We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chuggs of braunton”
Review of Hotel Girassol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Girassol
Ranked #44 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“chuggs of braunton”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great location to walk to Funcha,l and to the forum shopping mall along by the sea. Great accommodation. Enjoyed our sea view from floor 8 and the space by having a suite. Fantastic staff relaxed atmosphere. Very knowledgeable staff if local information needed. Immaculate hotel.When revisit will return to this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank braunton-chuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    213
    105
    42
    25
See reviews for
76
299
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Recently spent 3 weeks at this excellent hotel where returning guests are made to feel like old friends rather than customers. The fact that the accommodation is in a suite rather than just a room adds to the feeling of home comfort. All the staff provide fine but unobtrusive service and respond to any request. The menu is good both for breakfast and dinner and the pool or daytime bar cater for any day time needs. There is a lovely garden should you require a quiet space from other holiday activities. The hotel is ideally situated for walking to Funchal or down to the seafront esplanade and with bus stops close by also. The rooms and facilities are kept scrupulously clean again in an efficient but unobtrusive way. A very pleasant experience all round in a comfortable hotel unlike some of the airport style clinical ones that abound now

Room Tip: Overlooking pool and garden high up for great view of sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DaveyD577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for a 21 night package deal with Cosmos. We had a suite on the 5th floor overlooking the pool. The suite had separate bedroom & a sitting room with large very comfy sofa, armchair, fridge & TV. Excellent location just 30 mins walk into Funchal & about an hour into Camara de Lobos along the beach & boardwalk. Other reviews mention traffic noise but we didn't really notice any. The restaurant, more like a canteen, had very little atmosphere. Breakfasts were good with lovely breads, cereals, fresh fruits and yoghurts. There was also sausage, bacon & eggs. Dinners were buffet style with little choice but always fish & meat. The only real gripe was that none of the hot food was ever hot & getting served with free iced water proved difficult.

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floors overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gone_touring53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed for a week in January, booking as part of a package deal. Hotel is in a good location close to other hotels with numerous restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. It takes about half an hour to walk to the old town centre and port area. The open-top yellow and red tour buses stop a few yards along the road (12 euros for a 2-day ticket), and there's a bus stop for the urban buses at the same place. Any of these will take you to the centre for about 2 euros, or less if you use multiple journey tickets. The hourly service to Monte also stops outside. Hotel is nothing flash but comfortable and good value for money. It has 11 floors. The 2 lifts are rather slow. I had a junior suite on the 5th floor which was nice and comfortable. The view wasn't particularly scenic, overlooking other hotels. Higher floors may enjoy a better view but it depends which side you are on. Some rooms overlook a swimming pool or have a view towards the sea. Most rooms are junior suites with an ensuite twin-bedded bedroom and living room. The living room has a chair, settee, coffee table, fridge and flat screen TV. The balcony leads off the living room. Traffic on the road outside is audible from the balcony but it's some distance away screened by trees so there was no disturbance at night. Very quiet inside the hotel so had a good nights sleep. There's a conference area and reading room next to reception which is the only place where the hotel's free wifi works. The small bar includes a dart board and has a happy hour from 9 to 10pm where you get a 25% discount. It serves coffee - there aren't any tea/coffee facilities in the rooms so you can either pay a daily charge for a coffee tray or buy drinks at the bar. Breakfast is very good - buffet style with plenty of choice and no shortage of seating. Stayed on a B&B basis. No problems with the service or staff I encountered. There are good value restaurants everywhere so no need to eat at the hotel. There's a pleasant walled garden to the rear with shaded benches among the trees, accessed via an exit on the first floor. This also leads to the swimming pool and gym. Gym equipment was very sparse and not up to much. The main pool looked nice but was hardly used, but perhaps it wan't the season. There's another pool round the corner which is drained and not in use.
A good place to stay for value without fuss.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Colin055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My friend and I went to Funchal on Monday Dec 16th staying at the hotel Girassol for 2 weeks.
On arrival we checked in and were given room 904 on the 9th floor away from the noise of the road traffic,we had a twin bedroom ,bathroom with shower over ,there was a sitting room with a settee ,armchair a large TV and a fridge( very useful) also a balcony.
After a long day we needed a wash and freshen up so I went to the bathroom only to find that the plug in the wash basin didn`t stay in so the water ran away I then went down to report it and it was not until the Thursday that it was repaired (not good).
We went for our evening meal which was not until 7.30 pm and shown to our table that we used for the whole of our stay.
The 1st three evenings were waiter service ,the food was warm on cold plates the meat was tough and not very nice,the rest of our stay was buffet and again was only warm ,most of the time I kept to the fish which you could cut easier.
The deserts were alright but most of the same kind each evening.
Breakfast you had a choice of 3 cereals ,cold meats, cheese, several different breads that you could toast but it took a long time.
The choice that should have been hot but wasn`t bacon, sausages,baked beans,eggs different each day were either scrambled, fried mostly hard ,poached brought out in water so you got a wet plate or hard boiled.
Choice of different teas or coffee.
Christmas Gala Dinner this they did not start serving until 8pm.
First came Prawn Cocktail ok then came Cabbage soup warm, tasteless, in cold dishes,next came Salmon the only course that was hot we then had what they Turkey Supreme which was thin turkey around some kind of stuffing ,spinach, looked a mess ,and 2 tiny potatoes that were hard not cooked so you could not cut them,I only ate the turkey.
By this time we had had enough so we left and did not have the Christmas pudding or the Honey cake and Madeira wine so I can not comment on that.
The staff did not speak to you unless you asked them something no one said Good Morning ,Good Evening or even Happy Christmas.
The waiters would only speak to you if you ordered drinks,they would take the menu from your table as they passed not asking if you had finished with it .
On our departure I took the key back ,the receptionist just said thank you and went .
Because the evening meal did not start until 7.30 pm you could not go to any of the things going on in the evening unless you went without your meal ,they need to change their time to start at 6 pm or 6.30 pm at latest.
Concerts started at 7.30 pm ,tour of the Lights again was 7.30 pm.
We enjoyed our holiday and saw what we went for.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the road noise Room 904 was kept very clean by the only person to say Good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Trying to escape the rain here I found a deal to this hotel with Thomson with no single supplement.
I travelled from 6th to 13th January. I was allocated refurbished room/suite on the 5th floor with pool and partial sea view. It consisted of double bedroom, separate sitting room and bathroom. There was a flat screen tv with limited channels. As said before, no air conditioning/ heating but neither were needed.room serviced daily by cheery maid. I paid 10euros 50 for a kettle which arrived with a nice cup and saucer. Shower powerful with constant hot water. I was half board and I enjoyed the breakfast. If I wanted to be picky(which I don't) the evening meal could have had more selection and could have been kept warmer, although what was available was well cooked. The problems I experienced with the evening meals could have been down to how quiet the hotel was that week. Overall for the price I paid it was great value.
As there is nowhere on this site to review full holidays I'm going to add a little here. Flew with Thomson from Glasgow on an almost full flight. Quick, well organised transfer to Hotel. Easy check in by friendly receptionist. So far, so good. Unfortunately I took some rain south with me, but I'd got my raincoat with me, so it didn't stop me. New things I did this time, CR7 museum, lunch at Armazem do Sal, visited the Mega Presepio at the Nun's Valley, and went to the Festival of Santa Amaro in Santa Cruz(surprised to meet a Shetland pony on the prom at midnight!)
Although town seemed busy with the cruise liners in I, personally found the Lido area too quiet. I hope to continue to take solo holidays to Funchal, but, not so early in January, perhaps if I wanted to go solo in winter I would choose December when the lights were still on. Already booked for Next Christmas and New Year with hubby. GIrassol was about 20%occupied
Good flight home, Funchal airport quiet on my return, top floor cafe area is completely different and now there are a few tables and benches on the outside viewing terrace.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Calderglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here with my mum in September 2013,, great location u could walk into fungal took about 15 min walk or the bus stop is right outside hotel, food was very good plenty of choice and fresh with every bread u can imagine, staff were lovely always smiling and couldn't do enough for you felt like royalty, we had junior suite with sea view it was spacious and clean with separate living area, now for the only complaint the pool is in desperate need for a face lift and I've seen better spa/sauna facilities in a rugby club, so if it's a holiday by the pool u want do not book .

Room Tip: Ask for sea view you wouldn't like to be looking at the pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#15 of 86 in Funchal
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
#57 of 86 in Funchal
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girassol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girassol

Property: Hotel Girassol
Address: Estrada Monumental 256, Funchal, Madeira 9004-539, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Girassol 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Girassol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Girassol Hotel Funchal
Hotel Girassol Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing