We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Views Monumental Lido
Ranked #30 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lohja
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good family friendly hotel”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Monumental Lido is a large hotel on Estrada Monumental, the main road going through the Lido zone. This means that in the lower floors there may be some noise from the street. The hotel has three kinds of rooms, at least that I know of. There are "normal" rooms, most with sea view, which are situated in the higher floors (4-10 I think), and older but larger studios with view to Estrada Monumental (floors 1-3). There are also some newer, but smaller studios (floors 1-6), with views on either the pool area (and the sea in higher floors) or the side street. Our family resided in one the newer studios, and found it was very convinient and clean. There is a small, yet reasonably equipped kitchenette, with oven, fridge and a two-plate stove. There are also smaller appliances for making coffee and tea, and other equipment for your cooking and serving needs.

The hotel staff was friendly and catered well for our family, including an infant. The hotel has free parking in a garage, accesible with elevator from the hotel, which is good if you're going to rent a car for several days.

The hotel has two outdoor pools, one for the kids and one for the adults. These should both be heated, but for some reason the kids pool wasn't at the time we wanted to use it - the wather was freezing. This is about the only bad thing I have to say about the hotel. The hotel also has a indoor pool and a jacuzzi, which are also heated and are warmer than the outdoor pools. The indoor pool area also has a roman bath, a finnish sauna and turkish bath, but they cost 5 euros (per day) to use.

The breakfast was decent, but at a four star hotel I think you should get better than decent.

Room Tip: The two-bed "normal" rooms on floors 5-10 have better views and less noise. Floor 4 is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zappawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    521
    146
    45
    10
See reviews for
167
718
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The hotel rooms have a kettle and a fridge so it is easy to make your own hot drinks if you buy the makings from the supermarket just a few yards down the road. The tv has sveral uk stations including BBC world news, bbc entertainement, the discovery channel etc and there are many other channels that offer US programmes with Portugese sub-titles.There are 2 free to use internet computers in a room in the reception which also has a small library.The hotel staff are friendly and all seem to speak very good English. If you want to have a quick sightseeing tour of Funchal the red and yellow sightseeing tour buses are situated just 50 yards across and down the road from the hotel entrance and cost 12 euros for 2 days.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Setch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We arrived at this hotel on the 13 Feb 2012 for a week's break. The room we had was on the 9th floor at the back of the hotel and although we couldn't see the sea that was ok as we never spend too much time in our room when on holiday!!
We loved the allocation of a table in the dining room for evening meals throughout our stay - it meant that we never queued for a table. The food was lovely and there was plenty of choice, you would have to be very fussy to not find something to your liking.
The pool area was on the fourth floor and spacious, unfortunately the weather wasn't brilliant and we found it a little windy on some days. The staff were great and attentive and everywhere was clean. Excursions are much cheaper at Strawberry World next door to the hotel, we did the North & East and also South & West full day tours with them. Anna the guide and Mr Marco the driver were fantastic. Thank you we enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was our first time in Madeira and on arrival i was very disappointed that the hotel was on the main road. However, the rooms were nice and ours was on one of the upper floors facing the pool and overlooking the ocean. We had a balcony and had paid extra for this small luxury. The room was clean, though we had 2 single beds pushed together after having specified we wanted a double bed. This is where the real problem lay. The beds were rock hard and absolutely impossible to sleep on. We had to complain after 2 nights without sleep and asked for mattress toppers or similar. What the staff did was to put the plastic sunbed mattresses over the top making the bed slightly more comfortable - but very sweaty due to the plastic! The rooms were spotless, however.
After 4 peaceful nights, the hotel next door decided to have outdoor Karaoake which was booming into the early hours and right into our room. We called reception to complain several times and they said nothing could be done. They were still at it at 2am. It absolutely ruined our holiday. Madeira itself is a beautiful island and the people wonderful. We are not unreasonable when it comes to partying, but the very reason we chose madeira was because it has the reputation of being peaceful and is not know to be a rowdy place. However, with the antics of the guests at the hotel next door we may aswell have been in Benidorm.
The foos was bland and unremarkable. (We had booked half baord). At dinner, there was always a long queue for meat or fish which went as soon as a tray was put out, and inevitably the dishes were the same each night disguides in a different sauce. The deserts were all gateaux-style with synthetic cream and poor quality ice cream.
We had booked this trip with First Choice and they rated this hotel 4 star. I would barely give it 2 stars.
the only good thing about this hotel was that is was a pleasant 20 minute walk into Funchal, was convenient for many restaurants and bars, and buses into Funchal were every few minutes right accross from the hotel.
We have since been back to Madeira, and stayed at the Regency Palace, which was further from Funchal but an excellent 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this hotel, opt for a rear facing room as the hillside is pterry and you may not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ToniBolloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This hotel is not 4* its a low 3* with an urgent need of a makeover. We paid alot of money to go at new year. We could have had a luxurious holiday in an exotic location for what we paid. Madeira is a beautiful island and is worth exploring. We hired a car for 2 days and covered the whole island. Id recommend 3 day car hire so you can spread your time between places. The roads are a bit scary and there a lots of sheer cliff edges so be careful! The food is amazing, the restaurants offer lots of choice. There is one just roundvthe corner from the hotel. Come out the main doors go left and left again. I cant recall the name im afraid. It was Ajuda something? It has an extensive menu but its very 80s inside. Dont let the decor put you off. If you go right out the hotel walk a few hundred yards and take the steps down a level (looks like youre walking down to a car park) then turn right theres a fab restaurant (sells wine and does tastings) i had the baked cod twice it was amazing. You wont need a car day to day taxis are easy and if theres 2 or more of you id get a cab rather than the bus. Its a bit of a walk to town more 30 mins than the 20 mins people say. So back to the hotel, v basic, v 80s lack of customer service. We ate breakfast twice in the hotel but it was just a greasy mess. I just had boiled eggs after trying the food. We ate out every day. I would steer clear of the food, theres lots of choice out the hotel. Oh another great place was called the Kasbah 5min from hotel and there was a great italian attached to a hotel we ate in. Im sorry im terrible with names! You will know when you see it, it looks like a smart pizzaria from outside but they do sea bass, sea food linguine etc and its very good. The room was v basic, nice sea view but v noisy bars accross the roads. Take ear plugs! I wasnt woken every night but more often than id want to be on hols and we never went to bed early. There was a fridge in the room an old hairdryer in the shabby bathroom, a table and chairs on the balcony, a noisy tv... Not great for a 4* hotel. The double room was 2 single beds put together which isnt v romantic. There was no iron in the room either and you even had to buy tea and coffee if you wanted to replenish them. We bought our own. The service was terrible, no one smiled and no one offered to tell you where to go how to get anywhere etc. the pool area was pretty grim we didnt spend anytime out there. All broken loungers and chipped patio and a poor excuse for a hotel swimming pool. We didnt use the spa so cant comment. I wouldnt recommend this hotel. I was v disappointed . there are lots of lovely ones around. CS madeira. The new Pestana Hotel. The Presidential. So many more. I would recommend madeira its a beautiful typically european town with an amazing backdrop of cliffs and mountains. Just stay clear of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mejewlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a full board basis from 9th to 23rd january 2012. On arrival it is true to say you think you are entering a shopping centre but thats only because it does have a large centre alongside which it turns out is very handy..ON ARRIVAL WE WERE GIVEN ROOMS 1108 AND 1110. These turned out to be on the top floor and sea facing although the balcony wll was very high and you had to lean over to see out. Nonetheless they were fantastic rooms and well located. The rooms are spacious and bright and spotlessly clean with everything you would need for 2 weeks or more. The furnishings were of a good standard and well maintained. Maid service was outstanding possibly amongst the best ever in 42 years of going abroad. The hotel itself is attractively furnished and although the pool area doesnt look too great in pictures in real terms it is much more spacious than we imagined. Service throughout the hotel is faultless with all staff pulling together to make for great team work. The food at the hotel was really really good and very well cooked. A previous reviewer states that the eggs are all on top of each other at breakfast but they were so good they didnt last long to be lying around. The overall buffet was first class and we met some really great folk from all over the UK who all agreed on this. As we had full board which was part of a complimentary upgrade we dined in at lunchtime. This was from an a la carte menu and was just fantastic. WE COULDNT EAT IT ALL THOUGH AS THERE WAS SUCH A RANGE TO CHOOSE FROM AT BREAKFAST AND DINNER. But it was there if we wanted it. I have to say it was a marvellous holiday for what we paid and the added bonus of the bus stop right outside was brilliant too. Buy the multi journey tickets from the tobacconist in the shopping centre next door and you can top these up if and when you need more making your journey on all city routes jusr 1 euro including the marvellous 45 min journey to MONTE on the number 48 and all from your doorstep. It only takes 5 mins to funchal on the bus and they have a high frequency line on routes 1 and 2. All in all it was just really really great and we will without any doubt go back to this Hotel

Room Tip: high floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The hotel is well placed and in easy walking of shops and buses.It is well cared for and spotlessly clean .Our chamber maid was a real worker and kept our room and bathroom very clean .She worked long hours and though she was very cheerful looked very tired.The room was comfortable and had a good view of the pool and sea.The dining hall was chaotic .Breakfasts were abysmal.The fried eggs seemed to be coated with a hard plasticy film and the scrambled egg seemed to be made from dried egg powder.The bacon was often rind only.Tomatoes were badly charred and even so empty dishes were left empty as guests waited food to exit the kitchen.Hoplessly understaffed.Guests had often to re lay their own tables and find cutlery.Dinner was repetative and good food over cooked.Why,when there is a fantastic farmers' market just down the road do they serve tinned vegetables and expect guests to eat burned carrots ? They may do well to get rid of the cook and employ a chef.Many guests who have stayed here in previous years spoke of the decline in the quality of the food.The nightly entertainment performed by the visiting local groups and dancers was excellent.It was impossible to talk in the bar against the ear splitting noise of the vocal performers .Complaints were made about the discomfort of this but to no avail.Many of the guests avoided this and went elsewhere.Having read the glowing reports of this hotel in earlier times I have to admit to being very disappointed with the quality of food, and efficiency in the dining room caused by shortage of staff.It is a shame, as overall this could be a first class hotel.Today I would not consider it to be a four star and will not return.

Room Tip: Try to by high up to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank samcatBedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.0 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#27 of 86 in Funchal
764 reviews
6.2 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
727 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#41 of 86 in Funchal
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Property: Four Views Monumental Lido
Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Funchal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Monumental Lido
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing