We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genteel decadence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Bela Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Genteel decadence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent our last two nights here of a week in Madeira. All the staff were very helpful and discreetly watchful. Our room, including bathroom, was comfortable and clean, as were all the public parts of the hotel. Food was excellent, particularly the breakfast. The lounges were relaxing, but there wasn't anywhere central that was obviously just a 'sitting around' area, nor an obvious bar area. Compared to other hotels, our room seemed a little cold. The location, away from the noise of Funchal, was lovely.
An elegant and restful hotel with not much wrong with it. An indoor pool would have been good, though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Douglass S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    124
    36
    14
    1
See reviews for
79
539
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hotel 1st class - well worth while to take half board as foodexcellent and restaurants not close. Should have done an internet car hire rather than the transit bus . Only complaint - am used to sauna/jacussis being generally avail able .not only available by pre booking, and then as a private arrangement - bit ridiculous if there is only one of you wanting a spontaneous activity!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
5 Thank sunworshipper999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Our second visit to this rather Grand,smoothly run Hotel. Located in the hills overlooking Funchal.
If you require 5* bling,try the sea front. If you wish to experience the 5* style and service of a traditional Madeiran Quinta- then look no further. All staff quietly and efficiently ensure your stay will be a pleasurable and unforgettable experience.

Courtesy bus will take you into town,and collect you. (Taxi would be appx 8 Euros each way).

Wonderful views from the well kept gardens.

Faultless!

Intend to return for our 3rd visit soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Skiddy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leominster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We returned last week from a weeks stay at this hotel and cannot fault a thing!!!
The staff,service,room and food were simply wonderful.
Thank you all for making our stay unforgettable.
The birthday treat for Alex was also superb!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We returned yesterday from a week of b&b at the Quinta da Bela Vista and it was a relaxing and really enjoyable holiday. We usually self-cater abroad so this was a departure from our usual type of holiday and we definitely made the right choice of hotel for our first venture away from the norm! As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is outside Funchal in the Sao Martinho area and is a short bus/taxi ride away. The hotel provides a free shuttle bus Mon-Fri and Saturday mornings and a taxi is about 7 Euros. Being outside Funchal means the hotel doesn't have noise from the town so is tranquil and calming. The service is outstanding and the staff are fantastic - multi-lingual, friendly and attentive without being 'in your face'. Nothing is too much trouble and guests are welcomed equally. When we arrived, the receptionist walked us to our room explaining where we could find things and our luggage was brought up very soon afterwards with a tray of tea and coffee. On the couple of occasions during the week that we rang for more fresh milk, it arrived at the door so quickly that the kettle hadn't had time to boil! The hotel has several buildings, all containing antiques and everywhere is very clean and tidy. We ate at the hotel every night, using both the pool bar (a range from toasted sandwiches to the meal of the day), and the restaurant (a la carte). We didn't use the pool or gym area but the pool was warm and the small gym seemed to have most pieces of equipment you might want on holiday (if you're that way inclined!). We rarely holiday in the same place twice because we like to visit different places but, should we return to Madeira, this is the hotel we'll use without a doubt.

Room Tip: We had room 217 in the building next to the main reception building. This is a decent sized twin wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DawnieC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very comfortable with staff that can not do enough to help. Great breakfast and nice facilities. We had a balcony overlooking the pool. The hotel is some distance from the town but there is a mini bus that runs from the hotel. You can also catch the regular bus number 8 from a stop about 100 metres away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pigs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

A beautifully located hotel set on the hillside with lovely views over Funchal; comfortable and clean accommodation, superb food and great service.

Very professionally greeted by Hernandez on our arrival and accompanied to our 3rd floor room with probably the best view in the hotel.

Anyone who enjoys fine dining shouldn’t be disappointed. Earliest 7.30pm start which perhaps wouldn’t suit those who prefer to dine earlier. 5 courses every evening which included both a fish and meat dish – cooked to perfection and nicely presented. No choice, which again might be an issue for some, but the staff are very accommodating. Good selection of wine reasonably priced and the house wine was particularly good value at circa £6 per large glass. Very professional and friendly waiter service – wine glasses constantly topped up.

Breakfast is buffet – fresh fruit, choice of cereals, eggs and bacon etc. and DIY toast. A wee bit disappointing for me, I would have preferred the hot food freshly cooked. In addition, although the plates were in a warming rack they were invariably cold, (there is nothing worse for eggs and bacon) so I took to warming a plate on the toaster!

A pool bar was available during the day and had an extensive menu.
The pool itself wasn’t extensively used – I was told the water was quite cold

A minibus bus was available as a shuttle down to the harbour although we preferred the walk which took 30 minutes.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable experience and tbh I wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else on Madeira.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnyCash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Property: Quinta da Bela Vista
Address: Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing