We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Madeira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Madeira
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a week over New Year . It was very clean. The staff were very helpful and the breakfasts fine. We booked in person on an earlier trip to Funchal and requested a corner room on a high floor. The room was great but we weren't aware when booking of the night club next to the Municipal Theatre! Whilst this is normally open on Friday and Saturday nights till 4am it was open all night on New Years Eve & we therefore got no sleep. We hope to return to the hotel when the refurb is complete & will try a back room.

Room Tip: Please see above
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kath_pickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    216
    34
    12
    1
See reviews for
60
304
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed in this city-centre hotel between 27th Dec and 3rd Jan 2014 for the Christmas - New Year celebrations in Funchal. The hotel is right in the heart of the city and about 2 mins walk from the main street and the very posh Ritz cafe.

It's a 60s hotel and is cosy, friendly and very Madeiran. It's spotlessly clean and very homely. It's not swish and modern but that didn't matter at all. In fact, I really liked the lovely retro feel of the place.

The breakfast was good ... a choice of eggs, yoghurt, breads and cheese as well as ham and fruit.

I've previously stayed in 4-star hotels in the hotel zone and the experience of this modest town centre hotel made me realise that swanky, spacious 4-stars aren't really my cup of tea.

The hotel also offers free wifi and very helpful reception staff.

Highly recommended if you want an authentic Madeiran experience. It was wonderful being able to step out of my hotel and immediately be in the town with all the wonderful festive on-street entertainment (dancers, brass bands, winter market, chestnut sellers and festive lights). Also, all the concert venues are within walking distance, so no expensive or inconvenient taxis needed at all.

Room Tip: The rooms can be a little bit noisy due to being in the city centre but this adds to the atmosphere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karen245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed t this Hotel for the whole of November. Found the music from the club across the park to be too loud on Friday and Saturday nights even though we kept the double glazed windows shut. The staff are very helpful and go out of their way to answer any queries you might have. The situation of the Hotel is ideal for the local buses and the many resturants that are around the centre of Funchal. The Hotel is to undergo a total refurbishment early next year. We hope to be back next November

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed in the Hotel Madeira for fourteen nights with breakfast. This hotel is great value for money. We chose it because it was outside of the main tourist area yet very central just inland from the marina. The reception staff come across as being a bit glum but were very helpful when needed. The breakfast was basic but enjoyed and set us up for the day. We had a twin junior suite, which was very clean with fresh towels every day. Over all not the most modern of hotels but all in all really pleased we chose it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pete971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent value .A bit noisy but then central Funchal is.I will have no hesitation in booking again,friendly .helpful and capable staff a welcoming little downstairs bar/cafe make this a bargain.Breakfast is a bit limited but fresh fruit is available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co. down
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here recently for two weeks. The wine festival was on while we were there and this hotel was in the perfect location to see all the things that were going on. Only a minute walk to the Municipal Gardens where there were folk concerts and another minute walk to visit all the wine sheds that popped up for the weekend. The staff are so helpful, especially one of the night porters who got us a fridge for our room. Although the decor is a little dated the rooms were spotlessly clean. I hope this hotel retains its charm when it is modernised next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank awardnominee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very good location for you that are visiting the city.
The room were clean and the staff at the hotel were friendly.
It's a good choice when you combine price with quality.
If you rent a car please ask in the hotel desk for a free place to park. It's not cheap and easy to park the car nearest the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nuno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#33 of 86 in Funchal
439 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#20 of 86 in Funchal
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 86 in Funchal
2,147 reviews
1.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,376 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeira

Property: Hotel Madeira
Address: Rua Ivens 21, Funchal, Madeira 9000-046, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#26 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madeira 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madeira is a 3 star Hotel very well known by its personalized service and quality. Here you'll find everything you need for relaxing and unforgettable holidays: comfortable equipped rooms with all contemporary ways of connection (telephone with a direct line to the exterior, Wi-Fi Internet access) and recreation zones (open swimming pool on the top floor with a panoramic view of Funchal city, Sundeck, Coffee Bar, Snooker table). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Hotel Funchal
Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing