We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous views and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Flame Tree Madeira
Ranked #48 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous views and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great little hotel for the rating and the price. We booked through travel agent and therefore balcony and sea views included in price. Everything's clean, but the pool's just paddling sized. Balcony and sea views are essential as other rooms are dire. it is a long way out of town but we knew this and wanted it as we are a quiet couple who want peace and privacy. The Hotel has this in abundance. The front terrace was beautiful with loads of bourganvila and other exotic plants. The food was adequate and well cooked for the price. All in all a great budget hotel. Word of warning though, rooms were not ready on our arrival and we had to wait at least two hours. An elderly couple waiting also were becoming quite distressed.

Room Tip: front rooms with balcony and sea view are best. You must insist on at least a balcony as the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpkinbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    108
    65
    41
    22
See reviews for
35
181
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a budget hotel set away from the main drag of Funchal.
It is a place to store your gear and sleep at night, it is not all singing all dancing, it is basic.
Set on a hill back from the sea front it is a trek to get to, therefore we took the bus to and from the main centre.
The food was plain but reasonable, the rooms thought not luxurious were adequate for their purpose and cleaned daily.
The staff were friendly, courteous when treated with respect.

Room Tip: When booking spend a little more for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harpersa80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a good hotel at a good price. Our double room was a bit small but clean and tidy with a small window. (€ 20.95) The staff speak English well and they are helpful.

They will offer you a balcony room include breakfast and dinner for an extra 15 euros each but we had a very early morning flight 7am the next day so our small room was enough just to sleep! (The reception was open early to allow us to check out. )

We had a car so we did not mind the location. They don't offer free wifi in the room but there is a library room available to the guests and can use free wifi there.

We have stopped in many different hotels in Madeira and this is one of the best budget hotels we have ever stayed in Funchal. I would recommend this hotel to budget travelers if you have a car!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlowerGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in July this year. The accommodation was clean and tidy. Rooms were cleaned every day and we were given clean towels every day. The staff were friendly and even allowed us to use a room for showers after we booked out prior to our evening flight. We walked everywhere into Funchal and the Lido, all about 30 minutes away our average age was 48! Not a problem not even in the heat. We tended to get a taxi back in the evenings but we would walk everyway in the day.Taxi from Lido and Funchal were cheap-6 euros. We all had a back massages at the hotel which was excellent and we would all recommend it, at the beginning of the holiday. The breakfast was plentiful and fresh. For the price it was excellent value and we all stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We came up for 4 nights and wished we had spent a bit more to go somewhere else.

The location isn't great, its on a really steep hill (we are in our 20s and found it heavy going). The view is pretty nice though!

Our room....really sucked. It was dark and opening the door (the only way to let light in and heat out) left us with absolutely no privacy - the swimming pool was immediately outside the door and there was even a sun lounger propped against our terrace.

The beds didn't align with the headboards nailed to the wall a meter away.
Our shower head was deliberately left on the floor of the shower by staff because it drips.
The hotel is in a noisy neighbourhood with dogs barking throughout the night and there are even cockerels nearby. Not the hotels fault, but not so relaxing!

We had breakfast and dinner there. The breakfast was the same *every* day - a set amount of breads and jams with one drink. No drinks were included with dinner (which was very bland) and my boyfriend bit into a caterpillar one night.....Really not very good. The staff in the restaurant created a bit of a strange atmosphere. One was constantly having a go at the other and then the other would keep mumbling to himself after.

One of the receptionist guys really didn't seem to want to be there. When we checked out we just got a "thats it, finished" and a hand gesture. No "thank you for your stay, did you enjoy your holiday" or anything...However, there was one receptionist guy that was very friendly and sincere.

If you are just looking for somewhere cheap for 1-2 nights and plan to be out a lot, then this place might be ok. If you're looking for more of a base for your holiday definitely go somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExplorerFromBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Funchal hotels

surrey, uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

When we got to comacho, we were dissapointed with the hotel and its location .we were left waiting to go in the room, this was a mismatch of decoration, the pool was just a kids pool.the comacho is more than 30 to 50. Minutes from the town centre.there was no resturants near by.we would not stay there again.this is ideal for people who like walking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penguinsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Having previously stayed in a hotel in the Old Quarter we found this hotel to be miles from anything really worth seeing. It's surrounded by hundreds of other hotels almost segregated from the best parts of Funchal. There's plenty of places to eat in the area but you pay more here than in the old quarter and the food isn't nearly as nice.
The hotel itself has been dragged from the 70's with gaudy paint schemes and dated decoration. The room was neat and tidy, the beds very comfortable but the bathroom continually stank of sewers and the shower head holder was broken.
There's a pool but it's no more than a paddling pool really though it's kept spotlessly clean like the rest of the hotel.
The service was pretty impeccable and it's the reason I rated it average rather than poor. The maids are a smiling, friendly lot who I found to be most accommodating.
Being used to hostel prices this place wasn't cheap although it wasn't likely to break the bank either and there is a breakfast included. The breakfast though consists of a few slices of ham, cheese and a variety of bread; nothing to write home about really.
The hotel are happy to let you leave your bags behind when you check out but this does mean leaving them on display in reception, so I'm not sure how secure they really are.
On the scale of things I would expect a little more from the hotel given the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_am_de_La_Condamine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
1.5 mi away
Residencial Pina
Residencial Pina
#43 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.7 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#59 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#56 of 86 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#58 of 86 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flame Tree Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flame Tree Madeira

Property: The Flame Tree Madeira
Address: Beco Amoreira 26, Funchal, Madeira 9000-086, Portugal (Formerly Residencial Vila Camacho)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#26 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Flame Tree Madeira 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, 39-room hotel, overlooking the Bay of Funchal, just 5 minutes' drive from the city centre. Our professional team awaits your arrival, ready to ensure you enjoy your stay with us, while visiting this beautiful island. We operate 24 hours a day, so someone is always available to help you. All our rooms have private bathrooms and free WiFi. There is plentiful free on-street parking adjacent to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you to The Flame Tree Madeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Flame Tree Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Vila Camacho Funchal
Vila Camacho Madeira
Residencial Vila Camacho Hotel Funchal
Vila Camacho Funchal
The Flame Tree Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing