We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Bela Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hotel with class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited the hotel for the second time, the last time being 12 years ago. It was a bit of a treat for us as we have had a hectic year. The great news is that the hotel is even better than we recall from our last visit. A truly 5 star place with service to match. The staff are pleasant and helpful, the rooms (we were given a free upgrade) were spacious and extremely clean. To cap it all the food, which we recalled as being excellent 12 years ago, was even better. We had the fixed half board evening meal during our 2 week stay, and I have to say the 5 course dinner was a delight, with a totally new menu each night. I have no problem with recommending the place to everyone, it is a place we shall return to sooner rather than later. Well worth the price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    129
    36
    15
    1
See reviews for
79
549
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
134 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I had our final two nights of a walking holiday here. The rooms allocated to our package are the older, standard ones and they are probably not the best, but do have a garden view, are very quiet and the beds are extremely comfortable. The staff courtesy, their hospitality and particularly the food in the Manor House restaurant, is superb. Others have commented on the food standard too. We had the breakfast buffet each morning and the 5 course 'half board' option on both nights (all included in our package with the Headwater holiday), with a glass of the house wine and it all looked identical to the more expensive a la carte option. We were more than happy to stick with the 5 course standard option. The swimming pool and gym look very nice but we didn't use them - we were on a walking holiday! Our only minor suggestion would be to improve the standard rooms; the bathrooms are a little old but still very clean. Above the snack bar near to the pool is a lovely seated lounge which overlooks Funchal. Smoking is allowed in here although we didn't experience anyone wanting to do that. The seating areas, all with antique furnishings, were most attractive and are scattered throughout the hotel buildings.

Room Tip: There is a range of prices - the oldest "standard" rooms are looking a bit tired. Garden v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accidentaltourist_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay at this superb hotel in Madeira. Other reviews have spoken of the excellent service from the highly efficient, yet very friendly staff, and we agree wholeheartedly. The hotel is an elegant home to the owner's collection of antiques and artefacts which he has amassed over many years. Everywhere is absolutely spotless, yet manages to remain comfortable and welcoming too. The gardens are beautiful and offer a pleasant stroll in the evening or early morning with a swim or a work-out in the gym if you feel up to it!

The staff are delightful - Paula, Carla, Alison and Fernando on reception during the day - are only too happy to advise and help with arrangements to make your holiday special and worry-free. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. And the same applies to the restaurant staff - Illarius (sp?) and his team of waiters and waitresses are just brilliant and the standard of service is impeccable.

Finally the food - superb is really the only word I can use. We ate at the two top rated Trip Advisor restaurants in Funchal during our stay and frankly, they weren't a patch on the Bela Vista restaurant. We had also had dinner at The Ivy in London shortly before leaving for Madeira and I have to say that the food at the Bela Vista was better.

All in all, this hotel was one of the nicest we have stayed at in many years of living and travelling the globe. We were grateful to everyone at the Bela Vista for enabling us to have a really wonderful break after a run of health problems - so much appreciated. Thank you all of you.

Room Tip: We had a superior room with balcony in the main building. It is not a large hotel so is pretty quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PamBurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to get an amazing deal to stay at this luxury five star hotel in early March and the experience was well, lovely. From the moment we stepped through the doors we were made very welcome, all the staff spoke english (apart from the courtesy bus driver but he understood more than he spoke) - even the chambermaids.

The luxury of clean sheets and towels every day was fantastic and everything was kept sparkling clean. The room was furnished in standard hotel furniture but the public rooms all had lovely antique furniture and paintings. The pool was clean and the pool bar menu reasonably priced.

So, only four rated? Well, the gardens are lovely but the trees have been allowed to grow so tall that they blocked out the light from the room we were given, which meant we had to put the lights on during the day. Also the food was excellent but I expected the set menu to be cheaper than a la carte and 42.50 euros was a bit steep for the 4 course set menu in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the block to left of reception as these get the most light (but are probably more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christinesalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have chosen this hotel guided by the Tripadvisor website, and I have had no regrets; many people have liked it and a very few haven’t; and I decided to have a go.

Madeira is a very beautiful island in the middle of the Atlantic with a dramatic weather; strong winds all the time and occasional rain that may last for days; a gamble which was worth taking. Madeira is a place to relax and be pampered (and gain some weight); most visitors are “mature” and appreciative of “tender attention.” And the place delivers it!

The main point: the service; the staff was very friendly and helpful. We all know that the success of businesses depends heavily on the provision of personalised service; but at the Quinta da Bela Vista the service reaches another level: a genuine concern for your stay and wellbeing - from the reception to the pool bar. For instance, Ms Magda at the pool bar was particularly warm, helpful, attentive, and efficient. One may look at any hotel staff as part of the business, but very rarely staff can be so honestly concerned about helping people to have the best time.

The hotel is beautiful; a quite haven hosting a gallery of wonderful pieces of restored antique furniture surrounded by a sub-tropical collection of trees and shrubs. The restaurant is a delight: the old and gorgeous building makes people feel special, and so are most of the dishes on offer; and of course, the pristine service. Only one minor drawback: the breakfast, a minor disappointment during my visit. Portuguese cuisine is characterised by a rich variety of breads, cakes, ham and so on. This is a five star hotel with a relatively small number of customers (thanks God for that). Its breakfast might be improved by offering of a variety of freshly baked cakes (better than the few available at the moment) and bread (avoiding the hard, dry and over baked croissants – a proper recipe is required and there are produces in Portugal to produce it), poached eggs (not fried), omelettes cooked to order, high quality ham (Portugal is the place for it) as opposed to unappealing paled processed meat.

Overall, never mind the breakfast; this is a special place which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

It is very difficult to criticise this hotel. Everything is absolutely superb. The location, the rooms, the food, service, all are close to perfect.
Very highly recommended.
Set 10 minutes walk up the hill from most Funchal hotels the peace and quiet here is wonderful. Hotel minibus runs downtown regularly and is very punctual. If you want the noise and bustle of Funchal you just go downtown but up here all is peaceful !
Beautiful gardens, great restaurant, friendly staff.
What more could anyone ask for ?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Roland J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRID
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have just spent a lovely weekend at this wonderfull quinta-hotel, A friendly and helpfull staff ready to help whatever you need. Excellent food and a beatifull garden and facilites. We look forward to repeat soon

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Property: Quinta da Bela Vista
Address: Caminho Avista Navios 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing