We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel do Carmo
Nearby Hotels
$164
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$140
$125
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$454
$368
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$351
$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$250
$143
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$351
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
$292
$182
Elvoline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$190
getaroom.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveler rating
182
243
68
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
243
68
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolold towncentral locationceiling fangreat stardesk staffstar hotelglass of sparkling wineselection of breadsthree starcable carshort stayexcellent locationno air conclean roomsbuffet breakfastlong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 505 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Booked double bed balcony room, they seem to be the -05 ending ones facing the mountains. Nice view, cable car, monte village and so on.

Balcony of good size with a table and two chairs. Sliding glass door soundproof enough for the alley/rather quiet street down below.

Basic bathroom with bathtub and shower. Washtub of older vintage, toilet seat and bidé newer. Hairdryer worked. Clean and functional.

Double bed was of regular european standard. Not american-wide or asian-hard, but not small or too soft either. Furniture had beautiful veneering and lacquer coating that had eroded in places like only old-skool furniture lacquer does. Beautiful atmosphere. Safe looked like it had been dived from the Andrea Doria.

If you like brand-new and shiny Ikea fiberboard - trends, this is not for you. If you like the philosophy of not throwing away furniture that still work and have a thing for the fifties/sixties, this is for you.

Breakfast had sausages/bacon, boiled/scrambled eggs and a wide variety of bread and toppings, muesli, youghurt and fruit. Local coffee or nescafe style machine specials. Sparkling wine.

Pool bar was a telephone connection to lobby bar during low season. Pool was unheated, with a few knocks but ok. Rooftop has a great view and even in winter was usable for sunbathing and swimming when wind was low.

Staff were truly great. There are great personalities working there who made us relax and enjoy our holiday all in their own style but all putting guests first.

Reception can book airport taxis for a fixed rate (€27 as of feb/14 compared to €34 with taximeter), check this option out especially on sunday when buses travel infrequently.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank snackeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaFreitasCosta, Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for comments posted on TripAdvisor.

We happy to know that you understood the essence of our hotel and that you enjoy it.

We have a dedicated, professional and helpful team who ensure our guests feel welcome and at home – we very happy that you recognized it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel experience from the moment we arrived, the reception staff made us feel so special and very welcome.The room was perfect and kept very clean throughout our stay.
The waiters in the restaurant had a very friendly manner and the buffet breakfast was a good variety of continental and cooked choices .The evening meals where good overall, but the starter was always soup only and always only warm,never hot enough.The main course always had a choice of meat or fish and was very good, except that the vegetables just warm, never hot.
The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Funchal, and only 5 minutes walk from everything'

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyscarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Hotel do Carmo is a completed refurbished "oldie" hotel. Located in city center, but in a quiet street, is owned by a traditional Maderian old family, knowing, for ages, "the art of hospitality". With a teemed "new" decoration, based in sixties, Hotel do Carmo is the right place to "urbans". A swimming pool in the "terrace" makes an ideal place to combine city and Sun.

Room Tip: The higher the best!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Hotel is in excellent location, just in a few minute walking distance from the most important places in Fuchal. Rooms are well equipped and always clean. Also there is free WiFi and seasonal fruits available at the lobby. :) Great price-value ratio! 100% recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmandsEders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel do Carmo for 1 week in October and I can't recommend it highly enough!
We received a complimentary glass of wine on arrival and were made to feel very welcome by all the super friendly staff at the hotel. All of them remembered us and had a smile throughout the day. The manager Antonio helped us to see dolphins for a much cheaper price than we found at a travel place. There was a mishap with the tickets and he even called them up and sorted us out the issue and a free drink too!

The cleaners were all really friendly and our room was cleaned daily. The rooms were really distinctive compared to other hotels, with an individual large photograph above the beds. We also had a balcony. There was a TV in the room with many english channels and the hotel was in an area very close to the docks and to the daily local market. There aren't many public beaches in Madeira but this hotel was a small 10 minute walk away from a nice little public beach.

I would recommend this hotel and their incredible customer service to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SachBash90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaFreitasCosta, Manager at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for comments posted on TripAdvisor.
We are trying our best to make your stay at Funchal as pleasant as possible.

We have a dedicated, professional and helpful team who ensure our guests feel welcome and at home – we very happy that you recognized it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely

Mónica Freitas
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews