We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$437
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveler rating
247
255
44
16
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
255
44
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunicipal gardenscentral locationrooftop barold townthe ritzla viesmall poolexcellent locationswimming pool on the roofgreat showernoisy at nightbreakfast roomshopping centrethe main hotel areasized roomeasy walking distancewalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 566 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2017

We stayed here our last night in Funchal due to a scheduling issue. Previously we were in the condos above La Vie which were stunning. This is old and tired and tiny. It was ok for one night, but wouldn't have enjoyed it for my holiday with so many better choices available.Breakfast included was good. Lots of old British and German tourists here.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the park or the water
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anabella2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

I was so disappointed with our stay. The hotel is beautiful, it is perfectly located, but the pictures of the rooms online are very deceiving. The rooms are super, super basic. I mean a bed and a shower and that’s about it. No iron, no fridge, we had a terrible view, and the fuse box in our room kept buzzing and rattling all night. Super uncomfortable beds. The location is superb though, and the pool area was nice. If you have a car, I would recommended staying elsewhere. The glasses in our room were also very dirty.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nikiroo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

This hotel is in a great position it is right in the city center, not far from any festivities on the waterfront that are going on and right in the hub of Funchals great bars and restaurants not forgetting the beautiful shops and a big shopping Mall right on the doorstep. This hotel is so helpful and friendly especially the lovely Francisco ( Chico) on reception. Chico gave us some great recommendations for sight seeing and also restaurants. Our rooms were clean light and airy and air conditioning was great and very much needed. The mattresses are great so I slept like a log. A hair dryer is supplied in the bathroom with a great shower with good pressure. The Hotel is immaculately clean and seems to be cleaned continually through out the day All the staff were very friendly and made you feel very welcome and all spoke good English. The breakfast is lovely lots to choose from and the staff are realy good at making sure nothing runs out and tables are cleaned and cleared as soon as they can. The roof top terrace is fabulous Pool was cleaned very thoroughly every day. lots of tables and chairs to sit at out side the cafe/bar once again lovely staff great snacks and food ( big portions ) and drinks at very reasonable prices. What I also loved was no one hogs sun loungers with towels there are always sun loungers and umbrellas available.The hotel provides you with yellow towels in your room for use on the terrace. There is also a book corner in the lounge room near reception so you can pick a book to read there is a great choice as you soak up the sun rays. Its a beautiful roof top to spend your time relaxing in the day time and getting a great tan and a great spot for the beautiful view of the Mountains and city center all lit up at night whilst you sit and sip on your Cocktails at great prices. Everything is on your doorstep at this hotel and is away from the hustle and bustle of the promenade of all the new hotels and also on a straight level so no steep hills to struggle with. I would definitely go back and stay. Great location great staff and great value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Hotel have a great location near the municipal park, marina and city center. Our room was smaller, but good enough for our needs as we spent majority of time in the city. Breakfast was ok, I would just expect more choices of fresh vegetables or some salads. Staff was friendly, polite and always in good mood. Especially grey haired guy from the pool bar. One of the biggest plus of hotel Madeira is a pool on the rooftop. Not a huge one, but it definitely did the job in the hot weather. There is around 10 - 12 sun beds by the pool with umbrellas and small tables where you can put cold beer :) Pool bar is well supplied, during the lunch time, you can buy hamburgers, sandwiches and wraps..

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

Having visited Madeira on numerous occasions, we chose the 'Small and Friendly' Hotel Madeira basically because it is at the centre of life in Funchal. The hotels location is perfect for exploring this beautiful capital city. Within a 5-10 minute walk you have access to the cable cars, boat trips, shops, restaurants, tremendous bus service and beautiful walks.

The Hotel itself is ideal, yes, it is smaller and I am glad that we booked a Junior Suite two great balconies. The room was located at the rear of the hotel and the views were of the castle and mountainside, it was very impressive at night. The staff at the Hotel Madeira are great, they all work so hard and always with a smile on their face. Sonia, Louisa, Deena and Rodriguez to name a few are simply brilliant.

The breakfast choice is more than adequate, fresh scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, beans or mushrooms. Cereal, yoghurt, fruit (tinned and fresh), honey, croissants, fresh bread, ham, cheese - there is something for everyone and we always found something.

The pool is small, but super for cooling down, it is well maintained. The choice of snacks is great too, we had the most beautiful homemade quiche yesterday. Made by Sonia yesterday morning. A one minute stroll and you're in the municipal garden in one direction or a shopping mall in the other.

It does depend on what you want from a holiday for us this was perfect Thank you to everyone at the Hotel Madeira for a lovely relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Book a Junior Suite!
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Geordia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews