We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute delight!”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This gorgeous hotel has pretty much everything you could wish for: Great position about 30 minutes walk down into town. (I do mean down and confess we always took a taxi back, but that cost never more than 6 euros). The staff are really friendly: Ask Rosie for her restaurant recommendations which were all excellent. The rooms are large, with seating areas and balconies. Our ground floor room had a view over the lovely garden. I guess higher up there may be sea views. We didn't use the indoor pool as the outdoor one was heated. There were always enough sunbeds and the pool area is sheltered which was useful as the weather was changeable.
Breakfast is plentiful, fresh and there is a very good selection, especially of fruit. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but did have tea and cake in the bar area. The bar is lovely and on a couple of evenings there is a really good pianist. We also had a spa treatment. The happy hour deal was excellent and meant I had a hot stone massage for 36 euros. Bliss!
I would definitely return to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veronica-ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving your review regarding your recent holiday in Madeira – we are sure that TripAdvisor followers will find it most informative.

From our point of view, we are ecstatic to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday and so delighted that you found our service, advice and facilities lived up to your expectations.

We are glad that you tried our tea and cake! Our full Quintinha Tea is very popular and includes sandwiches and home-made scones and jam! What could be nicer that sitting on our terrace enjoying this?

It is obvious from your comments that you had a wonderful holiday and this means so much to us. Thank you for sharing these.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a real gem of a hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful- nothing is too much trouble. Lovely rooms, excellent public areas and leisure facilities. It was a first visit to Funchal and we were so relieved to have avoided the strip of larger, commercial hotels on the front.

It is a steep walk downhill into town, but easy and manageable ( we did it twice every day), with plenty of taxis available for the return, uphill! (5/6 Euros).

We didn't have dinner in the hotel restaurant but breakfast was very good and catered for every taste.
Will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: We loved our garden floor room with a little balcony and enjoyed watching a family of blackbirds ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Your kind review has really brought a smile to our faces! I have shared your comments with the rest of the team and to be told that our Quintinha is possibly the best hotel you have ever stayed in is just fantastic.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed our location – being in the “real” Madeira is so important and a very special experience – well worth the walk!

We look forwards to welcoming you back – as soon as possible!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Gorgeous environment; bedrooms, public areas and grounds beautifully designed for rest and relaxation. Immaculate service from the girls on reception; unobtrusive, yet informative with amazing attention to detail - nothing too much trouble. However service in the restaurant could have been sharper particularly since the food prices were steep.
Overall a lovely experience - will certainly return :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate each one.

Nothing is too much trouble for us and we are all dedicated to giving the best that we can and to going that extra mile – thank you for saying that we have succeeded where you are concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My fiance and I have just returned from a very relaxing stay in Madeira and this hotel was definitely a highlight. I can't thank them enough for making my birthday very speical (with added cake and champers in our room :-)). The staff are so friendly and helpful you feel chilled and relaxed from the moment you enter until the moment you leave. The gardens are beautiful and the views excellent.

We loved the indoor pool, the only downside being an evening exercise class that cut into our post-walking warmdown for the final 3 days of our stay. We would have like to have been told that the pool was technically closed from 6.30pm rahter than open until 8pm as advertised!

Breakfasts were ideal and the food from the bar very nice, washed down with excellent tea!

We loved the hotel's location, up on a hill overlooking Funchal but i imagine some people might not relish the 20 minutes stroll into town. We found the walk essential for walking off the HUGE Madeiran meals we repeatedly enjoyed!

I would certainly recommend this hotel to couples or small groups, no one too noisy though - you'd spoil the atmosphere...

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a lovely view - and a balcony is always nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traffy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your review – it is much appreciated. We were more than happy to help make your stay perfect and we are glad that you found our staff friendly and obliging. The fact that you felt chilled and relaxed says it all!

We have noted your comments regarding the Agua Aerobic classes and added this event to our information folders in the room. These classes are held on a Tuesday and Thursday only and the pool is not closed as various guests also enjoy participating.

Thank you for choosing the Quintinha for your birthday celebration – we are delighted you enjoyed our little gift!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Beautifully presented small hotel with lovely antique furniture and traditional Portuguese decoration. Lots of space for sitting around in your room and throughout the hotel. Set in well kept gardens with outdoor and indoor pools and excellent spa. Indoor pool is set on the roof in a bright conservatory which is lovely and warm to hang out in the cooler months and the pool was very warm.

Quiet and peaceful atmosphere and helpful staff. A pianist comes to the bar a couple of nights a week and there is an excellent drinks service on the sun terrace. Well located to walk into the centre of Funchal. Note the hill is quite steep but the hotel does run a courtesy bus at fixed times and prolific taxis are less than 5 Euros.

We stayed B&B and enjoyed the freedom to eat out at the numerous lovely restaurants in Funchal, some of which also provide courtesy buses. The hotel evening menu was on the pricey side. Large choice of buffet breakfast items and cooked food to order.

Chat to the very knowledgable consierge at the first opportunity for free advice and organisaing the best trips. We didn't realise the courtesy bus did airport transfers until we were leaving. It is definitely worth arranging pick-up from the airport in advance. For three of us we were charged 30 Euros and the clapped out taxi we picked up on arrival cost 35 Euros.

Only slight negatives for this hotel are limited sea views, and limited sunbeds round the outdoor pool. It's worth popping to the big hotel next door for a drink at their pool bar for spectacular views of the twinkling lights - but don't stay there unless you are into large scale package places.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gillt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review. We are very grateful when guests take time out to write and each and every one is of the utmost importance to us. It certainly helps other travellers make an informed choice.

The hotel as you say is very traditional and spacious. We want you to experience the “real Madeira” and make a concentrated effort to continuously push this point forward. The Quintinha São João is, after all, your Home in Madeira!

We are delighted that you found our information accurate and useful. We are pleased to organise everything possible for you and are glad that your departure transfer to the airport was satisfactory.

All our rooms are “garden view” and we would never think of ourselves as having sea views although some rooms on the top floor do have a glimpse.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and, in the meantime, thank you again for your support.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Delightful small hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfasts and advice on restaurants etc from the manager. Be prepared for a pleasant 20 minute downhill walk to the centre of town, but this means an uphill walk home. Would definitely recommend this quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write your comments about our Quintinha on TripAdvisor.

It was lovely to have you to stay with us. We are delighted about the comments you made regarding our breakfast and advice - we take great pride in all aspects of our work here, so it is lovely when our endeavours are noticed and mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another relaxing holiday!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

What a delight this hotel is. We booked this hotel after a tripadvisor search. It didn't disappoint. From the moment we were picked up at the airport to check out a week later we were looked after very well. The hotel is very well run, really friendly staff, super quality rooms which were kept beautifully clean. The decor of the hotel is splendid. The only down side for me was that the restaurant didn't seem to reflect the ethos of the rest of the hotel. The breakfast was good lots of choice and freshly cooked eggs etc. Diner was ok but rather expensive. There are much better restaurants in the town. I always felt I was not made as welcome in the restaurant as I was in the hotel. Nevertheless I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are in the corridor to the restaurant. Any room on the 1st or 2nd floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Willyboy783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for us on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. Your opening sentence made us really happy and it was a delight to have you staying with us! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found that our staff and facilities lived up to their reputation.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and are most grateful that you would consider recommending the Quintinha de São João.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
966 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $137 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing