We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, pleasant staff”
Review of Hotel Girassol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Girassol
Ranked #47 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good hotel, pleasant staff”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very nice hotel with excellent facilities in a great location.
Polite, pleasant staff.
The breakfast offered a variety and was served efficiently.
Pool was excellent and rooms were brilliant.
I left my jewellery here and the staff kindly found it and posted it back to the UK safely to me.
Thoroughly recommend this gem!

Room Tip: Top floor for those that are OK with heights
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angel1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    203
    101
    42
    24
See reviews for
71
287
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 4-12 August 2013. The room itself was very clean and comfortable although very warm despite a ceiling fan and an extra fan provided by the hotel. The only way we could cool the room down was to open the door and the balcony door to create a breeze. The hotel is situated by a noisy road! There was also no minibar so nowhere to keep water or drinks cool! Otherwise the hotel staff were very helpful, breakfast was satisfactory and the pool area was a nice place to relax.

Room Tip: Think it's probably best to stay in the main part of the hotel, we had a room off to the side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We've just spent a great week at the Hotel Girassol. We all loved it ! First impressions were a bit mixed. Its official rating is 4 star and to be honest, it looked plain from the outside and so too did the corridors. But that was the only negative aspect that we found. The Hotel was very clean and tidy. We booked a junior suite, and after reading a few reviews, I wasn't expecting anything much. I was very pleasantly surprised. Our suite was very clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. We had a nice balcony (very private) and the room was air conditioned. I cant speak for other people, but I found all staff at the Hotel to be very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was great too. Again, after reading some of the reviews, I was not sure what to expect, but I had no complaints. We went half board, and found there was a good selection/choice at meal times and the food quality was very good. Staff in the restaurant were very pleasant and there was always someone nearby if we needed anything. The Girassol is in a good location too. There are a few very nice bars and an ice cream parlour just opposite, and the buses that run into Funchal stop slighty up the road. There is also a taxi rank nearby. We had a few bus trips into Funchal, which is a great place to go exploring. But if you don't like being very close to people, its better to take a taxi. The buses get very crowded, and usually, it was standing room only. There are some good places for lunch in Funchal. We all liked the 'Restaurant Arco Velha' best. Its easy to find, right opposite the cable car station. The AA guide to Madeira lists it as the 'café Arco Velha' so it threw me at first. The Hotel Rep was able to suggest a few more places to eat that were all within a minute or two of Arco Velha, so you cant go wrong. Another 'must see' is the Labourers Market. For all you Brummies, it put me in mind of the old Bullring Fish Market. Certainly worth a look. All in all, I had one of the best holidays ever and I really didn't want to come home.
If you are thinking of going to Madeira, then the Girassol is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The Hotel does have some rooms that are specified as 'Quiet Rooms.' Apart from that. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 88RobH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked a holiday to take my mum away for her birthday. After reading reviews on here I was a little concerned, however we arrived our room was on the ninth floor and excellent suite room which was great as we have two children. Food also excellent I have a fussy 7 year old and he thought the food was great we were half board, breakfast plenty of fresh bread, bacon sausages, eggs, beans and fresh fruit, ham and cheese. Evening meals were excellent too, on Tuesday there was a BBQ by the pool, the pork was excellent! On Saturday Maderia dancers sang while we ate. All staff were delightful we had a great time and would defiantly return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have stayed six times or more. Some rooms have been refurbished some areas a little tired. But it is what it is and offers good value, especially on half board. But evening meals start too late and I have to offer a bribe to get a BROWN roll with my evening meal, This is ridiculous. I think it has a weak marketing dept., and client feedback.

Many staff have been there a lifetime. The location is very good for coastal walks and shops, buses.

The directors should not share their Christmas Meal with the guests. They should be absent, or serve the guests and staff?

However, I return this December again!

Irskine Riddle. UK

Room Tip: Request east for sunrise and beautiful panoramic views at night, or west side for afternoon sun. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked a last minute holiday at this 4 star hotel. After a very late arrival in the early hours of the morning, we were given a very tired and smelly room. We did not feel comfortable at all and there was a very poor view from the balcony onto concrete rooms and a bit of garden. However atfer breakfast the next morning, we asked at reception if it was possible to change to a nicer room. We were accommodated onto the 6th floor to a newly refurbished room with an OK view. We were very happy with this. All in all, I would say that this was a very nice hotel. It was quiet and pieceful and the pool area was very nice. It was mainly older people there and not many children so it was very relaxing. The pool bar staff were exceptional and I really felt that we were lucky to have such a peaceful hotel so near to the main town of Funchal. There are lots of restaurants nearby and a very good pub called the Hole in One. We loved the atmosphere there.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzan_ABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We are currently staying in the Girassol, booked with Thomson. The 'family friendly' hotel evening meals dont begin until 730pm, not suitable for anyone with young children. The atmosphere was depressing. There were cracked tiles on the balcony so we could not let our toddler go outside. The bathroom was dirty, with someone else's hairs in the bath and on the towels. The bath was dirty. The dining area has not been cleaned since we arrived (mon nights dinner is still on the floor tues morning). High chairs do not get cleaned. Food is ok if you like tinned veg. Fruit salad is repeatedly put out for breakfast and dinner. Food selection and quality is pretty poor. We have been offered a transfer at a cost of £800 for 4 days!!!! Could have gone to a much nicer place for an extra £40 pp for the week!
Thomson complaints have been abysmal, the rep, bless her, is trying her best. This hotel is certainly not suitable for families.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nb1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#16 of 86 in Funchal
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
#59 of 86 in Funchal
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Views Monumental Lido
0.4 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girassol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girassol

Property: Hotel Girassol
Address: Estrada Monumental 256, Funchal, Madeira 9004-539, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Girassol 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Girassol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Girassol Hotel Funchal
Hotel Girassol Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing