We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“walking in madeire” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #84 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
epsom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“walking in madeire”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

a good all round hotel centrally located and close to the harbour. rooms clean and tidy but could do with airconditioning.staff were friendly, small pool on the roof which was adequat.Breakfast could have been a bit more adventurous and always consisted of cereals,ham,cheese,various breads and preserves,tea and coffee but you would not go hungry.we used local restaurants in the evening so cannot comment on evening meals.

Room Tip: ask for airditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    73
    77
    43
    26
See reviews for
44
117
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Listed as 4* No air conditioning, No pool towels, Unstocked mini-bar. Breakfast absolutely dire and uninsipiring - Only Dry croissants, rolls, jam, plastic cheese and ham and fruit salad. Powdered coffee in a jar. every day.

Room reasonable size and clean but extremely hot making sleeping difficult. The Pool snack bar never opened.

Hotel in a good location for exploring Funchal. and Staff friendly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just back from a week in Funchal - we selected this hotel as it is central and appeared good value for money (having read many reviews). We were not disappointed. Although central (within 1 min walk of the hubbub of Funchal), the hotel is situated in a quiet street. The rooms are clean and cleaned daily, fresh towels daily too. The one downside of the rooms was the lack of aircon but that was a chance we took. As it happened, the outside temperature was 25-35C so the room was very warm at night even with windows open and fan blowing at its fastest speed.

We used the hotel as a base so can only comment on the service we used daily i.e. breakfast - there was fruit salad, ham, cheese, cereals, bread, rolls, juices and the usual breakfast hot drinks; the selection and quantity on offer were good enough to set you up for a day's tramping on the levadas!

We agree with other reviews, the hotel staff are efficient, friendly and helpful with Elsa deserving a special mention - she seems to be there most of the day and has a good knowledge of where to go and what to do, should your pre-holiday research lack substance. Brochures in the hotel give info on trips, excursions etc. and most (if not all) companies pick up from the hotel.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iainrossmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyLou105
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just returned from this hotel and it is a real gem. A traditional hotel with excellent friendly staff. No air con but fans in the rooms and the temperature in Madeira is always pleasant. Breakfast is continental but perfectly adequate and again staff are friendly and helpful. There is free parking. The hotel is situated right in town and not at the top of the hill miles away from anything like most of the big hotels. It is close to the market and several supermarkets and local shops. Also easy walk to lots of local restaurants and the bus station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindyLou105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

The hotel is by no means a four star but what it lacks in space is made up by the friendly and helpfull staff ,they make you feel they have known you for years .the hotel is in a great location for discovering the old town .the continetal breakfast was sufficient .the evening meal was varied and good .the room was kept very clean .the only downside of our trip this time was the exploiting of wild birds on the front of funchal ,so please don't have your photo taken with these birds

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N E Lincs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel couldn't be better placed for the centre of Funchal. Our room was small but clean if a bit tired looking. We had adequate space to store our things and although the bath was small there was a shower and bath and the most efficient hairdryer I'd had anywhere on the island.
I felt that the space available for breakfast wasn't quite adequate. Most days it was all right but on our first day when we came down there was not a free table.
Breakfast was fine - just continental but nice coffee and the bread was good and there was always fruit and yoghourt. There were lots of handy bars and it didn't take long to walk to the market, the bus station, the sea front or the tourist information. In fact everything was really handy. The nearby bakery (Opan) was particularly good - just a few steps away round the corner so we got our packed lunches there every day.
The roof area with it's swimming pool was lovely.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and pleasant. All in all, we felt it was much better to be here than in one of the more expensive hotels out of the centre. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NElincsrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Most attractive feature of this hotel is the rooftop pool, beautiful views of funchal, sea and hills, lovely spot to relax, read, eat lunch, drink beer etc
only ate breakfast at the hotel, which not suprisingly was continental self service, lovely fresh bread and croisants, fine before a days walk
supermarket a few yards away
central location near lots of restaurants
staff very friendly
rooms adequate

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gimpytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Do Centro Hotel
Do Centro Hotel
#79 of 86 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#30 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residencial Greco
Residencial Greco
#86 of 86 in Funchal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergaria Catedral
Albergaria Catedral
#59 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orquidea
Hotel Orquidea
#61 of 86 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#45 of 86 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: Rua das Hortas 4C, Funchal, Madeira 9050-024, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MODERNLY FURNISHED THE HOTEL OFFERS YOU COMFORT IN A FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE, HIGHLIGHTED BY THE QUALITY OF SERVICE PROVIDED, AND AN EXCELLENT LOCATION. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Funchal
Windsor Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing