We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
251
258
44
16
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
258
44
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunicipal gardenscentral locationrooftop barold townthe ritzla viesmall poolexcellent locationswimming pool on the roofgreat showershopping centrenoisy at nightbreakfast roomthe main hotel areasized roomeasy walking distancewalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 573 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Unashamedly I have cut and paste from another reviewer much of my following review because I agree wit most of what was written. Ihave generally put my alterations in brackets :- (I agree )
Negative first: Breakfast! We found nothing wrong with the food that was being offered each morning. It was the same each day apart from a choice of peaches or pineapple slices. The choice was: scrambled and boiled eggs, peaches or pineapple slices, slices of ham and cheese, rolls 3 types including croissant) jelly, “natural” yoghurt, butter, jams, honey, cereal 2, fruit juice and tea/coffee. I would have appreciated more variety, e.g. fresh fruit, flavoured yogurts, sliced bread for toasting, etc.
(Fresh fruit at the very least should have been available - after all Madeira grows bananas !!!)

(I agree )- Positives.
The hotel is well maintained, kept very clean in all areas, has lovely roof terrace containing pool, loungers, umbrella and tables/chair, affording great views over Funchal, mountains and sea. The bedrooms were cleaned every day, towels changed and linen every other day. ( I asked and got ) a free security box available to guests in reception. Our room had a TV which allowed me keep up to date with the BBC news ,plus a BBC entertainment channel. (We didn't require A/C first week in October)
(As recommended in Trip Advisor - (We asked for a fridge. Got very old and basic fridge but it kept our milk , fruit and water cool).
(Cleaning) Staff are friendly, helpful and always had a smile for you.( of 4 [male] rotating Receptionists - 2 were great - the other 2 not so).
(The hotel is very central and only a short walk from anywhere you need to be i.e.the harbour area, restaurants, main bus routes and 100 yards from a large shopping mall called Dolce Vita containing the Pingodoce supermarket on the basement floor. the Supermarket has a self service restaurant / cafe where the food is charged by the weighing the food/plate).Generally fairly good fare and terrific value and half price after 9pm.
(I agree) :-The location means you (generally) avoid the steep hills in the main hotel area. There is also a small park adjacent with lovely gardens, fountain and swans in front of the hotel, (and a snack bar which is good for the last beer going home at night).
(We would have loved our stay in the Madeira but unfortunately we and everyone we talked to, were badly bitten by mosquitoes-so remember to use repellant at all times.Parking is not provided at the hotel and parking in the town is a nightmare so think carefully about hiring a car as we did for a week. It cost us dearly in Parking fees.There is a local car hire company 100metres from the hotel so maybe THAT is an option should you wish to take occasional day trips. 150 Metres from the hotel - Restaurant dos Combatantes Trip Advisor rated 4.5 out of 5 and well deserved . Me and my wife loved it.)
( We would use the hotel again - but try to get a room at the front which catches the afternoon / evening sun)
Thankyou again to the reviewer on whose review I've piggy backed !!

Room Tip: We would use the hotel again - but try to get a room at the front which catches the afternoon / evening sun.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Northernerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Fantastic staff at this hotel every thing nice and clean, nice pool area' Limited breakfast selection but not to bad being in mined its only a 3 star,central location.We found the best restaurants at the back of the hotel we found the best one was were there is two together its the one at the shopping center side and in the shopping center there is a nice Italian restaurant well worth a try.

Room Tip: When we had a look round most rooms are very good for location but we always go for a high floor just in case
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPCD1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The staff at hotel Madeira are extremely professional and friendly. This is a straight forward 3* hotel right behind Sao Francisco park and easy walking distance to the old town. The area is surprisingly quiet considering it is in the heart of the city and the rooms are extremely clean. Nice pool on hotel roof which was rarely busy. A real gem at a good price. No meals available just snacks and breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Negative first: Breakfast! We found nothing wrong with the food that was being offered each morning. It was the same each day apart from a choice of peaches or pineapple slices. The choice was: scrambled and boiled eggs, peaches or pineapple slices, slices of ham and cheese, rolls (3 types including croissant), jelly, “natural” yoghurt, butter, jams, honey, cereal (2), fruit juice and tea/coffee. I would have appreciated more variety, e.g. fresh fruit, flavoured yogurts, sliced bread for toasting, etc.

Positives.
The hotel is well maintained, kept very clean in all areas, has lovely roof terrace containing pool, loungers, umbrella and tables/chair, affording great views over Funchal, mountains and sea. The bedrooms were cleaned every day, towels changed and linen every other day. There is a free security box available to guests in reception. Our room had a TV which allowed me keep up to date with the British success during the Olympics. We were grateful for the A/C during our stay.

There is bar area serving drinks and food at competitive prices – 2 G&T's for 6euro! Next to reception is a lounge containing a PC with free Internet access, lending library, pool table and several tables and chairs.

We asked for a fridge. It was placed in the room within one hour and we had ice cubes 45 minutes later! Staff are friendly, helpful and always had a smile for you.

The hotel is a short walk from the harbour area, close to first class restaurants, near Blandy's Winery and museums, two minutes from the main bus routes and 100 yards from a large shopping mall containing the pingodoce supermarket. The location means you avoid the steep hills in the main hotel area. There is also a small park with lovely gardens, fountain and swans in front of the hotel.

We loved our stay in the Madeira. I would recommend it as a base to enjoy the many activities, restaurants and sights that are available on this stunning island.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony - extra charge will be made. Fridge will be provided foc.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is v central ... close to the old, albeit not totally interesting old town. I preferred it here compared to the Benidormesque hotel area ... each to their own. Funchal is big ... no easy walks from your hotel door ... from Hotel Madeira ... just the repetitive harbour walk. Trips ok ... the real beauty lies in the scenery ... stunning in parts.However, many of the organised trips stop at complete 'nothings' eg a 'trout farm'.Half an hour stops to look around 'tat' tourist trinket shops became galling. We did west and eat tours with 'Flora'in a minibus ... okay but 5000 uphill gear changes does grind after a while. Best to do organused trips as most villages have enough to keep you for half an hour only. Catamaran trip okay ... long and hot ... saw dolphins and pilot whales.Ni commentary whatsoever ... poor ... chiise the BBC promoted catamaran.
Hotel Madeira ... had a suite ... 2 balconies ... 2 rooms ...aircon ... fridge ... free safe ... good, peacefu,l tiny pool on roof. Breakfasts ...unbelievably poor ... no fresh fruit ...why on earth not? ... it.s Madeira! Watch out for Mosquitoes ... check your room thoroughly before bed or reap the consequences ... you have been warned.
Finally ... I would just like to mention the lovely, older gentleman on reception... he was always so helpful and pleasant ...what a super manner ... calm and thoughtful etc.
Enjoy your stay ...

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews