We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a must for anyone looking for comfort and tranquility”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2010

This hotel is the most relaxing and well appointed we have stayed in. The staff are quite amazing, extremely helpful and freindly. It's location is perfect with a short downhill walk into the centre of Funchal with it's shops, bars and restaurants that offer good food and wine. Everyone is so kind and helpful and there is an abundance of taxis and buses if you don't fancy the walk back up to the hotel.
The quintinha has brilliant facilities including a heated indoor pool, fabulous Spa and beautiful gardens. Afternoon tea is a must, the scones are delicious. Breakfast is vast and there is something for everyone, the restaurant, bar and reception staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. If you want a lot of attention you can have it or if you want to be left alone there are lots of quiet comfy sofas to loose yourself in with a good book. The rooms are large, clean and well appointed with mini bars, robes and most have balconies overlooking the glorious gardens.
We will be going back !!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weloveourholidays_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

872 - 878 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2010

The perfect place for peaceful,pampered luxury. The Sao Joao is away from the main hotel zone but near enough to the town centre to allow a gentle stroll down to the seafront ( there is a good bus service back up the hill,if required and taxis are abundant and cheap ) Great attention to detail is obvious in all aspects of this hotel and the staff are professional, knowledgeable and very friendly without being obtrusive.The rooms are quiet and elegantly furnished and look out on to the beautiful gardens - there is always something in flower and the terrace is an ideal place for a lazy lunch or afternoon tea.( excellent cakes! ) The restaurant serves imaginative food with a Goan influence - the daily set menu is especially interesting and very good value. The restaurant staff are
ready to explain any unusual items on the menu and to offer guidance on suitable wines from a good list of Portuguese wines.There is a very comfortable lounge/bar for after dinner coffee and relaxation.
A recent addition is the excellent Spa in the gardens offering a wide range of beauty treatments, massage etc. adjacent to the new outdoor pool - a second covered pool is situated on the second floor with a super view of the mountains behind the town.
We have stayed here on numerous occasions and are now planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Relaxing and tranquil week.Hotels attention to detail to be recommended,along with friendly and professional staff.We were updated on travel situation etc. by staff as we arrived two days after the flooding.Hotel was not affected. Dave and Sheila

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We arrived one week after the big storm. The hotel was untouched. It was small, very comfortable (especially the beds), peaceful and relaxed. the staff were friendly and professional and I would go to them first for trips, etc next time around. The gardens were full of flowers, and we made good use of the indoor swimming pool, which is on the second floor among the tree tops!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annant2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Our first trip to the Sao Joao and I echo the thoughts of others here - great service, well equipped and furnished rooms plus handy for the town centre but far enough apart for comfort and quiet.

We arrived two days after the floods and the hotel was unaffected. The town was usable when we arrived and the clean up continued in the old town 24/7 with police, army, navy, even boy scouts and guides lending a hand. Although we had some restrictions in the hills on levada walks, we had a great time.

Just go there!

Viv & Annie

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VHS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

we had a great stay over 7 days ,plenty for our children to do table tennis chess ,laptops etc.so clean faultless attention to detail furniture flowers etc excellent
very relaxing ,staff pleasent and very helpfull breakfast superb.
only downside was the size of the bath very narrow and one improvement which we think would add value and help keep vistors in the bar longer would be a televission room with sky for football etc

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

A perfect stay. Special mention for the quality and friendliness of all the staff and the delicious food served in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twizzlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
918 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 88 in Funchal
2,238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $135 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing