We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Congrats !!”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

An exceptionnal welcome and a great hotel with very courteous staff and excellent food at the restaurant.
I cannot think of any other place in Funchal to enjoy such a small and great hotel with all the services offered by standard international prestigious 5 stars hotel chains, but with something more, which is giving you the sensation you are home.
Congratulations again and best wishes for a bright future

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Quintinha São João and we are very touched by your words. We thank you for your support and feedback on TripAdvisor and hope very much to have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
There are newer reviews for Quintinha Sao Joao
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

In early November on arrival we received a kindly and warm reception. Manager welcomed us later with evening cocktails, made us feel very at home. This is a lovely friendly small individual hotel. We particularly enjoyed the warm inside and outside pools, even ping pong! My husband's birthday while there was kindly acknowledged, without prompting, a real and lovely surprise. Breakfast area in a sort of corridor was a little claustrophobic for us, but there is a bit more space at the rear if you keep going. Very good breakfast food selection. We really felt the benefit of this holiday and would love to return.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you very much for the time and trouble you have taken to place your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us and you were indeed most welcome.

I enjoy meeting our guests at our weekly cocktail party and am so pleased that you were made to feel at home. Thank you for spending your husband’s birthday with us - we are glad you liked our little surprise.

We look forward immensely to your next visit.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having been to Madiera several times we decided to have my husbands 70th birthday celebrations at the Quintinha Sao Joao. We had family and friends to come out and stay with us at various times over a five week period, Organising this must have been a headache for the staff but all went smoothly, everybody enjoyed there stay and will be back. Staff are always helpful, food is well presented and breakfast set out well with staff on hand to replenish

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

It was a great pleasure for us to have you, your family and friends at the Quintinha for such an auspicious occasion! Thank you also for sharing your thoughts regarding our service and staff with TripAdvisor – your support is much appreciated.

If I am not wrong, you will soon be with us again – this time to share with us our Christmas and New Year festivities. We are indeed looking forward to having you back and would like to reiterate that nothing is too much trouble for us and any organisation on our part was a pleasure and certainly no headache!

We are delighted that everything went smoothly for you and hope that it always will.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have been to Funchal on two previous occasions, and enjoy the island, but would certainly not consider this hotel again.
Visited 4-11 November for a relaxing holiday, and had specifically requested a quiet room, (Jnr. Suite)but had very similar experience to previous feedback from Elaine W. After first night of incessant barking we complained to hotel staff, who were well aware of the issue, but appeared unable to help. Our sleep was disrupted, and the dogs barked intermittently, day and night, to the point where our holiday was seriously marred.
We subsequently spoke to, and formally recorded our complaint with Thomson Rep who claimed she had not had any similar complaints, and offered no assistance. We submitted our extensive feedback in writing to the hotel on departure,(Including positive suggestions about tackling noise abatement!) but have had no response, yet just this evening have had a standard e-mail query, hoping we enjoyed the hotel!
We were very disappointed in the standard of the evening meal, and did not dine in after the first evening. We also thought the breakfast presentation needs revisiting, although the bar snacks are perfectly acceptable, and the staff are entirely pleasant and professional.
Another minor nuisance was the lack of an ordinary kettle in the room, for those who prefer tea!
We also agree with the previous commentator who queried the 5* status of the hotel. The standard is adequate and comfortable, but far from luxurious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We have taken note of your complaint and are sorry to hear that your nights were disturbed during your holiday.

Contrary to your comments, we were and are concerned about your situation. Your representative was indeed surprised because this was the first complaint of this nature she has received. It should also be noted that, with this concern in mind, we offered you an upgrade to a Senior Suite which you declined, and also have written a letter to both the Parish Council and the Town Council of Funchal regarding this subject.

We are sorry that we have not met your requirements.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel in October half term and were treated really well. We took our five year old daughter and they upgraded our room so we had a separate lounge with sofa bed to her which was a nice touch. We made use of the two pools, often being the only ones in the super warm indoor pool on the roof as we would swim before breakfast. We also enjoyed using the games room. The staff are lovely, really helpful especially Ines who looked after us everyday for breakfast.

We would definatley use this hotel again if we returned to Madeira but.......

On the downside we found Funchal abit too touristy for our liking, found one nice not too pushy restaurant but many were, but I guess that is the sign of the times. Beware market traders and their costly exotic fruit! Rather expensive for attractions and only 1 play park. If we had been travelling as just adults am sure we would have taken the bus out to do lavada walking but not ideal with a small person.

We had a good trip out to Camara de Lobos on a bus and were able to have a picnic from the supermarket. The new printing museum and library are well worth a look - and a bargain compared to Funchal attractions at only 1.50euros to get in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to place a review of your recent holiday on TripAdvisor and thank you for your complementary comments regarding our staff and facilities. We were pleased to be able to upgrade your room to a suite and are delighted that you found it to your liking.

We are sorry that you were less impressed with Funchal but hope you return to walk our fantastic Levadas when your daughter is a little older.

We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is tucked away down a small side street and looks rather nondescript from the outside but once inside it is lovely, decorated in the style of an old manor house.
The gardens are small but beautiful, and the outdoor pool is once again on the small side.
The rooms are spacious and clean.
The staff are polite and friendly.
Breakfast is a feast.
The only down side is that it is a 10 minute walk to the main street for any cafes restaurants etc, and it is a rather steep walk back home afterward (a taxi is around 4 euros)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola_J_M_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for leaving your thoughts regarding your recent holiday at the Quintinha São João on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you describe us as a small special hotel – this is the way we see ourselves too!

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Madeira.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Gabriele P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,934 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,200 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $139 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing