We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A wonderful and romantic place to enjoy Funchal Bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta do Monte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta do Monte
Ranked #61 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Paris, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A wonderful and romantic place to enjoy Funchal Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

To be at "Quinta do Monte" hotel is a very special experience. First, you can enjoy the Funchal Bay view from your room balcony. Just step down to seat in the tropical garden, or be comfortable in one of the romantic, 19th century style seating-rooms.
The hotel has got a nice pool - a bit chilly for me- and a jacuzzi. Great !
Our room (307) was really large and provided with everything we needed. It is true that some renovation would help to enjoy the charm even more. We love silence: we got silence.
The breakfast buffet is very complete. You can even drink spumante wine (!!!). Fruits are excellent and fresh. The dinner rather expensive for a set menu with no choice (35 euros per person + drinks).
It is better to travel by car if you stay there for a few days. May be useless if you stay two days only. You can walk to Nossa Senhora church, the botanic garden et have the "cesto carro" experience just at a minute from the hotel; you can take the (expensive) cable-car to get dowtown in the morning and get back in the late afternoon (until 5.45 PM).
We did enjoy the stay and would recommand the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    71
    46
    16
    11
See reviews for
19
142
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Charming staff and a beautiful view. We had a toastie and a beer on the terrace, which was a great find. Cannot comment on the main hotel, as we did not enter. Not cheap, but 20€ covered beers and toasties on a lovely garden. Fantastic setting for lunch though!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We spent £90 for ameal for two with water but not wine taken from the chef's choice,not a la carte.It was to be our best meal of outr two week stay.
Positive comment: the head waiter and waitresses were friendly and the food was served reasonably promptly.
However the restaurant was very cold and this contributed to a rather dreary atmosphere among the 10 diners.The food is 'nouvelle cuisine/fine dining ' style . that is good to look at tasty enough but not substantial. Indeed I would say meagre.. A light salad followed by a small piece of fish hiding a few vegetables. Pudding was a small mousse.
No view because it was dark so being 600 metres up in an unheated room made for an uncomfortable time.
We found this at least twice as much as all the other restaurants we dined in during our stay. However even if the restaurant price was halved we'd rate it poor.
If you want a hotel with a great view then this hotel has that. If you want a good meal in a cosy atmosphere go somewhere else.
Oh one final positive the mini bus to take us down to Funchal arrived promptly so we werent forced to stay there any longer. Avoid this restaurant

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HLR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Went looking for the restaurant in this hotel for lunch. It looked closed but we persisted and was told it was open which indeed it was although empty. The waitress was pleasant enough but it seemed as if they wished we were not there. Waitresses chatting and moving chairs and tables around even stapling cloths to tables obviously preparing for the evening. Only one other couple came to the restaurant. A second couple came in but when they didn't receive any attention they walked out again. What a shame. A lovely restaurant in a beautiful setting with fabulous food apart from my lamb shank which was a little under cooked.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoLeakHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I couldn't agree more with Ann B's comments, "A little tired but excellent customer service". After reading some of the negative reviews, we were pleasantly surprised with what we found at the Quinta do Monte and would return tomorrow. Thank you Theresa for your help and enthusiasm, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your charming hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stournavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Monte appeared to have fewer eateries than we expected, but slightly off the beaten track was a café in the grounds of a five-star hotel. The snack list on offer was short, but our ham-and-cheese toasties and chicken salad were reasonably priced and perfectly acceptable. It was a quiet spot to enjoy a quiet beer and a sandwich and made a very nice alternative to some of the three-course lunches we had been eating. Most of all, though, we recommend it because of the tranquility of the spot, with only eight-or-so tables and real separation from the roadside. We were gently serenaded by the sound of an accordion being played a few streets away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdanBdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
2.0 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
0.7 mi away
Quinta Mirabela
Quinta Mirabela
#48 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quinta Do Estreito
Quinta Do Estreito
#1 of 1 in Camara De Lobos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta da Serra
Hotel Quinta da Serra
#1 of 2 in Estreito de Camara de Lobos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Eira do Serrado & Spa
2.8 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#20 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Monte

Property: Quinta do Monte
Address: Caminho do Monte 192, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta do Monte 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oficial Category: 5 Star EstalagemLocation: In the historic Monte village, on the south coast of the island  700 meters above sea level  With panoramic views over Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean 10 minutes drive from the capital city, Funchal 30 minutes drive from the Airport Surrounded by 17.000 m2 of Gardens Transportation:Hotel courtesy bus Taxi station only a few meters away from Hotel or at the reception, when requested Bus station to Funchal, and other locations on the island in the main square Cablecar terminal 30 meters away Traditional wickerwork toboggans to city centre Parking Facilities:Free, in the hotel groundsRooms:36 Double rooms (23m²) divided in three floors:2 Superior double rooms (30m²) In addition to the standard rooms: Sofa Large table and chairsMore space available4 Suites (50m²)• 36 rooms with twin beds• 6 rooms with double bed• 9 rooms with communicating doors Room Facilities: Private Balcony with view over the gardens and towards the sea Spacious fully equipped bathroom Bath with shower Room safe (free of charge) Cable TV with 30 channels Mini-Bar with a selection of products Direct dial telephone  Air conditioning and heating individually controlled  Hair dryer and Bathrobes Spacious Bedroom  Table and easy armchair  Selection of bathroom amenities Decorated in hues of greenSuite facilities: Private Balcony with views over the gardens, and towards the sea Large fully equipped bathroom Bath with hydro massage and Separate shower Room safe free of charge Cable TV with 30 channels Mini-Bar with a selection of products  Direct Dial telephone Air conditioning and heating individually controlled Hair dryer Spacious bedroom Spacious separate living room Tables and armchairs Bath robes Selection of bathroom amenities Decorated in hues of greenAdditional services at the Quinta do Monte:  À la carte & table d`hôte Restaurant Cocktail Bar Reading room Several sitting rooms Billiard & games room Fitness Room Indoor heated swimming pool  Solarium with panoramic view Turkish bath Whirlpool Breakfast in the room Room service  Free sending and reception of faxes  Laundry service (dry cleaning outside Hotel) Reserved area for operators representatives Private Chapel 17.000m² of landscaped gardens of centenary trees and plants with views over Funchal and the sea Meeting RoomThe details that make the difference at Charming Hotels: The Resident Manager personally receives all arriving guests and will maintain a personal and regular contact with them to ensure their satisfaction and anticipate their requirements. All our guests are accompanied to their room on arrival  Gift on arrival of Madeira Wine & Madeira cake Free room safe, bath robe and slippers  Free use of sauna, Turkish bath,, sensations shower, whirlpool, panoramic fitness room, and relaxation rooms in any of the hotels inside the Group, at Chandra Spa in Quinta das Vistas. Guests on Half Board may eat at any of the Restaurants of Charming Hotels at no extra charge A policy of addressing our guests by name A policy of special attention to all our guests needs  A policy of always being willing and able to help our guests A policy of making everything possibleRestaurants & Bars in Quinta do Monte:Restaurant Monte Garden:A capacity for 120 persons, our restaurant offers a choice of two distinctive areas. The conservatory in old Madeira green with a black and white tiled floor, overlooks the extensive gardens.The main room is carpeted wood panelled.A table d’hôte menu is presented daily in addition to the à la carte menu that offers an extensive choice of Madeiran, Portuguese and international dishes fine tuned by our Chef.The wine list was carefully selected to offer a wide selection of Portuguese and International wines.A classic style service is offered from the professional and attentive staffBar:Situated in the centenary main house, on the first floor above the main entrance, the cocktail bar is dominated by a fireplace and was carefully integrated to ensure the ambience of this Madeiran Quinta was maintained.Open from 16:00 hours, it serves our popular “Royal Tea”Chapel:Built in a privileged area of our “Quinta” with exceptional views, the Chapel was built in 1936 in memory of “Our Holy Mary”.On the outside the building is supported by large pillars of solid madeiran basaltIts interior is decorated with sacred frescos in the ceiling, mosaic panels made by St. Anna’s factory and by leaded lights from the “School of Ricardo Leone”. Meeting rooms:Rooms I Dimensions:  Total area: 73,5 m2  Length: 10,5 m  Width: 7,0 m  Height: 2,75 m  Air conditioned & heated Capacity:  Convention Type – 60 School Type – 40 U Type Table – 24 Reception – 70 Banquet – 50Equipment included: Flipchart appropriate paper and colour pens  White board with colour pens  A4 size sheets and pen for participants  Document case  Bottles of water for meetingsSpecific audiovisual equipment: Possibility of providing a large range of audiovisual equipment. The quotation must be requested in advance as well as the material needed.Coffee Breaks & Menus for Business Lunches: A full selection available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Quinta do Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Monte Funchal
Monte Quinta
Quinta Do Monte Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing