We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel but a bit tired” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Views Monumental Lido

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Four Views Monumental Lido
Ranked #30 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but a bit tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is the third visit to this hotel, mid February 2013, previously 2005 and 2008.

The service and food is still very good but the rooms now need a bit of updating.

I requested a high mountain view room, as my wife and I don’t use balcony’s with sea views as were are always out and about.

We were given a room on the 8th floor. Unfortunately, the road below is now a lot busier than the last visits and the noise of traffic hitting the ramp and manholes outside kept us awake late at night and early in the morning.

After complaining to the hotel they moved us to a lower room on the side of the hotel which was much quieter, except for noisy teenagers in the next room at about midnight but only for 15 minutes, so not too bad. So thanks to the hotel for that.

The location of the hotel for my wife and I is perfect. Just down the sloping road opposite to the Lido is a coastal path that is about 6kM long, worth a walk, some bars on the way. Also, about a 2Km walk into the centre of Funchal downhill and a bus back if you don’t fancy the walk back uphill. (Numbers 2,4 and 6 run regularly and stop outside the hotel).

The walk into Funchal is along a busy road but has the St. Catarina Park with a statue of ‘Sissy’ and a small lake with fountains, swans, ducks etc. and views over Funchal along the way.

The floods and mud slides in Madeira in 2010 caused extensive damage to the town, especially the coastal area. The ex Beatles/Donovan yacht, The Vagrant, was undamaged but the tables, little punts, were virtually destroyed.

They are repairing and building break waters to not only protect against future storms but to make a beach, so there is a lot of works going on at the far end of Funchal. Due to be completed in 2015. The Cable Car, Teleferico, was not affected so you can still go to the Imperial Palace Tropical Gardens, which are tremendous, and a second cable car to the Botanic Gardens, just as impressive in a different way. Buses are also available. The famous wooden sledges run from the church just up from the Imperial Palace Gardens. They are expensive and not very exciting. However, should be done when you’re there.

We will not return to Madeira and this hotel but only because we have been here three times.

Room Tip: If you like a balcony pay extra for a sea view room. It would also be a bit quieter than a Mountan V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    470
    142
    44
    8
See reviews for
149
664
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Spent a week here at the end of January - great weather which helped. Restaurant staff were really helpful, especially as my wife is gluten free. They checked menus each day for suitability and made meals a pleasurable, stress-free time!
Room was clean and comfortable - mattresses on the hard side but guess that will change with the refit this year! We'd definitely return and we don't do that sort of thing!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view - we didn't and wished we had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Monumental Lido is a nice hotel, we couldn't have expexted more for the price we paid. The location was good, our room was always spotlessly clean and the pool area was never too busy even though the weather was nice and sunny for most of the time during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TakeOff_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Staff at this hotel were very nice , but hotel is not 5* .It has been built on and built and has become a concrete jungle. Nowhere nice to sit in gardens compared to adjoining 4* hotels. Foodleft over from day before was turned into salads next day. Show cooking was good and even though this hotel served English spirits etc. have stayed in better 3*. Bathroom smelly at times and sun beds very basic. Indoor pool was not accommadating for older people as only , low sunbeds, could do with some chairs . Could not understand why Management did not open Moonlight Bar when lobby bar was crowded and waiters had to run up and down stairs . Not logical. Smells from kitchen imminent early morning..

Room Tip: Rooms on 6th 7th 8th 9th floor have excelleny views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamela186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Nothing but praise for the hotel. Allocated room on 9th floor with mountain view but was very noisy. Staff changed room to 6th floor with sea view without any hassle or charge. Staff were very kind and helpful. If there was a minus, the beds were very hard. Food was excellent with a great variety to choose from. Location perfect, with bus stops, bars shops outside.Would recommend it for anyone

Room Tip: Get a sea view 6th floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

this hotel is a relaxed place to spend time.Buffet meals are good and plentiful.helpful staff.central location.wifi available free around the pool but not available in bedroom.the hotel is closing for four months from November for a complete facelift there will not be available between November and march 2013/2014.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room which will be away from noise and give good views over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel room was a twin one with a mountain vierw on floor 10 - no issues with noise but the shower over the bath and bedroom chair could do with updating - during the week we learnt that there is to be a major refurbishment of this hotel at the end of 2013 so will be closed from early Dec until March 2014. The views were good and the restaurant food selections within the buffets were extensive and of good quality. The beds were firm. I would return again to Four Views -it took about one hour to walk through to the old town part of Funchal but there is a regular bus service -we used the Happy Tours company in the shopping Mall next door to the hotel for guided walks and found the walks & mini bus transport they provided excellent -door to door service and superb walks. (28 euros for a full day)
The room had a kettle & mugs and hair drier in the bathroom but take your own tea bags/coffee etc. Their charges after using the initial welcome pack for them are high! Also an empty mini bar fridge which proved very useful . Two computers with internet access near reception for free use by the guests proved very popular during the week as was the free Wifi on the same floor as the restaurant.

Room Tip: Upper floors quieter. Sea views brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.0 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#28 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
5.7 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 14 in Canico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#25 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#39 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#42 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Property: Four Views Monumental Lido
Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Funchal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
4 Views Monumental Lido
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing