We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in great location”
Review of Alto Lido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alto Lido Hotel
Ranked #45 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 weeks from 17th January. We knew the area as we have been to Madeira many times. We had room 421 which had a seaview looking down the street between the Enotel & Pestana

The room was good with a kitchenette. It was cleaned daily and we asked for a kettle and a toaster which they brought straight away. The area around the pool was small but as the hotel was quiet it wasn't a problem. There are lots of good restaurants in this area and the buses stop close by. Visit the Pingo Doce supermarket for food to take away or eat in. WiFi is only available in the lobby or bar area which is a pity it doesn't extend to the rooms

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dial1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 622 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is the first time we have used our time share to swop for another place and we have been pleasantly surprised. Firstly, it claims to be a four star but I think it's really a good 3 star.
Firstly, we were given a warm welcome when we arrived a day late due to not being able to land at the airport. I have to say easyJet had to take us on to Tenerife where we were put up in a 5star hotel with breakfast then transferred efficiently back to Madeira.
Back to the hotel - we were staying for 3 weeks so we had emailed ahead to request that we had one room for this whole period and one that was away from the main road. These were both catered for. We had a bit of a walk to our room via 2 lifts and a corridor but the important thing was that the room was in the right place. We overlooked the pool cafe, room 460.
The room was large, clean and well furnished with modern furniture and a flat screen TV. The balcony faced the see over another hotel.
The bathroom was a bit jaded but had everything you need in a bathroom plus a good shower in the bath. I didn't even have to 'poke' out the holes in the shower head which I normally do.
The kitchen had an oven which was superfluous to requirements. We had no toaster which was disappointing as the oven just would not toast the bread so matter how much I tried!!
We had two rings, a kettle and a fridge, all fine but of course you should remember to take a few bits with you like a scratchy thing, tea towel, w'up liquid or you just buy them there.
The maids kept the room very well clean and didn't disturb us if we were up late.
We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, so I can't comment but tea and cake after 3pm for €3 was lovely. I must have managed a total of at least 3 bit cakes while I was there!!
The entertainment in the bar was a bit mediocre but they tried. The barmen need a kick up the bum, weren't very attentive & spent most of their time with elbows on the bar playing some game!!
The outdoor pool was a bit tired, tiles off round the edges but didn't really matter. Indoor pool was lovely although could have done with a few more degrees.
If you turn left out of the hotel there are many restaurants, all much of a muchness but beware the beer at the Chanceller & Granny's - €4.75 a pint, normally should be under 3.50.
If you go right out of the hotel, there are a few restaurants, beer only €2.20 a pint and a really super Shopping Centre, the Forum.
All in all, a great holiday, thanks to the Alto Lido

Room Tip: Don't have a room directly by the road, road works still ongoing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owlly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel! We stayed there for a week this January. WiFi is free at the lobby, and it worked just fine. Staff is helpfull and they speak good english! I wasn't so pleased to breakfast, that could been better. Coffee was not great. Room was nice with a nice ocean view. Room was cleaned good and linen was changed almost daily. Location was ok, though there was roadwork just in front of the hotel. There was a shopping mall Forum near the hotel. Lots of good restaurants on Estrada Monumental, which is the road where hotel is located. We went only to inside pool area, but it was nice. Could come here another time absolutely!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank ouzooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very pleasant and the staff was extremely kind. I'd like to give special props to our receptionist Patricia, who was amazing!
It has a great location and all the rooms have sea view. Wi-Fi and garage are free. :)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
6  Thank jsantos15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here between the 16-12-13 & 23-12-13. We are 2 adults and a 20 month baby boy and i can quite happily confirm that we had everything we needed in the hotel. All the staff are very pleasant especially at breakfast time and were very welcoming and helpful with our son as he can be a hand full! Breakfast was good, if i can make a suggestion is that maybe cook the bacon differently as it was covered in fat and it wasn't the best really apart from that food was good. The room was spacious and thoroughly cleaned everyday by the very friendly maids. Wi-Fi was excellent however only available in reception and not in the rooms. If you hire a car they have their own private car park underground which is very secure and you get a lift that brings you directly to reception.
The location is excellent, in Lido you have a couple of supermarkets and dozens of restaurants with worldwide cuisines and this is all within 5 minutes walk.
Would we stay here again? If we got a good deal yes but be aware that for a 4* accomodation you can find much better but once again we paid very little for this as it was out of season, in all fairness it really should be rated a 3*.

Room Tip: Pingo doce supermarket is within a 1 minute walk, do your shopping there. Example: Grao Vasco red wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jose1918355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I spend two weeks here. The first week with half board. A room was quite large. Breakfast was pretty good (except fruit salad which was bitter). Dinner was dull, sometimes even burnt. One of the waiters and one of the waitress was quite rude. Otherwise all went well. Wifi at the lobby works well. Cleaning of the room happens all time when I was breakfast or somewhere else. Hotel was pretty quiet. Personel in reception were helpfull. The prices of roomservice were expensive. Next time I will choose different hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Til76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We went to Madeira and stayed in this hotel with breakfast included.
It is a nice place, well located in Lido area. At 3km of Funchal, we could reach the city by foot (30min walking) or by bus (their cheaper compared to the taxis).
The breakfast is good for a 4* hotel and the view of our room was really great.
Definitely a place to come back again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Joao S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Girassol
Hotel Girassol
#41 of 88 in Funchal
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#29 of 88 in Funchal
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#26 of 88 in Funchal
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#43 of 88 in Funchal
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Lido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Lido Hotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 316, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $75 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Lido Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alto Lido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Lido Funchal
Alto Lido Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing