We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quintinha Sao Joao
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,201)
Filter reviews
1,201 results
Traveler rating
963
186
34
15
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
963
186
34
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquintinha sao joaomaster chefcovered poolgames roomsmall hotela la carte menuhappy hourbalcony overlooking the gardencourtesy busbusy roadnothing is too much troublelovely hotelmattress topperhalf boardhome from homerestaurant staff aresteep walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 1,201 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Decided to book this 43 bedroom, 5 star Hotel in Funchal and we were highly delighted that it ticked all our boxes for luxury, service, food and accommodation. We were looked after by attentive staff and they made our visit special with their advice and courteous manner on all occasions. The facilities were ample and very easy to locate from the games room to the swimming pools (both outdoor and indoor) and the fitness room (big enough for me). We were well informed by Rosie for all our trips and excursions and advice on restaurants, Walks and the area totally without any need to ask twice. The hotel Restaurant - A Morgadinha was excellent with great food and service - so please try this out even if not a resident. Breakfast was great with wide choice and freshly cooked main course - omlettes were brilliant! The cocktail bar was well used for tea / coffee / drinks and of course afternoon tea at 9.90 euros (good value).
Even though this hotel is away from the harbour it is well worth the effort and keeps you exercising with walking to and from the town, and taxis were used when required (prompt service) at no cost other than the trip and tips. Recommend highly so hope others will follow our lead. Many Thanks to the Staff.

Room Tip: No problems with our first floor en-suite room with a garden view - very tidy and spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

We are delighted too that you chose our hotel for your recent holiday in Madeira and even more so to hear that our Quintinha ticked all your boxes for service, food and accommodation.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor and with other travellers - I am sure they will find them most useful.

I shall take great delight in relaying your praise to our staff and on behalf of them, I would like to thank you for expressing your pleasure in this way – it is most motivating.

Our afternoon tea is, as you so rightly say, excellent value for money and there is little nicer than sitting on our terrace sipping tea and enjoying homemade scones, cakes, jams and sandwiches!

We thank you for your recommendation and hope to have the pleasure of your company on further visits.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A superb quiet hotel with wonderful service. This was our fourth visit to the hotel. The rooms are lovely, clean and bright. The food is always excellent. The bar staff are very polite and the service is first class. There are two small swimming pools one indoor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sinbad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

The fact that this was your fourth visit to the Quintinha does, in itself, say it all! We thank you so much for your continuing support and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

It has been a huge pleasure to have had you to stay with us again and look forward to the relish of your next visit.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights in November 2012. Absolutely wonderful experience. The staff could not be more helpful. It seems that our wishes were their commands. Allowed us to stay later than check-out time because we had a late afternoon flight to Lisbon. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with garden views and climate control.A great deal at these prices! The restaurant cuisine specializes in Goan cuisine and it was delicious. They prepared our food to our specific tastes in spiciness and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Planning to return next year for my wife's birthday and frankly can't wait!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UYRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

What a lovely way to describe our Quintinha! Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Your support and kind words are much appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that you are planning a visit next year and it will be a pleasure to “help” celebrate your wife’s birthday.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a long weekend here, and it was a very comortable stay. The staff were wonderful, very welcoming, friendly, the service second to none. The rooms were large and comfortable, we had a small balcony too overlooking the gardens. only thing would be advantageous to have a separate shower cubicle, rather than over the bath, for older residents! The breakfasts were good, plenty of choice, and the dinners were very good too, though not much choice if on half board as we were. The menu changed daily though. We got a taxi to Funchal one day, as too far to walk for a couple of our party, and the courtesy bus does not run at weekends. But all in all, too short a stay, but a lovely break.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarski9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for sharing these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us!

Our team constantly strives to achieve top standards of quality and they will be thrilled to learn that you enjoyed their services.

Thank you for your suggestion regarding the separate shower cubicle. For your information, our Junior Suites have these and perhaps this could be an option for your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Quintinha São João – perhaps for a longer break!

Your sincerely,

André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent 4 nights here at the start of an 8 day trip to Madeira.
It is a perfect base for exploring Funchal, although if like us you don't make use of the shuttle service, rather a long walk to the centre.
Rooms were spacious and comfortable
Nothing was too much bother for the friendly and welcoming team.
Our one regret was poor weather meant we didn't use the outdoor pool although the indoor one was great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judek34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent experience the Quintinha São João on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry that the weather was inclement but this is one of the reasons we have an indoor pool. Although we are unable to do anything about the weather, at least we are able to provide comfortable facilities in all seasons.

Thank you for your kind comments about our team. You were indeed very welcome and we are pleased that you felt that way.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at a future date.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews