We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour on a beautiful island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Up Mountain Madeira

Up Mountain Madeira
Ranked #1 of 95 Tours in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: we love our island and love to show and give you the real Madeira! The Up Mountain Madeira tours started in the beginning of 2012 , taking our visitors as friends that want to see and try Madeira, far away from the tourist crowds and boring, soulless tours and trafic tourist convoys. We are still a very very small company, with just 2 jeeps, and our tours are always done by a certified guide, by foot or in an open classic UMM jeep, all done in a very calm safe and relaxed way. we have our shared jeep regular tours, and also can tailor out your tour,for you and your party, focusing what you love the most, so if you think you got what it's needed, and brave enough to leave your cosy sofa, to really live Madeira, take a ride with us. discover the real traditional places, markets and people, not as catle! Madeira is famous for its exuberant nature and its fantastic climate, but also for its people hospitality..and we know that Madeira has so much to offer and best is hiking trails, paths and levadas by foot or by jeep.No Crowds, No Rush, small groups, great adventures! we are a certified and bounded tourism animation company by the Portuguese government under license 118/M/2011 and all our activities are covered and insured
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reichenbach-Steegen via USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great tour on a beautiful island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

What a great tour guide Nicolau is. This was the highlight of our cruise. We didn't want to book the crowded and over-priced cruise excursions, so I found Up Mountain Madeira on Trip Advisor. After reading the reviews and contacting Nicolau, we booked our trip. He met us right at the ship at the scheduled time and off we went, up the mountain on a wonderful tour. He is very knowledgeable and proud of this island, and showed us places no tour bus could reach. It is a wonderful place and we plan to return and take another tour with Nicolau. I highly recommend it!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AudinGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolauCamara, CFO-Chief of Fun Operations at Up Mountain Madeira, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hello, dont forget that you promissed to come back with more time, than in your cruise ship ;), and hope you do so i can show you deeply our island.

Thank you so much.
Nicolau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    17
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best way to experience Madeira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We enjoyed the trip with Nicolau very much. We (4 people) had a private tour and took a whole day trip through the east of Madeira. It was really exciting going up steep hills an driving off-road. And we were lucky with the weather to get a great view from the highest mountain in Madeira. Nicolau explained us a lot about the history of Madeira and especially the nature. He stopped now and then to let us smell the eucalyptus or eat a passion fruit. For lunch he took us to a butcher where we grilled very fresh, excellent beef - I'd always prefer this to standard lunch in a restaurant. We ended the trip with having a delicious poncha and nikita - traditional Madeirian drinks. Really nice day with good memories!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank VeroBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolauCamara, CFO-Chief of Fun Operations at Up Mountain Madeira, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
thank youuu, it was a fantastic day, great and a great celebration gift :D. You and your family are great, and i am really happy that you would prefeer the real tradicional instead of the touristic ;)

Best wishes

Nicolau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great way to see Madeira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was the highlight of our two weeks on beautiful Madeira. Absolutely fantastic day with Nicolau last week. Nic knows his island and made sure that everyone had a great time. He really will take you to parts of Madeira that you would otherwise find difficult to see. Don't miss the opportunity of eating espetada with his friend the butcher if you get the chance. Enjoyed that whole day and after poncha in the bar at the end of the day, I might even start supporting Maritimo! Thanks for a great day Nicolau and hope to see you next time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulVanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolauCamara, CFO-Chief of Fun Operations at Up Mountain Madeira, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
i am glad that i allready got another Maritimo supporter overseas hehehe. thank you so much for everything, you are great people, and thats why we have passed a great day all together!

Big hug my friend, hope to see you soon

Nicolau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Two great days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went 'up the mountain' with Nicolau at the start of our second week in Madeira and, partly due to his bubbly personality, in no time at all we were all pals together! The trip was over on the eastern side of the island and, along with scenery and thrilling drive up dirt track passes, we were given excellent information about the flora, fauna and history of the island. The lunch was very good and so too was the half an hours relaxation in the bar at the end of the trip. We wanted another trip to the western side. Nicolau advised against it but included us in a trip to the northern part which included a traditional Madeirian BBQ halfway up a mountain overlooking the sea. It was a great day, lovely company and a terrific driver! If anyone is visiting Madeira for the first time I would say a trip with Nicolau is a 'must do'

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolauCamara, CFO-Chief of Fun Operations at Up Mountain Madeira, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hello Stewart!!

Thank you my friend for your words.that Espetada lunch was really nice, hope you got the hang of it and tried allready to do it your self :D. Hope you comeback really soon for another adventure ;)

Take care

Nicolau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gairloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Must do trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Best day of the week, as we experienced the essence of Madeira. Thanks to Enricho & his brother Vic for a great day on the "Jeeps". We came, we saw & we conquered, the off road trip which showed us the inner Madeira, shared with great company, an itinerary to suit everyone and weather which couldn't be ordered....miss this trip at your loss.
Friendly from the outset, the trip was fun, informative and totally relaxed.
If we return to Madeira, a trip with these guys will be the first item on our agenda.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Highlandlassie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolauCamara, CFO-Chief of Fun Operations at Up Mountain Madeira, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
thank you so much for your kind words!!! hope that you really choose to come back and we take another ride to the other side of the island :D thank youu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up Mountain Madeira also viewed

 

Been to Up Mountain Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing