We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect Quinta!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Bela Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Quinta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A character filled hotel with excellent customer service and very personable staff in all areas. Local knowledge and breadth of languages spoken would put many large hotels to shame. They resolved an issue we had on arrival caused by the travel agent without any fuss, the a la carte and half board menus in the restaurant were first class and the a la carte wasn't very different from many of the restaurants in the town. The weather during our stay wasn't brilliant so we didn't make use of the pool, gym or tennis course, but they were well maintained. Our room was a superior double with balcony overlooking the pool and with a good view of Funchal. There are bigger rooms in the separate building with a view of the gardens - your choice. Would thoroughly recommend this Quinta to anyone wanting something of good quality if you don't mind being a little out of town but the bus service is excellent running till 1am, at €1.90 each way it doesn't
break the bank!

Room Tip: Our room was a superior double with balcony overlooking the pool and with a good view of Funchal. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TiggerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    124
    36
    14
    1
See reviews for
79
539
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Quinta da Bela Vista for about a week in October (for work reasons), and found the overall experience a very pleasant one. The accommodation was nice, the hotel had very nice gardens and a great pool area with views over Funchal. The staff were always very helpful and attentive, and there were lots of good options for breakfast. It is a little bit off the beaten track - about a 40-minute walk to central Funchal (I made the mistake of walking back to the hotel uphill at the end of the day, which nearly killed me) - but the hotel does provide a bus service into downtown Funchal (and a taxi only cost around €8-9). Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A fabulous hotel with very kind, attentive and warm staff. Chosen in preference to the main hotels along the "strip" in downtown Funchal which by comparison lacked any soul. Courtesy bus is available but taxi was only a 7 - 9 euros. Could not recommend it more highly. Stephen

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horley
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked this hotel last minute having been there once for a meal on a previous visit to Madeira (15 in all) We got a fabulous rate, not permitted to say but try it yourself.
We were given a room in the adjoining building to the hotel which has some half the total number of bedrooms. The room was spacious, well fitted with good bathroom and separate toilet and with TV and 6ft double bed, not zipped together twins. Linen all changed daily if required.
The carpets could all do with a shampoo but as in a pale orange, not a good choice in the first place. The hospitatily of the staff was excellent with Paula being the star.
The 3 acre gardens, pool and gym and jacuzzi are a bonus as is the tennis and frequent free bus to town 6 times a day. Free WiFi everywhere.
The area is very quiet and some 2 miles fom the centre of funchal. 2 nice pub cafes very closeby.
The buffet breakfast is the best in Maderia and the restaurant first class and not too pricey.
The bar drinks and coffees however, are riduculously expensive at 4.5e for a small beer and 3.50 for a coffee. Apart from this drift into the realms of fantasy pricing the hotel is a first choice for me next time. (bring your own beer)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bedwetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Never a place made me feel so welcoming and so relaxed! Service and staff was amazing and so accommodating ! The restaurant is well worth a visit and the views of Funchal from the pool bar it s a must... And even better views if you can stay at the penthouse! Quinta Bella Vista is the perfect example of the great welcoming service from Madeira island!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gaytuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dombås, Oppland, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent 14 days at this atmospheric hotel this year (2012). The locations ar frienly and homely. The staff is absolutely wonderful. During our stay we experienced a service high above average, and stunning surroundings. The hotel are best for couples from 35 years and older. Dress code is casual, but dress informal (US) for dinner. You are living in a beautiful garden with a nice view to the city from the pool area.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, but choose room with a balcony, then you can relly enjoy the scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Svein T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our fifth visit to this hotel but after a four-year break. We were welcomed by the head waiter with a greeting of "Welcome Home". All of the staff (bar one) we had met before, some have been there twenty years. The standard of care and service is as high as ever (if that's a time warp then I love it).
Our arrival date was my wife's birthday so, although on b & b, I had emailed ahead for a table in the a la carte restaurant. Within half an hour of arrival a bottle of sparkling wine was delivered to our room with a Happy Birthday greeting. The meal was excellent and at a reasonable price for the standard and venue.
As far as the rooms are concerned they are first class looking out over the gardens. It's not a hotel for great sea views from most rooms. All linen was changed daily.
The views from the poolside are fantastic and there is a bar offering light meals and drinks during the day.
Small criticisms were that they seem to have cut back on the frequency of mini-bus departures to Funchal and the sauna and jacussi are fired up only on request.
It's a 45 minute down-hill walk into Funchal or about €8 by taxi. Walking back is not for the faint-hearted.
The breakfast buffet gives a great selection of hot and cold with plenty of fresh fruit.
Most of our meals were taken at the cafes and restaurants of Funchal.
I hope that it will not be another four years before we return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichaelH694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Property: Quinta da Bela Vista
Address: Caminho Avista Navios 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing