We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“not worthy of 4 stars” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #83 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not worthy of 4 stars”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Looks a bit earie from outside, when you get in even worse. Very old inside. bedsheets and towels never been renewed. water was yellow. room musty and smelly,
breakfast was recycled roles and they even charged me extra for a fresh coffee.
no airconditioning, just an old clapped out ventilator fan.
the worst was at night. room so smelly but they locked the windows so you cannot open.

definitely not recommended !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    71
    75
    41
    25
See reviews for
42
114
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

What more do you require than a basic but stylish hotel that is very clean that is also in an excellent location.
Yes you can moan about the breakfast but you are paying a low price and only have to go across the road for more variety.
Enjoyed it would go again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful, Thanks to the lady @ reception for all your help, wouldn't really call it a four star but had a nice sleep. The breakfast is basic but healthy. Good location close to bus stops etc. Also you must visit the Gellato shop around the corner open till 12 midnight. Madeira is well worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for one week. Had read previous TA reviews criticising the breakfast, the staff, the amenities etc so we were a little apprehensive as to what the stay would be like. Have to say that the first room we were allocated was next door to the lifts and so very noisy, mostly because other guests slammed the lift doors, but we were moved without fuss the next day.
Overall, we found the hotel to be clean, the staff friendly, the roof top pool area a super place to meet for a drink. On the downside, the breakfast was very basic, comprising cereals, bread, ham. cheese, fruit and yoghurt. No toast, no eggs. But there was enough of it. The rooms were small and rather hot as there was no aircon, but the windows opened and our rooms each had a fan.
The biggest plus point is the location of this hotel. It is so central you can walk to all the main touristy areas within ten minutes unlike many other hotels located on the outskirts where the views were good but you needed transport to get anywhere.
So if you are happy to have a hotel that is not luxurious but is clean, in a central location and where you do not want to spend a whole lot of time in your room, this is worthy of consideration.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lift areas. Corner rooms are smaller but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pandrcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great location close to everything in city. Still parking usually available. Very bad internet connection. Ended up paying, but still got no use of the connection.
Breakfast OK, if not sold as full buffet as some travel operators (Tjäreborg) did. We paid for morning coffee and for that offering was good.
Big enough room, OK beds. No A/C but in winter did not matter.
Reception people very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matkakaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have today returned from two weeks at the Windsor, and we have experienced the worst hotel that we have ever stayed in. There is absolutely no way that the room we had was any better than a two star hotel. The drains were a real problem in our room, and despite endless complaints, not
Thing was done. The hotel is being renovated, and we should have been offered another room, but it didn't happen. The breakfast room was a shambles every day with uncleared tables, insufficient food to feed the visitors, coloured water as an excuse for fruit juice....it was awful. We always choose a four star hotel, as we find the facilities offer what we want from a hotel.......but not at the Windsor. The bathroom was an absolute disgrace...........renovations should be complete before they should be allowed to call this a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take room 412!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cerises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Midhurst
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked for 2 weeks for some sun in March. Not the hotels fault but we saw as much rain as sun.
My first comment would be that we felt the hotel was a little short of 4*
The positives were that all the staff were really friendly and very helpful.
The room was comfortable but not over large. I agree with others that these were the worst pillows that I have ever experienced. Tea and coffee would have been a big plus.
There was insufficient breakfast staff to cope with the numbers coming down for breakfast, they did their best though. We knew that it was a continental breakfast but still felt that it was very limited. this could do with some new ideas.
The dining room staff were excellent, the food good and the prices very good.
We tried to use the sun area after it had rained and on more than one occasion the lounger mattresses had been left out and were so wet that they couldnt be used and the area on the terrace was carpeted so was also wet for ages after it had rained. This needs some thought by management.
Our room was not made up until well into the afternoon, even 5pm some days, which we felt was too late, also the maids on our floor left all the dirty linen etc outside our door until they had finished that floor, which we felt was a safety issue, as I nearly fell over it more than once when leaving our room. This does need some changes made.
Although I have highlighted some areas that were not as good as they might have been, taking everything into account we did think that the hotel was good value, but would have been happier paying a little more to get the points that I have raised improved on.
Dont change the staff though, they were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Do Centro Hotel
Do Centro Hotel
#75 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#28 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orquidea
Hotel Orquidea
#59 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residencial Greco
Residencial Greco
#87 of 87 in Funchal
3.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergaria Catedral
Albergaria Catedral
#62 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Funchal Design Hotel
Funchal Design Hotel
#57 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: Rua das Hortas 4C, Funchal, Madeira 9050-024, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MODERNLY FURNISHED THE HOTEL OFFERS YOU COMFORT IN A FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE, HIGHLIGHTED BY THE QUALITY OF SERVICE PROVIDED, AND AN EXCELLENT LOCATION. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Funchal
Windsor Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing