We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice treat but”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Monte Cable Car

Monte Cable Car
Ranked #3 of 143 things to do in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice treat but”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The cable cars are shared to and from Monte and it us pot luck as to who you end up sharing with e.g. Camera mad tourists who insist on standing up to take photos completing blocking your view. You will also experience the unsolicited taking of your photo from the cable car operator...such a shame

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steden2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,106
    3,499
    749
    87
    46
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great views”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

worth a visit even if you dont like heights as the views are amazing, although the monte to botanical gardens is a bit scary

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gail106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Terrific views”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We took the cable car up and got on the public bus to come down. The bus was a great experience and only cost about 3 euros each

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shazlatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I eventually conquered my fear of heights and took the plunge and went up in the cable car with my hubby.

It was a pleasant ride, not bumpy as I imagined it would be. We bought a return ticket which cost €30 for 2 persons – expensive we thought - although it was a good experience. Of course the views from the top make it worthwhile.

Your picture is taken immediately you step foot in the cable car and when reaching the top and getting off the cable car you are presented with your photo in a keepsake Madeira wallet ! The cost is €10 & included is a 30 minute DVD of the resorts/gardens and restaurants that Madeira has to offer.

Yes we would recommend, it was a hot sunny day when we went and was very cool up in the mountains.

Hope you enjoy

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mazza14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A good trip with wonderful views”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Well worth the trip up to the gardens. Or maybe get the cable car up and walk down. Also from the top you are able to get a sledge down which looked fun,

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WLK133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Cable Car also viewed

 
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 

Been to Monte Cable Car? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing