We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming character hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quinta Perestrello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta Perestrello
Ranked #12 of 31 Funchal B&B and Inns
portugal
1 review
“A charming character hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

Chose this hotel as we wanted to be nearer town centre, about 15 min walk. Asked for and got quiet room. Excellent staff, welcoming and friendly. Comfortable but rooms will require upgrading in future. Whilst standard of housekeeping was excellent there were some maintenance niggles which should have been put right.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    83
    30
    4
    7
See reviews for
20
130
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
guernsey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

Just enjoyed ten days in beautiful Madeira. We are mid 6os couple and like many others
on this site were looking for small, friendly hotel - just what Quinta Perestrello is.
Service and staff were perfect and though the hotel is old fashioned - as in no lift
to third floor! - it really suited us. It's location, as has been commented on, close to
busy road junction, is a irritation. But that's all. Lots of good restaurants within walking
distance and lovely outside seating area.
However, I would raise a warning flag, for those hiring a car, regarding the hotel's car
park. It holds a maximum of 15 cars and negotiating in and out is difficult. If you return
to the hotel and the car park is full, as it often is, there is really no where else to park
in the vicinity , and you have to pay by the hour if you find a space. I am sure you must
expect to find this situation in any small hotel but my complaint is this. Many of the parked cars belonged to hotel staff and there is no mention of this situation in the hotel's
web site. Both should be corrected.
Other than this, the Qinta Perestrello is the perfect hotel for quiet people wishing to visit
beautiful Madeira.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rogergiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2008

The hotel, an extended old manor house, was a nice little hotel. If you are not after anything other than a bed and breakfast hotel with a swimming pool than go for it (they did serve dinner, but I never tried it). The floor boards of the original part was a bit squeaky, woke me up every time I turned, but the room was nice and clean.

  • Liked — Small hotel feeling
  • Disliked — Floor boards
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncle-Lala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

My wife and myself spent a week in this hotel in mid-October this year (2008). We found it excellent in every respect - very clean, nice room, very polite and attentive staff and very good buffet breakfast. An extra bonus (and surprise!) was when my wife was presented with a cake on her birthday. It's a reasonable walk (about 15 minutes) to central Funchal (and uphill on the way back) but no further out than the major hotels in the area. We found several good restaurants near to the hotel so we didn't get round to sampling the evening meal on the premises. As the hotel is on a busy junction there is some traffiic noise and this could be a drawback if you intend lounging by the pool all day, but if you intend to get out and about then it's an ideal base for exploring Funchal.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyDarkblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

This being my 13th holiday on the beautiful island of Madeira and my first time away from the bigger hotels. I really enjoyed the whole atmosphere of this hotel, charming is the name of the chain of hotels and charming is a good word to describe it. If you like a nice relaxed informal place to stay this is the one for you, yes the road is noisy but after a day or two you hardly notice it and it does add to the view reminding you always that you are on Madeira. I was in room 306 of the converted quinta which does have the most amazing views, unfortunately not all the rooms have such great outlooks but thats the same in most hotels, but everyone can see the same from the terrrace where you can have breakfast, dinner or just drinks. I never had any trouble getting a lounger by the pool which is a little on the small side but never crowded, you'll probably have it mostly to yourself. The buffet breakfast was very good with all the usual but with the added bonus of a proper fresh fruit salad, it was delicious. It really is a charming place and when you walk up the drive or up the garden path it's as if you're arriving home. If you want 5* luxury just take yourself up the hill to the Quinta das Vista (part of the chain) yes it's very nice but you'll probably find that they'll be no reason to go a second time, Quinta Perestrello has everything you need for a truely nice holiday.

  • Liked — character and charm
  • Disliked — no canal hollywood film channel (it's hardly a dislike but I like the option)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank polihannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

We have recently returned from Funchal having stayed at the Quinta Perestrello and have some general points that may be useful.

Our first time to Madeira and Funchal and we were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed it as we were unsure we had decided on the the 'right' place.

Funchal itself is pleasant and we were impressed how it has been developed, mainly in a traditional manner.

It was not busy which probably reflects the current economic climate. The restaurants certainly seemed to be suffering, however they do themselves no favours by posting menu's outside for passers by to review and once you attempt to read them an employee vulture swoops to encourage you to go inside. It became so persistent we walked away immediately- although this strategy does result in making you hungry!

We did go on an orgainised trip and used the local buses to 'explore'. The latter option gives more freedom and an interesting journey when the driver decides to test his skills to the limit! We would not hesitate to use the local buses again it really is a good system.

The hotel differs from the majority as it only has 37 rooms and the original part of the building has plenty of character. The rooms were adequate if needing a bit of an update in places. It is quoted as 4* but we felt it was closer to 3*.

The breakfast was buffet style and was more than ample for our two week stay. Sitting outside, in the sunshine with good views, is an ideal scenario for the first meal of the day. It beats the other 50 weeks of the year.

The most positive point about the hotel is its staff. Helpful, genuine and courteous. It makes all the difference.

We walked into Funchal centre (from the hotel) on a regular basis and it took 20-25 minues. We did not find the need for any transport on these occasions.

All in all it was an enjoyable holiday.

Would we go back? Not unless it was to have a more concerted attempt at the Levada walking. We have seen and done what we wanted to do and it is best left at that.

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — People smoking in the non smoking bedrooms (it drifed into the corridors) and smoknig around the pool. Also, the selfish attitute of the peole who weold put a towel on the sunbeds in the morning and then went off for the day.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire, england
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

This is an excellent choice for a short stay in Funchal. The centre and marina are 10-15 minutes walk and you are away from the rather unattractive 'hotel zone'. Hotel staff were very helpful. The room was nice with a balcony that gave a partial view of the sea. We ate in twice and were very happy with the quality of the meals.

As mentioned by other reviewers, there is traffic noise, but we did not find this to be a problem.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank oldvole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#33 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Perestrello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Perestrello

Property: Quinta Perestrello
Address: Rua Doutor Pita 3, Funchal, Madeira 9000-089, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Perestrello 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oficial Category: 4 Star EstalagemLocation: Situated in the main hotel area of Funchal 1.5 km from the town centre Well located between the Savoy and Reid’s Hotels 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre Panoramic view to the mountains, the city and the sea Approximately 25 minutes from the International Airport of MadeiraTransportation: Taxi station a hundred meters from the hotel or directly at the reception door if requested Bus stop to Funchal and other destinations to the west part of the island, about 2 minutes walking from the hotelParking Facilities:Free parking places at the hotel entranceRooms:36 Double Rooms (30m² or 32m²) 2 rooms with a queen size bed34 twin-bedded rooms11 rooms in the Main House26 room with terrace or balcony in the new wing Room Facilities: High ceiling rooms in the main house New wing rooms with terrace or balcony with sitting area, garden and pool view  Wood flooring Marble bathrooms Bath with shower Selection of bathroom amenities Air conditioning and heating in bedrooms and public areas Safe in room Comfortable chairs Hair-dryer  Direct dialling telephone Cable TV with 30 channels Double glazingAdditional services at the Quinta Perestrello:  Swimming pool, surrounded by beautiful gardens Sun terrace Terrace sitting area Well kept gardens Relaxation areas Free reception of faxes Sending service of faxes at Reception Laundry service with delivers in 48 hours Organization of dry cleaning service (outside the hotel)  Breakfast in the room from 8:00 to 10:30  Bar service to rooms from 10:00 to 24:00  Table d’hôte Restaurant Cocktail Bar Reception desk and Sitting areaThe details that make the difference at Charming Hotels: The Reception Manager receives all arriving guests and will maintain a personal and regular contact with them to ensure their satisfaction and anticipate their requirements. All our guests are accompanied to their room on arrival  Gift on arrival of Madeira Wine & Madeira cake Free use of sauna, Turkish bath,, sensations shower, whirlpool, panoramic fitness room, and relaxation rooms and much more inside the Hotel Group, at Chandra Spa. Guests on Half Board may eat at the restaurant “ Adega da Quinta” in Quinta do Estreito, at no extra charge Guests on Half Board may eat at any of the Restaurants of Charming Hotels at no extra charge A policy of addressing our guests by name A policy of special attention to all our guests needs  A policy of always being willing and able to help our guests A policy of making everything possible ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Perestrello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Perestrello Hotel Funchal
Quinta Perestrello Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing