We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect peaceful paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect peaceful paradise”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were in need of a holiday where relaxation, quiet, good food, lovely surroundings and friendly service were important, and were recommended by our dearest friends that we come to the Quinta da Bela Vista which they had visited twice. Well every expectation was fulfilled and more so. Indeed this has been one finest places we have ever stayed. The Quinta rests up on the hills overlooking Funchal, with bella vistas indeed, amid beautiful tropical gardens. The rooms are quiet, spacious and very comfortable, with all the conveniences one expects, and there are sitting rooms and library furnished with antiques, beautiful but never ostentatious. The breakfasts were magnificent, with all the fare you could want, including some exotic tropical fruits we had not tasted before. However the dinner in the 'old manor house' part of the hotel was of international standards of cuisine. Do make sure you order their set meal: it is five courses of the most exquisite food, perfectly balanced, and never too large. you proceed from delightful entree to soup, then fish, then meat and finally a light dessert. You could not eat better anywhere.

However despite all these treats, the real quality that sets this hotel apart from many we have visited is the gold standard of their service. They are friendly, helpful, assiduous but never overbearing or obsequious. Nothing is ever too much trouble, and the expertise is brilliant. Our maitre d'table could speak to all the guests in whichever language was theirs; our waiter always knew when to refill our glasses just moments before we knew it ourselves; and at the front desk reception was always jolly and fun as well as informative.

We loved our stay, as you can see, and shall most certainly return, braving the cross-winds of Funchal airport with intrepidity!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    158
    47
    17
    2
See reviews for
88
630
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I were guests here for our 30th Wedding Anniversary. This charming hotel played a significant part in making our 4 day stay in Madeira a wonderfully relaxing and memorable experience.
The service was impeccable. The staff smiling, helpful and welcoming. The breakfasts were sumptuous. Lunch on the pool terrace a delight.
Our large comfortable room (222) had a small balcony and provided a lovely view of the dawning sunrise, a panorama over the verdant garden (with its variety of colourful flowers), the smart pool house and the eastern hills of Funchal and part of the bay.
The thoughtfulness of the management in surprising us on the day of our wedding anniversary was so kind. Their providing us (unasked) with a room for our last day and allowing us to check out late showed particular classy service.
I enjoyed the location of the Hotel in Nazaire. While we were above the touristy hustle and bustle of Funchal, access was easily achieved by the hotel transfer bus (free) or 3 local buses or taxis.
The advantage of this distance was that we were able to share with the local populace the neighbouring facilities within Nazaire where care is obviously taken to retain the loyalty of the local custom.
I would very much enjoy returning to experience again the care and attention to detail given to us by the management and staff of this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 220 and 221 would probably have a slightly better sea view than ours in 222.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sebastian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We loved this hotel – all the staff are very friendly and attentive, the service is excellent, the rooms are spacious and clean, the gardens are lush and well kept and the view over Funchal is delightful. The beautiful antique furniture adds to the positive atmosphere. We slept really well in such a quiet room (room 207) in a superking size bed.

The hotel is a bit out of town but there are very good bus connections from nearby. Top up the Giro bus ticket from your first bus journey in advance of your second trip and you’ll pay less per trip (more details at reception). There is an excellent bakery/café round the corner which makes good sandwiches. It’s opposite Continente supermarket. We really recommend this historic Quinta as an excellent place to stay in Funchal.

Room Tip: Many reviewers recommend a room in the main house with a sea view but we really liked room 207. It h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DawnandSteveinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Brilliant decor, great food, attentive staff. The rooms are all having beautiful antique furnitures. Set in a lush and well maintained garden. Good transport links to Funchal. Late check out was possible Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The staff are lovely, attentive and so polite. The pool has a great view over Funchcal, and the poolside bar is a joy,loved the food. The gardens are beautiful,even in November. This intimate hotel has so much charm compared to the large hotel in the town. The rooms are clean, some are more luxious than others. Would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are a bit small, worth going for the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 787LOram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a relaxing stay in a traditional colonial setting overlooking Funchal. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Our superior room was spacious and well appointed with a balcony and view over Funchal. The cleanliness was first class and a high quality comprehensive buffet breakfast was provided in the grand breakfast dining room. Optional evening meal was provided in the dining rooms and was beautifully served. The food included local specialities and was of a high standard. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a little bit of old world charm in a very relaxing setting. We are hoping to return again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlieNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have just returned home from Quinta da Bela Vista Hotel. We had a weeks holiday but would have preferred a little longer. On arrival we were welcomed by staff who were very attentive and helpful and this did not change throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotlessly clean and a reasonable size, we must say how nice everything was each morning on our return from breakfast. The breakfast was a good start to the day and champagne was available if you so wished. The evening meal al a carte was good but the menu was limited and would have liked more sea food, however we enjoyed the excellent service and the ambience of the dining room. The hotel is set in fine gardens. Downside, bar lacks design and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ensure your room is not close to the lift as noisy, we were moved next day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Property: Quinta da Bela Vista
Address: Caminho Avista Navios 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing