We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveler rating
321
156
31
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
321
156
31
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun deck lovely hotel sea view desertas islands alto lido courtesy bus glass of madeira wine rooms are modern shopping centre best hotel i have ever stayed bath towels definitely return to this hotel pool area bus stop right outside the hotel bed and breakfast a la carte restaurant on a daily basis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We studied long and hard choosing a hotel to stay in Funchal. Baia Azul did not dissapoint and lived up to our high expectations on reading previous reviews. Check in was prompt and we were greeted with a welcome glass of madeira wine. Our 10th floor room overlooking the bay was spacious, modern and clean, toiletries and clean towels whenever needed. All the staff were a credit to the hotel, especially the pool bar man. Breakfasts were excellent and it was lovely to start each day with a glass of fizz. Evening meal was also excellent, varied dishes, different each day, lots of seafood, fish and meat, rice, pasta, vegetables, chips, cheese selection and the usual puddings. The swimming pool is good, not that deep but long enough to have a good swim. Plenty of sunbeds and parasols.Now the negatives of our stay here..... The first niggle is having to pay 13€ extra to reset a code and use the safe in the wardrobe, this is totally unacceptable and should be a free extra to keep your things safe for the week. Also the charge of an extra euro to replace the sunbed towel is rather greedy. The sunbeds were cheap and uncomfortable, needed some pads on them for added luxury. The spa was a big let down too, no jacuzzi, a small uninviting green pool, dismal lighting and very cold. We couldn't find any saunas either.Please, please provide bigger, better quality bath towels!! The nightly entertainment however wasn't too bad, various acts on each evening, some good, others OK, but on a quiet evening the atmosphere wasn't there. The shuttle bus was a plus point, leaves and returns three times daily, but nothing after 6pm.This was a shame as I'm sure Funchal had lots to offer on an evening rather than just strolling the lido area. All in all a good hotel, a nice holiday but small improvements could see it been a five star not just four. On the whole I would recommend Baia Azul but hope the management address the simple faults that I'm sure annoy their guests.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo C, Gestor at Baia Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review!
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Baía Azul hotel. We will share your construtive feedback with the team.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019 via mobile

Just back after a week at this beautiful hotel. Everything is first class from arrival to departure.Staff are a credit to the company and nothing was a bother for them. Always willing to help.Food was outstanding and cannot believe people can fault it. (Previously).We will be back. Plenty other hotels but think they would have to be something special to beat Hotel Baka Azul.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank mh53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo C, Gestor at Baia Azul, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and positive feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019 via mobile

We have just returned from a short break in Funchalwhere we stayed at the Baka Azul hotel. (After moving from the Dom Pedro hotel)

The greeting we received was exactly as we had wanted (but didn’t get at the Dom Pedro hotel) met at reception with a glass of wine, and a first class check in.

The hotel is very new and well looked after, the usual breakfast buffet was very good with lots of staff on hand.

The outside pool areas and bar also very good, with excellent staff on hand.

We would definitely return to this hotel if we go back to Madeira.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank richardlF3218UJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo C, Gestor at Baia Azul, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear guest,

thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we are delighted that you found the hotel suitable to your needs.
We look forward to your next visit with us again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019 via mobile

Had a week at the Baia Azul from 11-18th March. What a fantastic hotel. So pleased with our choice at a very reasonable price too.
We had a fantastic room, worth paying extra for the sea view rooms. Lovely big bed, large room with good balcony. Amazing breakfast; everything you could possibly want from fruit, yoghurt, cereal, full English, omelettes, cooked meats, cheese, croissants, fresh bread Hotel very clean and well maintained in all areas we visited. Approx 40 min walk into Funchal which was nice as the hotel is in a fairly quiet area but some nice restaurants nearby and also a supermarket. Taxi was 10 euro into the town on the 2 times we decided to walk just one way.
It is really hard to find anything negative but if you were really looking for something to pick fault with then I’d say the towels in the room were pretty thin and old. That’s it!
We didn’t eat in the hotel in the evenings as we like to eat out.
Would return here without a doubt...absolutely what a gem!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo C, Gestor at Baia Azul, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your stay at the Baía Azul hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the room lived up to your expectations.
We look forward to your next visit with us again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel, particularly my room with sea view (worth paying the extra as you can hear the waves against the rocks below), loved the breakfasts (with cava, nice touch!) and the salad options at dinner never disappointed, also loved the fresh fruit. The entertainment was varied but a lot of the singers play exactly the same songs and the music was geared towards the older generation. The staff were always helpful and went above and beyond to help.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Ladymaverick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo C, Gestor at Baia Azul, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic review.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your room with sea view and that you found everything to your satisfaction, particularly our team. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews