We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$222
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
$357
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$190
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$355
$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
$190
$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$191
$153
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveler rating
247
255
44
16
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
255
44
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunicipal gardenscentral locationrooftop barold townthe ritzla viesmall poolexcellent locationswimming pool on the roofgreat showernoisy at nightbreakfast roomshopping centrethe main hotel areasized roomwalk in showereasy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 566 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2011

An excellent hotel in an ideal location within walking distance of most places of interest in Funchal, and a number of good restaurants.
We liked the Municipal Park right beside it and the streets with their black and white mosaic pavements.
All staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful.
We were lucky enough to occupy a Junior Suite with two balconies, a delightful sitting area and a fridge.
Apart from the usual Funchal attractions we walked up the hill to the Clara convent where we were shown round the peaceful, beautiful place. The Quinta Cruze gardens next door were lovely too, and provided a coffee.
We hired a car, but would not bother another time if we were staying in Funchal as Parking was difficult and expensive. We parked in the Dolce Vita Centre, two minutes from the hotel for 5.50 euros for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank judy_kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We have been to the Hotel Madeira before and find it clean, quiet and near everything needed for us older holidaymakers, but may not suit the more younger set. Didn't like the crinkly covers on the mattress though.

Room Tip: The bar prices are good.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
2  Thank PekefieldFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Great location for a hotel, next to the municipal park & close to middle of town. Breakfasts are adequate in the continental style. Bar prices are great with bottle beer 1 euro, gin & tonic 3 euro & full bottle of wine 6.50 euro. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
5  Thank Shamus001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a week in this delightful hotel. It is situated within a short walking distance from the town centre. I cannot recomend to highly the friendly service and cleanliness which prevailed during the whole of our stay. I cannot imagine that anyone staying here could have cause for regret. Unlike the hotels in the Lido area it does not overlook the sea but more than compensates by its proximity to the travel hub in Funchal, There are 2 taxi ranks within 100yards as well as a delightfull botanical park where you can sit and enjoy reasonably priced coffee and food in a peacefull atmosphere. We found this hotel A1+ which can be booked online

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnrichard33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

The hotel's central location is great. Holmes Place gym 2 minutes walk away, Dolce Vita shopping centre with fab supermarket 2 minutes walk away, all the delights of the city and the seafront within very easy walking distance.
My room was spacious, immaculately clean, cable tv, 2 balconies, smoking permitted (but having the balconies to smoke on, the room itself didn't smell of smoke), nice bathroom, quiet at night, comfortable bed.
Breakfast choices were ample, though simple.
Front desk staff were charming.
Free use of the (one) computer was great. (wifi said to be available for 4 euros an hour - pricey). My repeated expressions of concern about the hotel computer showing that anti-virus protection wasn't up to date met with no correction of the problem - I was told the Manager had the password, the Manager apparenly wasn't present or available to assist with this,during my 3 night stay, to deal with the issue......
But apart from that, I simply couldn't have had a better experience of the hotel, and I will happily return. SIGNIFICANTLY more my sort of place than the huge hotels in the "Hotel Zone", which aren't nearly so central.
The terrace and small pool on the top floor was attractive.
I didn't use the cafe hotel but it looked welcoming.
I loved the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Perpetuatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews