We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveler rating
261
270
44
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
270
44
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews municipal gardens rooftop bar central location old town the ritz la vie small pool great shower excellent location breakfast room shopping centre noisy at night the main hotel area air con sized room easy walking distance walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 596 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last year and really liked it so decided to go back this year. Last year we had a room with a balcony but found it almost impossible to sit on it, it was so tiny so we decided not to pay extra for one this time. We had a corner room on the second floor which looked over the park and down the road to the sea front. There were windows on both sides of the corner and a small table and two chairs where we could sit and read our books and watch the rain pouring down. We needed the air conditioning on most nights and it was very quiet and you don't pay extra for it. The windows have blackout linings under the curtains so the light doesn't wake you up and there is very little outside noise. The downstairs bar is very good for coffee with very reasonable prices. We found all the staff polite and helpful. Everyone mentions the dull breakfasts which were still just as dull but you do get what you pay for and the central location and comfortable beds more than make up for the lack of a resort hotel type breakfast. Part of the sea front promenade is cordoned off while a new cruise ship dock is being constructed and we were a bit disappointed not to be able to walk all the way along the front. The hotel is about 10mins walk to the cable car which goes up to Monte. This is more expensive than the bus but the views are wonderful. Try to avoid going when the cruise ships are disgorging their passengers as there can be long queues. The main bus station is also near the cable car. Most of the restaurants seem to be good quality and I have reviewed some of these seperately. Yes it does rain sometimes but the people who live in Funchal are rightly proud of their little city and are very helpful to the slightly disorientated tourist. A word of warning. Don't hover on the pavement near one of the numerous zebra crossings unless you mean to cross the road. The very polite drivers will stop and wait for you to cross and I always felt obliged to do so although usually I had only stopped to admire a building and didn't want to be on the other side of the road!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bowdensrus_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We chose this hotel for its location as we wanted to have access to public transport and to be in the centre of Funchal rather than in the hotel area and this hotel really is in a perfect location. All staff were really friendly, interesting and helpful and the room with 2 balconies overlooking the most beautiful park was perfect with very efficient and quiet air conditioning, a blessing at night as on our second week it did get very hot. The barman mixes a mean poncha. Had just one and wasn't quite sure which way up I was. We went to do levada walking and had to replan when it became very hot and the island was overwhelmed with forest fires. Went on some of the trips which enabled us to see more of the beautiful island. The levada walks we did we organised on our own but you do have to be confident walkers with the right boots and good maps and a definite head for heights as you do find yourself walking on rocky precipices hundreds of feet high. Would not advise these walks with young children. Fantastic trip out on the catamaran to see dolphins and then swim just in front of the second highest sea cliff in the world. Only downside running the gauntlet of restaurant touts - not really sure how to deal with them but we did stay polite and remembered that they are trying to do a very demoralising job in an island that is relying enormously on tourism. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a central location.

Room tip: Ask for a room on the corner, high up as they seem to have two balconies and you can nip up to the wonderful roof top swimming terrace with a glass of wine in the evening.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Chose this hotel on recommendation and booked as part of a Thomson holiday package. The hotel met all our needs for the most part excellently. The central location to Funchal was important as we had a member of our party with mobility difficulties. Within the hotel our request for a room with easy access to the lift was commendably met in advance of our arrival.From the room maids to the dining room staff the hotel gave a cheery and helpful service. I would endorse the comments about the breakfast and room locations. The use of the internet in the lounge area foc was very useful. For evening meals there are some excellent restaurants situated on the Rua da Carreira behind the hotel though beware the cheaper "all inclusive " options which could disappoint. The Dolce Vita shopping centre ( turn right from hotel and walk 200 metres) was very useful and has a pharmacy.
We eschewed the tour organisers' coach trips ( expensive ) and opted to use the services of a local taxi-tour guide company who was able to look after our all ability party of four very well indeed. For the price we paid for four tourists ( very reasonable we thought ), we were able to tour either the east or west side of the island with driver ( Terry ) who spoke English and gave a a courier-like description of Madeira. We did both tours and saw a lot incl. in the east, Monte, Pico de Arieiro, Ribeiro Frio, Santana, Pico do Facho, Sao Lourenco .See below for website - no vested interest but would recommend as value for money.

https://sites.google.com/site/terrysblacktaxiinmadeiraisland/

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ambulantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Unashamedly I have cut and paste from another reviewer much of my following review because I agree wit most of what was written. Ihave generally put my alterations in brackets :- (I agree )
Negative first: Breakfast! We found nothing wrong with the food that was being offered each morning. It was the same each day apart from a choice of peaches or pineapple slices. The choice was: scrambled and boiled eggs, peaches or pineapple slices, slices of ham and cheese, rolls 3 types including croissant) jelly, “natural” yoghurt, butter, jams, honey, cereal 2, fruit juice and tea/coffee. I would have appreciated more variety, e.g. fresh fruit, flavoured yogurts, sliced bread for toasting, etc.
(Fresh fruit at the very least should have been available - after all Madeira grows bananas !!!)

(I agree )- Positives.
The hotel is well maintained, kept very clean in all areas, has lovely roof terrace containing pool, loungers, umbrella and tables/chair, affording great views over Funchal, mountains and sea. The bedrooms were cleaned every day, towels changed and linen every other day. ( I asked and got ) a free security box available to guests in reception. Our room had a TV which allowed me keep up to date with the BBC news ,plus a BBC entertainment channel. (We didn't require A/C first week in October)
(As recommended in Trip Advisor - (We asked for a fridge. Got very old and basic fridge but it kept our milk , fruit and water cool).
(Cleaning) Staff are friendly, helpful and always had a smile for you.( of 4 [male] rotating Receptionists - 2 were great - the other 2 not so).
(The hotel is very central and only a short walk from anywhere you need to be i.e.the harbour area, restaurants, main bus routes and 100 yards from a large shopping mall called Dolce Vita containing the Pingodoce supermarket on the basement floor. the Supermarket has a self service restaurant / cafe where the food is charged by the weighing the food/plate).Generally fairly good fare and terrific value and half price after 9pm.
(I agree) :-The location means you (generally) avoid the steep hills in the main hotel area. There is also a small park adjacent with lovely gardens, fountain and swans in front of the hotel, (and a snack bar which is good for the last beer going home at night).
(We would have loved our stay in the Madeira but unfortunately we and everyone we talked to, were badly bitten by mosquitoes-so remember to use repellant at all times.Parking is not provided at the hotel and parking in the town is a nightmare so think carefully about hiring a car as we did for a week. It cost us dearly in Parking fees.There is a local car hire company 100metres from the hotel so maybe THAT is an option should you wish to take occasional day trips. 150 Metres from the hotel - Restaurant dos Combatantes Trip Advisor rated 4.5 out of 5 and well deserved . Me and my wife loved it.)
( We would use the hotel again - but try to get a room at the front which catches the afternoon / evening sun)
Thankyou again to the reviewer on whose review I've piggy backed !!

Room tip: We would use the hotel again - but try to get a room at the front which catches the afternoon / evening sun.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Northernerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Fantastic staff at this hotel every thing nice and clean, nice pool area' Limited breakfast selection but not to bad being in mined its only a 3 star,central location.We found the best restaurants at the back of the hotel we found the best one was were there is two together its the one at the shopping center side and in the shopping center there is a nice Italian restaurant well worth a try.

Room tip: When we had a look round most rooms are very good for location but we always go for a high floor just in case
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPCD1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews