We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was our second stay at Quintinha Sao Joao and we weren't disappointed. Excellent room with balcony overlooking garden. Bed very comfortable and breakfast also excellent. We love the smaller size of the hotel and met some lovely people. Staff consistently friendly and welcoming. Rosie and everyone as helpful as ever. Will definitely be returning and have recommended to friends. Courtesy bus available for those who don't want the 15 minute walk to central Funchal but we didn't need to use it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGJR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you very much for coming back to see us - that is recommendation in itself!

Thank you also for saying that you will suggest our Quintinha to your friends and we promise to do our utmost to live up to your generous words. We love to help you in any way we can!

We look forward immensely to welcoming you back for a third time soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    163
    32
    15
    3
See reviews for
96
866
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The staff really make this hotel, nothing is too much trouble and they really want you to enjoy your stay. Even the girl who cleaned the room left me an extra box of tissues (unasked for) as I had a cold. Not a particularly nice walk into Funchal and quite a steep walk back so we ended up paying for a lot of taxis but only about €6 or 7 per go . The hotel does do a run into town at 10am and back at 5.30 but never seemed to coincide with our plans. Massive room for a standard. Very pleasant hotel with lovely gardens. Full and varied breakfast menu but coffee was not brilliant. Congratulations to all of you, we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We had Room 115 which was lovely and quiet, under the swimming pool and with balcony but no one coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind words and for sharing them with TripAdvisor.

I will pass on your comments to our staff who I know will be delighted to know that you had a lovely stay. We do try to go that extra mile and we are glad this is evident.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were recommended this hotel by friends and were not disappointed. The service was excellent and the staff could not do enough to please. Reception were so helpful giving us lots of ideas and advice on where to go and what to do. Breakfasts were amazing with every possible choice with the great bonus that it was available until 10.30 am so we had time for a swim in either of the pools in the morning. We will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We are so pleased that your friends’ recommendation proved to be correct and that you were not disappointed! We are most grateful to all our Ambassadors and do our utmost to ensure we are worthy of their praise.

An invigorating swim followed by a leisurely breakfast – sounds just the perfect way to start the day.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

If you're looking for a small friendly four-star hotel then this hotel is probably excellent. However when an hotel lists itself as five-star I expect a standard of luxury that I did not find here.

The room was of a good size and comfortable enough. However the furnishings were fairly basic. I was also disappointed by the following:

No wi-fi in the room at all. It was available in the public areas, but this is not where I wish to deal with my private emails.

Only one power point to recharge mobile phones, camera and laptop, and this was located at floor level underneath a shelf.

TV screen the size of a computer monitor.

No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

Not very generous with the toiletries, just soap, shampoo and a shower cap.

On the good side, the room was very clean and the reception staff were most courteous and helpful, however I would like to expect these things at all hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are sorry that you felt the Quintinha São João did not come up to your expectations. We are classed as a 5 star “Quinta” which differs from the large hotels. We pride ourselves above all, on service, surroundings and ambiance.

I beg to differ that our furnishings are basic in the rooms as they have recently all been refurbished to the highest standard. We do not advertise the fact that we have wifi in the bedrooms although we have free facilities in the Reception and Bar areas. We do have this point in hand, however, as we are in the process of updating all communication systems including telephones, tv channels and, of course, internet access. We do not advertise tea or coffee making facilities although we have been know, when asked, to supply a kettle which we do subject to availability.

We are pleased that you found your room clean and enjoyed our staff.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Pretty quinta close to Funchal. Spacious bedroom with balcony overlooking the gardens.
Welcoming friendly staff. Pretty gardens, two swimming pools, spa and excellent food with good choice. Bar with happy hour and cheap cocktails.
The quinta has a good arrangement with taxis to take you for short or longer trips. Better than big impersonal bus trips.
The quinta is very attractive with beautiful furniture and flooring.
It is just the right size. In the evenings there are cocktail parties and master chef competions to entertain us customers.
Will we return here? We will. The quinta has a points system to encourage returners. The more often you visit the better the deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the gardens. The quinta is close to a busy road although there are trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victoria847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are delighted that our Quintinha reached your expectations and that you would like to return. We will be honored to welcome you back.

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor and we are pleased that you loved our beautiful furniture. We do our utmost to resurrect the elegance and ambiance of days gone by and thank you for endorsing this fact. We aim to give personal service to the last as this is what our guests expect and there is nothing whatsoever impersonal about the Quintinha São João.

We hope that you will return to stay with us and join our wonderful group of Ambassadors.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Arrived from a long, hectic trip and was greeted by warm and thoughtful reception staff that made us feel at home. Throughout the stay the staff came to seem more like friends than hotel employees. I don't know whether I've ever seen guests say farewell to a waitress who served breakfast by giving her a hug and promising to return soon but it makes sense in the way the staff engaged with the guests. Rooms are fine and the entire hotel including its garden are quiet. That's a bit surprising because it's on a busy street. It's an easy walk to the city center that may be a bit much for older guests, of which there are many. Several nearby streets lack sidewalks but the Funchal drivers do not seem intent on terrifying pedestrians. The hotel earns its high praise.

Room Tip: I'm pleased that I chose a room with a balcony which overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureWarsVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
What a lovely scene you have painted! Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We are most grateful for your support.

Yes, the relationship between staff and guests is most unusual and we value this above all things. We have a large quota of guests returning to stay at the Quintinha and lots have been coming for many years. Having said that, the majority of our staff has been here a long time with many from when we first opened in 1998!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you again on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed here this week on a B&B basis as wanted to try local food.

It is a very small well run hotel with pretty much everything you need if you want to use it as a comfortable well located base as we did.

Room and bathroom on the larger than average side, beds comfortable, room is well equipped and very very clean.

Indoor pool is on the roof of an annex and the outdoor pool is by the spa, both a small be adequate. Spa prices are very good, around 50 euro for an hours treatment.

Nice touches like occasional furniture and chairs dotted around. Bar and lounge area is very comfortable and well set out. We often had something to eat out on the terrace and the food we good. The Goan food in the restaurant is very good, very tasty.

About a 15 minute walk into town, it is well away from the majority of other hotels over in the forum area. I personally think it's a perfect location.

Breakfast is good, especially the selection of continental breakfast items, from smoked salmon to excellent Portuguese cheeses. If you like your full English every day, you may feel a little disappointed as it's simply OK, whereas the cold items are very good (hence overall good).

I'd definitely come again and I'd recommend it to all my friends as the place to stay... if you're not thinking of booking Reid's :-)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisVin426f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for sharing the experience of your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São João. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and found the ambiance and cuisine to your liking.

If I may, I would just like to point out that a fully cooked breakfast is available every day. We cook the eggs, bacon, various omelets, baked beans, tomatoes and sausages etc. to order and, should there be anything further (subject to availability) we would be pleased to oblige.

We thank you very much for your recommendation to all your friends and look forward immensely to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#18 of 86 in Funchal
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Property: Quintinha Sao Joao
Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing