We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel for quiet couple”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Delightful small hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfasts and advice on restaurants etc from the manager. Be prepared for a pleasant 20 minute downhill walk to the centre of town, but this means an uphill walk home. Would definitely recommend this quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write your comments about our Quintinha on TripAdvisor.

It was lovely to have you to stay with us. We are delighted about the comments you made regarding our breakfast and advice - we take great pride in all aspects of our work here, so it is lovely when our endeavours are noticed and mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another relaxing holiday!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

What a delight this hotel is. We booked this hotel after a tripadvisor search. It didn't disappoint. From the moment we were picked up at the airport to check out a week later we were looked after very well. The hotel is very well run, really friendly staff, super quality rooms which were kept beautifully clean. The decor of the hotel is splendid. The only down side for me was that the restaurant didn't seem to reflect the ethos of the rest of the hotel. The breakfast was good lots of choice and freshly cooked eggs etc. Diner was ok but rather expensive. There are much better restaurants in the town. I always felt I was not made as welcome in the restaurant as I was in the hotel. Nevertheless I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are in the corridor to the restaurant. Any room on the 1st or 2nd floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Willyboy783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for us on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. Your opening sentence made us really happy and it was a delight to have you staying with us! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found that our staff and facilities lived up to their reputation.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and are most grateful that you would consider recommending the Quintinha de São João.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have just returned from the Quintinha Sao Joao and had a really excellent relaxing break. This hotel is very good, with superb standards and extremely helpful staff who all take a real pride in making this a fantastic place to stay. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre although on most occasions we got a taxi back since it was uphill and after all we were on holiday! We only ate in the restaurant once and whilst we found it far better than other hotels we have stayed in recently, the standard of restaurants in Funchal is very high and it did lag behind the others we ate in during the week. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we will return. My tip is to book the hotel, flight and transfer separately rather than book a package tour as we saved quite a bit by doing it this way.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank squarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your support in writing a review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you think we give value for money and that you had a relaxing break.

We work hard to maintain the high standards we have set ourselves so it is most rewarding to hear that you feel we have succeeded and that you enjoyed the service of our staff. We try to get the balance right by being helpful without being intrusive. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant on the occasion you chose to dine in.

We look forward very much to welcoming you back to the Quintinha on your next visit to Madeira.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay in this hotel. The location is ideal, being a short walk to the centre of town. Walking back to the hotel was not a problem, although all uphill. A taxi is always an option and not expensive. Our room was very spacious, clean, well equipped and having the balcony was lovely. Breakfast was good with a varied choice each day, with an option of ordering eggs cooked to order. We ate in the restaurant on 2 occasions and I would have to disagree with some of the other reviews. The service was efficient, food was good and the wine reasonably priced. This is a lovely hotel, the staff, without exception, were extremely friendly and helpful. If ever I'm lucky enough to visit the beautiful island of Madeira again, I would definitely stay return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

We believe that if guests take time to write reviews on Tripadvisor we should take time to say thank you. So thank you!

We are delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant cuisine and service – both for breakfast and dinner.

Customer Service is one of our main priorities along with a friendly and welcoming atmosphere...we constantly strive to get the balance just right. Happily it seems as though we have succeeded where you are concerned!

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

It is a ten minute walk downhill from the hotel to the centre of town (The Cathedral). Takes more like 15 mins coming back up, but we did not find this a problem and prefer this location to being out along the coast in one of the newer hotel development areas. The Quintinha has lots of character including interesting old furniture and pictures. We made use of the games room (table tennis, pool, chess and draughts) and the indoor pool (fairly small but good, with towels and sun loungers). Reception staff were cheery, efficient and helpful.

Our bedroom was large, clean and very pleasant, with a good bathroom including power shower - although the bath was not all that long. Whilst the hotel is generally very peaceful there was some slight traffic noise in our room (which was at the end of the building nearest the main road), but not enough to bother us.

We had one evening meal in the restaurant, which was disappointing. But there are lots of good places to eat in Funchal so if you don't mind the walk then no problem. In contrast, breakfast in the hotel was very good bordering on excellent. There was a very broad range of choice, including cereals, cake, sliced meat, cheese, croissants, bread rolls, yoghurt and superb fresh fruit. Cooked breakfast was also available, which whilst not up to the standards of the best "English breakfast" was quite acceptable - and this is Madeira not UK so play to their strengths and enjoy the fruit!

Room Tip: High (3rd floor) rooms have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

We thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor and would like to say that we value every single one. We are certain prospective guests will find it useful.

We have a dedicated, professional and helpful team who ensure our guests feel welcome and at home – we are so gratified that this is evident.

We do our utmost to provide the best buffet breakfast possible to cater for the tastes of all the nationalities staying with us. We specially prepare all our fresh fruit daily to save our guests the trouble of even peeling the succulent delights of our island!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Needed that weeks winter break from the ongoing misery of the UK weather. Chose Madeira as it was reachable within a few hours and the temperatures were predicted to be pleasant in February.
My review will echo many of those recently posted in that on the whole this is a very fine, clean, well presented hotel with excellent staff who make you feel very welcome.
The hotel sits just above the main town and is walkable for those 50ish within 10 minutes. The trek back uphill wasn't as bad as I was expecting and had been portrayed by others. Personally didn't feel the need for the shuttle bus service, although we did take a couple of taxi's back in the late evening after excellent meals in town.
That brings me nicely onto this hotels downfall, and that is the restaurant. Again, the staff were very attentive and friendly but,as one fellow guest put it, at times the service was a bit in the 'Fawlty Towers' league. Main problem was on the Monday we arrived when it appears all the guests who had descended on the Hotel that night chose to attend dinner at the same time.
This must surely be a regular occurrence, but the staff plainly couldn't cope with the volume and openly admitted as such. Consequences were big delays in receipt of food, and a barely warm seafood starter.
Out of loyalty we booked for Valentines night and must say the food was very good, but again this was a long dining session with big waiting periods between courses.
Breakfast is good. Not brilliant, just good. Could do with a more varied choice of menu over the week.
We liked the Vasco de Gama bar and took advantage of 2 for 1 happy hour - 6.30-7.30pm. A tad more alcohol in the cocktails wouldn't have gone amiss though.
Enough moaning ! - this is genuinely a classy little hotel which we would return to.
The public areas are stylish and I wouldn't have been too surprised to see Poirot tottering through towards the bar.
Our mini suite was very spacious and well presented and the balcony was a good spot to admire the well kept gardens and glimpse of the sea between the trees.
Hint - Take advantage of the delightful Rosie who will steer you in the right direction for meals out and bus tours etc. Rosie tells it how it is, and she was spot on with her recommendations (Rosie- you're still welcome in our gang!).
Due to this being our first time in Madeira we didn't spend enough time at the hotel to make best use of all facilities, but did manage a couple of nice swims in the warm indoor pool, and took in a couple of massage therapies to aid the relaxation. All very nice !

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you both very much for such a thorough review, we really appreciate each and every one and are certain that prospective guests will find it very useful.

We know you had great time whilst you were here and are pleased that Rosie’s recommendations proved successful. She says that she would be delighted to be welcomed in your gang (her words)! We are delighted that you found all our staff welcoming and excellent – this is such an important feature of the Quintinha São João and we are always thrilled to hear this has been made evident.
We now look forward to your next visit and perhaps you can spend a bit more time enjoying our facilities, ambiance and spa treatments.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We chose Madeira over the Canary Islands for a warm January break because it has a better selection of small personal hotels. We chose Quintinha Sao Joao based on the tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We were welcomed, by name, by the receptionist (Sara?) on check-in and the service in the hotel was first class from beginning to end. We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the garden and hills above the hotel. It was a good sized room with a lovely big bathroom, and a really powerful shower.

After reading the reviews on TA, we had the bed made up as a double, and had a kettle and 2 cups in our room, all ordered before we arrived.

Other reviewers have described the interior of the hotel far better than I can, but needless to say, it was a wonderful oasis of calm.

The hotel itself was about 10 minutes walk to the coast road, and 20 minutes to the old town. We enjoyed the walk every night to the restaurants, and the longer walk back (well it was uphill) – it meant we could have desserts! We chose restaurants recommended by Rosie and ate at 4 different restaurants (Olives, Mozart, The Forte and Beef & wine) – all wonderful. This was a real gastronomic break for us.

The only downside of the hotel is their restaurant. The breakfast is only average, and the breakfast service mixed. We ate dinner in the restaurant on our first two nights, and whilst the meals were quite good, they were definitely not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel.

So, if you are happy to eat out, I would highly recommend this small but wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarenR506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing Madeira over the Canary Islands! A very wise choice if I may say so. From the tone of your review, it sounds as though you made the right decision and we are delighted to hear that you were not disappointed.

Thank you also for sharing your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community – I am sure that your contribution will prove useful.

We are sorry that you did not find our restaurant to your satisfaction. We are in the process of making some changes.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Quintinha on your next visit to Madeira and are pleased that you found the advice of our staff helpful.

Your sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
954 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $137 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing