We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept hotel on the flat, in the town centre”
Review of Hotel Madeira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Madeira
Ranked #29 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We wanted a hotel in the town centre, easy to walk around the central area and the old town.

We didn't want to be on the edge of town in the so-called hotel zone at the concrete Lido / Pestana area, nor up the difficult hill that rises immediately and increasingly steeply behind the front couple of roads in the town.

Everything jin the Hotel Madeira ust worked properly and the hotel was clean and well cared for, at rather a budget price compared to the hotel zone. We'd definitely go back, but after 10 days in Madeira we feel we have seen everything we wanted, at least for several years.

Our room was with a nice big bed which we chose over having a balcony which was also offered, but maybe I should have read the reviews better and asked for a fridge, plus the street noise did travel up on Fri and Sat in the small hours to our 2nd floor front corner room overlooking the park and even with a bit of a sea view.

Breakfasts were a basic but acceptable cold buffet with little variation day to day and only the eggs being cooked and hot. The hotel owners offered to help with excursion planing, though we did our own thing, mainly by scheduled public buses which leave from various points on the nearby Avenido do Mar and the slightly more distant bus stations near each end of that road. - an internet search will yield detailed public bus timetables.

A 100 yards up the road from the hotel is a discrete three story shopping centre including a full supermarket and much more.

We used the hotel bar just once but it was good value for ice cream or indeed cheese on toast, as well as drinks, attended by an unobtrusive but friendly barman.

There is a roof top unheated pool. We didn't have the weather to sunbathe, although on the evening we arrived, the last of sunworshippers was climbing out of the pool as we went to see it.

All in all a decent clean cheap well tended unextravagant hotel and one of the very few to be found right in the town centre.

Room Tip: Choose the front corner to overlook the park, but go high up to avoid weekend street chatter and ban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rickbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 516 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last year and really liked it so decided to go back this year. Last year we had a room with a balcony but found it almost impossible to sit on it, it was so tiny so we decided not to pay extra for one this time. We had a corner room on the second floor which looked over the park and down the road to the sea front. There were windows on both sides of the corner and a small table and two chairs where we could sit and read our books and watch the rain pouring down. We needed the air conditioning on most nights and it was very quiet and you don't pay extra for it. The windows have blackout linings under the curtains so the light doesn't wake you up and there is very little outside noise. The downstairs bar is very good for coffee with very reasonable prices. We found all the staff polite and helpful. Everyone mentions the dull breakfasts which were still just as dull but you do get what you pay for and the central location and comfortable beds more than make up for the lack of a resort hotel type breakfast. Part of the sea front promenade is cordoned off while a new cruise ship dock is being constructed and we were a bit disappointed not to be able to walk all the way along the front. The hotel is about 10mins walk to the cable car which goes up to Monte. This is more expensive than the bus but the views are wonderful. Try to avoid going when the cruise ships are disgorging their passengers as there can be long queues. The main bus station is also near the cable car. Most of the restaurants seem to be good quality and I have reviewed some of these seperately. Yes it does rain sometimes but the people who live in Funchal are rightly proud of their little city and are very helpful to the slightly disorientated tourist. A word of warning. Don't hover on the pavement near one of the numerous zebra crossings unless you mean to cross the road. The very polite drivers will stop and wait for you to cross and I always felt obliged to do so although usually I had only stopped to admire a building and didn't want to be on the other side of the road!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bowdensrus_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We chose this hotel for its location as we wanted to have access to public transport and to be in the centre of Funchal rather than in the hotel area and this hotel really is in a perfect location. All staff were really friendly, interesting and helpful and the room with 2 balconies overlooking the most beautiful park was perfect with very efficient and quiet air conditioning, a blessing at night as on our second week it did get very hot. The barman mixes a mean poncha. Had just one and wasn't quite sure which way up I was. We went to do levada walking and had to replan when it became very hot and the island was overwhelmed with forest fires. Went on some of the trips which enabled us to see more of the beautiful island. The levada walks we did we organised on our own but you do have to be confident walkers with the right boots and good maps and a definite head for heights as you do find yourself walking on rocky precipices hundreds of feet high. Would not advise these walks with young children. Fantastic trip out on the catamaran to see dolphins and then swim just in front of the second highest sea cliff in the world. Only downside running the gauntlet of restaurant touts - not really sure how to deal with them but we did stay polite and remembered that they are trying to do a very demoralising job in an island that is relying enormously on tourism. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the corner, high up as they seem to have two balconies and you can nip up to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Chose this hotel on recommendation and booked as part of a Thomson holiday package. The hotel met all our needs for the most part excellently. The central location to Funchal was important as we had a member of our party with mobility difficulties. Within the hotel our request for a room with easy access to the lift was commendably met in advance of our arrival.From the room maids to the dining room staff the hotel gave a cheery and helpful service. I would endorse the comments about the breakfast and room locations. The use of the internet in the lounge area foc was very useful. For evening meals there are some excellent restaurants situated on the Rua da Carreira behind the hotel though beware the cheaper "all inclusive " options which could disappoint. The Dolce Vita shopping centre ( turn right from hotel and walk 200 metres) was very useful and has a pharmacy.
We eschewed the tour organisers' coach trips ( expensive ) and opted to use the services of a local taxi-tour guide company who was able to look after our all ability party of four very well indeed. For the price we paid for four tourists ( very reasonable we thought ), we were able to tour either the east or west side of the island with driver ( Terry ) who spoke English and gave a a courier-like description of Madeira. We did both tours and saw a lot incl. in the east, Monte, Pico de Arieiro, Ribeiro Frio, Santana, Pico do Facho, Sao Lourenco .See below for website - no vested interest but would recommend as value for money.

https://sites.google.com/site/terrysblacktaxiinmadeiraisland/

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ambulantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Unashamedly I have cut and paste from another reviewer much of my following review because I agree wit most of what was written. Ihave generally put my alterations in brackets :- (I agree )
Negative first: Breakfast! We found nothing wrong with the food that was being offered each morning. It was the same each day apart from a choice of peaches or pineapple slices. The choice was: scrambled and boiled eggs, peaches or pineapple slices, slices of ham and cheese, rolls 3 types including croissant) jelly, “natural” yoghurt, butter, jams, honey, cereal 2, fruit juice and tea/coffee. I would have appreciated more variety, e.g. fresh fruit, flavoured yogurts, sliced bread for toasting, etc.
(Fresh fruit at the very least should have been available - after all Madeira grows bananas !!!)

(I agree )- Positives.
The hotel is well maintained, kept very clean in all areas, has lovely roof terrace containing pool, loungers, umbrella and tables/chair, affording great views over Funchal, mountains and sea. The bedrooms were cleaned every day, towels changed and linen every other day. ( I asked and got ) a free security box available to guests in reception. Our room had a TV which allowed me keep up to date with the BBC news ,plus a BBC entertainment channel. (We didn't require A/C first week in October)
(As recommended in Trip Advisor - (We asked for a fridge. Got very old and basic fridge but it kept our milk , fruit and water cool).
(Cleaning) Staff are friendly, helpful and always had a smile for you.( of 4 [male] rotating Receptionists - 2 were great - the other 2 not so).
(The hotel is very central and only a short walk from anywhere you need to be i.e.the harbour area, restaurants, main bus routes and 100 yards from a large shopping mall called Dolce Vita containing the Pingodoce supermarket on the basement floor. the Supermarket has a self service restaurant / cafe where the food is charged by the weighing the food/plate).Generally fairly good fare and terrific value and half price after 9pm.
(I agree) :-The location means you (generally) avoid the steep hills in the main hotel area. There is also a small park adjacent with lovely gardens, fountain and swans in front of the hotel, (and a snack bar which is good for the last beer going home at night).
(We would have loved our stay in the Madeira but unfortunately we and everyone we talked to, were badly bitten by mosquitoes-so remember to use repellant at all times.Parking is not provided at the hotel and parking in the town is a nightmare so think carefully about hiring a car as we did for a week. It cost us dearly in Parking fees.There is a local car hire company 100metres from the hotel so maybe THAT is an option should you wish to take occasional day trips. 150 Metres from the hotel - Restaurant dos Combatantes Trip Advisor rated 4.5 out of 5 and well deserved . Me and my wife loved it.)
( We would use the hotel again - but try to get a room at the front which catches the afternoon / evening sun)
Thankyou again to the reviewer on whose review I've piggy backed !!

Room Tip: We would use the hotel again - but try to get a room at the front which catches the afternoon / even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Northernerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Fantastic staff at this hotel every thing nice and clean, nice pool area' Limited breakfast selection but not to bad being in mined its only a 3 star,central location.We found the best restaurants at the back of the hotel we found the best one was were there is two together its the one at the shopping center side and in the shopping center there is a nice Italian restaurant well worth a try.

Room Tip: When we had a look round most rooms are very good for location but we always go for a high floor jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPCD1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The staff at hotel Madeira are extremely professional and friendly. This is a straight forward 3* hotel right behind Sao Francisco park and easy walking distance to the old town. The area is surprisingly quiet considering it is in the heart of the city and the rooms are extremely clean. Nice pool on hotel roof which was rarely busy. A real gem at a good price. No meals available just snacks and breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#35 of 88 in Funchal
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#28 of 88 in Funchal
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#15 of 88 in Funchal
2,298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#23 of 88 in Funchal
603 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeira

Address: Rua Ivens 21, Funchal, Madeira 9000-046, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $79 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madeira 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madeira is a 3 star Hotel very well known by its personalized service and quality. Here you'll find everything you need for relaxing and unforgettable holidays: comfortable equipped rooms with all contemporary ways of connection (telephone with a direct line to the exterior, Wi-Fi Internet access) and recreation zones (open swimming pool on the top floor with a panoramic view of Funchal city, Sundeck, Coffee Bar, Snooker table). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Hotel Funchal
Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing