room Tip: Dont think it matters but if you want a kitchen ask for an appartment on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martandvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.0 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#27 of 86 in Funchal
749 reviews
6.2 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#41 of 86 in Funchal
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Property: Four Views Monumental Lido
Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Funchal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Monumental Lido
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing