We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Avoid! Cockroaches and noise!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #81 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Avoid! Cockroaches and noise!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This is NOT a four star! There is no proof of the award except an old sign outside when it opened in 1987. Have they stuck by this all this time without reassessment? If your actually contemplating staying here please read on. Don't stay here. Save your money. I can think of 4 really good reasons why not, please bear with me a while I go through them.
Number 1. The room. We tried changing rooms three times but we found each to be as disappointing as the last. They are all small, with rickety beds, no air conditioning (you'll need this!), all street facing (noisy all day round- especially at night), no tea or coffee facilities, pillows all filled with hard bits of foam so very uncomfortable and finally the TV is from 1960 and the fan (the only source of air circulation) is from the 1970s. Very poor. We had to fix our own toilet twice and the mini bar fridge was always empty.
Number 2. Breakfast. Don't expect a large buffet, it's just one type if ham, one type if cheese, one type of yoghurt, awful coffee, two types of bread, two types if cereal and two types of juice to choose from. Want anything hot? You have to pay through the nose. After 2 or 3 days of this you will soon wish you hadn't paid extra for bed and breakfast- go out to find breakfast is my strong advice.
Number 3. The pool. The pool bar is closed and has been since 2010 by admission if the hotel staff themselves. It's for decoration only. The pool is not heated and so freezing cold every day even at high sun -at first novel- but soon after, annoying. You have to ask for a parasol everyday (so annoying) and they are flimsy and so buckle easily. My strong advice once more is to skip this pool and go to the local lido about 10 mins walk to the east of the hotel.
Number 4. The facilities. Or the lack there of. The paintwork throughout is peeling, spots of missing tiles and un-trimmed plants provide trip and eye hazards respectively. The reception has a 1970s TV in it too small to see. Most annoying and gross of all was my girlfriend finding cockroaches in the reception toilet. After speaking to other guests they too saw them. The receptionist did nothing to combat this but instead regaled us of stories of past encounters. The bar closes very early, there is no entertainment and two out of the four reception staff are rude and couldn't care less.

In short - don't stay here. It may be well located as other people say, it may offer cheap rooms, but it's not four star it's two at best and a cockroach, dilapidated wreck.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    70
    72
    39
    23
See reviews for
41
110
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We recently had our first stay in this hotel. What a great find.

The reception staff are so friendly and welcoming. The room very comfortable and a well appointed bathroom which, was in excellent condition.

Breakfast is good and, if you want something cooked, you can have that too and for only a very small extra charge. What a great idea.

The roof terrace is an extra bonus. A great placevto view the rooftops of Funchal.

We liked this hotel so much, we are going back again in a couple of weeks.

Room Tip: Just let the hotel what kind of room you would prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed as part of a group on a B&B basis. Seems to be popular with groups - perhaps there is a good rate.
Very central location.
Next best thing; hotel receptionists friendly and helpful and speak good English (if that's important for you).
Our room was on the street side. It was noisy during the day but not too bad at night. We were told rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter. No air conditioning - we had to keep the fan running most of the time (early June) and the windows open to keep cool. Room decor a bit tired. Maids barely managed to keep the room clean. Our showering arrangement was a bit archaic, but it did work
Breakfasts served as very, very basic 'continental' type. Bread appeared fresh, but not much choice.
A tiny pool is located on the roof (6 stories up) within an area with chairs, tables and loungers. Good views of Funchal and surrounds from the roof.
Small bar with limited choice. Hotel appeared to serve main meals but we didn't try them.
Three stars only.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SloeVodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I must congratulate The Windsor on the service offered by Elsa. Most professional and friendly front of house, showing an interest in the guests. A great asset to the hotel. I was not a guest in the hotel but was able to use the swimming pool facilities for a rate, which was fantastic yo use due to public lido being closed as roadworks in centre of Funchal. Hotel is great location in middle of Funchal and with roof top swimming pool is lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnecrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Got to the room and needed a shower ~ it didnt work. Why don't chamber maids check this type of thing?
Complained to the receptionist who got a plumber out whilst we were out. She then told me it was a temp repair and it would take a further 4 days to get it properly fixed. Luckily, we were only staying 1 night.
The hotel was very busy and they obviously had totally under estimated the breakfast needs Noe cereal worth speaking of, orange squash, coffee machine empty, no bread. Very poor

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David0457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

we enjoyed our stay .We found this time they had improved the restaurant and added a large room to seat everyone comfortably. The food we found well cooked with several choices .the staff are really very friendly and make you feel comfortable the receptionists are really helpful nothing is too much trouble .the waitresses are very good in fact all the staff are . overall we will stay there again .my husband says they could do with a bigger t v in the lounge so he can watch the football in the evenings (lol)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed in this hotel last month for 3 nights and it wasn't a good stay. This hotel claims to be 4 stars but I would give it 2 on a good day! The only good thing about this property is it's location, very centralised. The walls are so thin you can hear your neighbour like he was standing next to you so our sleep was pretty much disturbed every night. Hotel décor is very dated and old. To top it off we had ants in our bathroom and a horrible smell plus were greeted with a massive yellow paddle on the bathroom floor.
Please stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank BayernRulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Do Centro Hotel
Do Centro Hotel
#77 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#28 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orquidea
Hotel Orquidea
#61 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residencial Greco
Residencial Greco
#86 of 87 in Funchal
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#52 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergaria Catedral
Albergaria Catedral
#63 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: Rua das Hortas 4C, Funchal, Madeira 9050-024, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MODERNLY FURNISHED THE HOTEL OFFERS YOU COMFORT IN A FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE, HIGHLIGHTED BY THE QUALITY OF SERVICE PROVIDED, AND AN EXCELLENT LOCATION. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Funchal
Windsor Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing