We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the best ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Just got back from a wonderful week stay at the soa joao, the staff were friendly and welcoming, the hotel was kept immaculate all the time and the food was out of this world. The master chef evening is a must whilst at the hotel, any infomation about the island just ask Rosie nothing to much trouble for her.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coiln w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your week’s stay at the Quintinha – we thoroughly enjoyed having you with us! Thank you for sharing your kind comments on TripAdvisor, your support is much appreciated.

Our members of staff are going to be so pleased when they read that you considered them friendly and welcoming and you are right… nothing is too much trouble!

We hope to be able to welcome you back on future visits.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    155
    32
    15
    3
See reviews for
95
843
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

After a three year break my wife and I have visited the Quintinha again and have not been disappointed. One the important elements of any hotel is the quality of its staff and the staff at this hotel are very good. From the initial welcome through the dealings with reception, waiting and bar staff through the maids to of course Rosie they cannot be faulted. One of the most important elements of this, which says a lot about the hotel is that there is very little turnover with staff we have known for years still there. Keep it up, we shall be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your encouraging words and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. It really is most motivating for us all that our loyal supporters return to stay with us. The majority of our staff has been with us for many years and they also love to welcome you back and catch up!

Please try not to leave your next visit for another 3 years but, if that has to be, we will be so happy to see you again and, hopefully, we will all still be here to give you that big ‘Quintinha’ welcome!

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spent an enjoyable week at hotel and had a very relaxing time. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and their attention to detail was great. We ate in the restaurant every night and the choice and quality of the food on offer was excellent, particularly on the 'Master Chef' evening. Our bedroom was comfortable and roomy with a balcony. Only slight disappointment was the pool area which was rather cramped, had limited beds and the umbrellas was a little shabby. That aside everything else was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room which will give you better views out to the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing them with TripAdvisor. We are delighted that your holiday was such a success and can only apologise for your slight disappointment regarding the pool area. We are so glad that you enjoyed your dining experience and yes, our ‘Master Chef’ evening is great fun and gives our kitchen staff a lot of motivation to be named the Chef of the Week.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Quintinha for another relaxing break.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Calm, peaceful, understated, interesting, warm & welcoming. All staff terrific, All questions answered, information about the island at your fingertips. A turn down service every evening is a lovely touch, which you don't often get anymore. We will definitely return to the QSJ.

Room Tip: Junior suite more spacious & better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We are delighted to read that you consider our Quintinha as “Home from Home” as this is exactly our wish and to which end we constantly strive.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with TripAdvisor and the prospect of welcoming you back to stay with us is one we look forward to immensely.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. In a suite with seperate rooms which was nice and probably worth paying the extra for.

Pros: Lots of space in rooms. Coffee machine. Well stocked mini bar. Full sized hair dryer. Good toiletries. Good air conditioning. Balcony with chairs. Turn down service and we were bought fruit every afternoon which was a nice touch. Black out blinds kept it nice and dark.

Reception staff very welcoming and friendly, great English and knowledgable. Staff on the pool side bar and main bar very friendly. There was a friendly lady called Rosie who could book trips, tours and restaurants for you. Spa was nice and reasonably priced, but more for treatments than going to use the facilities alone (no toilet in spa so had to walk out and use gym toilet), gym well appointed and decent equipment. Room overlooked the garden and was nice and quiet.

Cons: Not the best shower. Breakfast very average (avoid the eggs...go for the bacon and sausage) Restaurant food very average. Pools not the best size with only a few sun loungers. Games room needs updating and ping pong ball broken and no chalk for pool table etc. Ran out of diet coke in the bar midweek and didn't stock up before I left.

Hotel was a 15 min walk to the town. Alright downhill, not so good back! Taxi was €5-10 depending on time of day etc. If I was going again I wouldn't bother with the resturant as lots of nicer places nearby.

Top tip: best thing on pool/room service menu was the steak sandwich.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are grateful for your support in writing your comments regarding your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms spacious, our staff welcoming and friendly and the spa nice and reasonably priced.

We are sorry about the cons you mention and I will look into the points you have raised.
We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of your company on a future visit to Madeira.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have just returned from the QSF and have had a very relaxing experience. Our room was lovely, very clean spacious and comfortable, it was well serviced and the bed was turned down every evening which was a lovely touch.
A special mention to the bar staff, Tony, Sergio and Jessica were excellent friendly and efficient, nothing was any trouble to them and they really made the stay for us as did Rosie in guest relations she was brilliant.
This was our 3rd visit to Madeira and having already sampled the cuisine we at out most nights. We did eat in the hotel and you must try both the Madeiran evening in the gardens and the Masterchef night in the restaurant which are very good and both excellent vale for money.We did also find the restaurant very reasonable for both food and drink, five star food but not five star prices.
Having already seen all of the places of interest we chose to spend most of our time at the outdoor pool which we did find rather disappointing as the filters in the pool did not work and the pool man did not seem to be altogether bothered, we also noticed that the parasols were in a pretty poor state whcih is a shame and not a good advertisement for a five star hotel.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and could not fault either the friendlieness of the staff or the very homely feel of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arch124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for leaving your interesting review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that your experience was relaxing and that you especially enjoyed your room, our staff and dining experiences. Our Madeiran Evening in the gardens is indeed a special night and it is just so lovely sitting under the trees being served by our restaurant team and cooked for by our chefs. Thank you for supporting both our unique nights.

I have taken note of your comments regarding the pool and umbrellas and am going to look into this closely. We are sorry that you were disappointed by these aspects.

We certainly hope that you will choose our Quintinha for your 4th visit to Madeira and look forward to the prospect of welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you want a modern hotel right in the centre of Funchal then this is not the hotel for you! However, if you are looking for a quiet , relaxing and friendly hotel a short walk from town, situated in lovely gardens then this is your hotel. We had a lovely week at the QSJ . The rooms were spacious , yes the mini bar is expensive but room service is good value. The rooms and bathroom are spotless as is the rest of the hotel complimented by beautiful flower arrangements. The breakfast buffet is vast and the service excellent!! We ate in the restuarant one night which had a interesting menu but with so many different and varying places to eat nearby you are spoilt for choice. Happy is fun and excellent value !!
All the staff were so friendly and helpful and went out their way to make you feel welcome.
This was out first time in Madiera and it won't be out last at his lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane_davis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you had such a successful holiday at the Quintinha de São João and even more so that you say that it will not be your last visit and that you intend on returning one day.

We are glad that you made use of or restaurant and bar facilities and that you enjoyed the experience. I will certainly pass on your comments to the rest of the team who will be very pleased that you felt so welcome – you definitely were!

Thank you for sharing your impressions with TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Property: Quintinha Sao Joao
Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HRS, Hotel.de, TravelUp, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing