We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Girassol
Nearby Hotels
$268
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
$148
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
$258
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$112
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$158
$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$227
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$171
$134
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
$199
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$577
$372
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveler rating
196
285
148
48
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
285
148
48
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitetravel departmentceiling fan in the bedroompool areasitting roomno air conditioninghalf boardfirst floorseparate loungefloor overlooking the poolall inclusive drinksbeds were comfortablelido areareception staffpoolside barmain roadpool attendant
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 703 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

First impressions of this hotel were not good. The main entrance screams for a refit and overall I wouldn't grade it 4 star. We spent the first night in a standard room as the hotel had double booked the suite we had reserved. We were offered dinner free of charge by way of compensation.The buffet dinner was awful and we were glad we had booked b and b!. That said, breakfast was fine and the place was certainly popular with Tour groups from other European countries, especially Germany and France. We found the reception staff to be really friendly and helpful. We didn't use the spa facilities so can't comment on those. There was music and entertainment on 2 evenings which was nice. If this report sounds negative I have to blame the weather for the week. Rain rain and more rain! . Girassol may have appeared better in sunshine but we wont bother to find out!

Room Tip: Nice superior suite on 9th floor
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed one week in March.Very clean rooms on 8th floor(junior suite)facing the pool with sun from 1pm.Breakfast had a good choice of bread,rolls,eggs,bacon,sausages,cereals etc. No luxaries,but plenty enough of choices. Had dinner in the restaurant 3 times. First time had the buffet(25E),but prefered the a la carte meny which was lovely.Reasonable priced,same as other restaurants (12-17Euro) Polite and attentive waiters.If you didnt finish your bottle of wine or water they would save it and it was served next day.We didnt pay extra for the kettle( mentioned by other guest previously).It was there on arrival.Also small fridge. Reception area was spacious with a couple of sofa groups.On 1st floor was a nice room to sit in too and with balcony for smokers outside.There was no smoking anywhere to be seen inside the hotel,glad to say.
Pools: no need to bring your own bath towels! They were provided for you free! Saves lots of space in your suitcase. Nobody went out early with towels to occupy sun beds! Bus into Funchal 1.80E.Taxi 5-6E.Or walk for about 15mins.Taxis have taxameter for within Funchal,but not for longer trips.Madeira is mainly for 50+or families,no discos or raving youngsters and hardly no crime .I wouldnt be afraid of walking alone at night on main streets. All in all: good value for money and will gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BSL49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

NOT a 4 Star! - needs a total wake-up call! Rooms were basic, but clean. No proper Lounge, just a few stiff chairs in a big, dark sort of conference hall, bar small and grubby and dominated by a TV, also dominated by all male staff, as was the restaurant, all old and did as little as possible to help, especially rude to women! Only had breakfasts, oh dear, what a waste of money, cold, congealed and a real turn-off - if an item had run out, especially bread or rolls, when it was gone that was it, no back-up and one small toaster for the whole hotel which obviously came out of the ark! (Dont bother complaining about food, no one takes any notice, thats the way the old boys have done it for years, they would not last 5 minutes in a hotel in the UK!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yeusalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good connections to the City, Cosmos rep, great, helpful friendly staff. Functional suites, TV, beds, balcony etc.
Hotel needs refurbishment and moderning of gym, wifi (to all of hotel), massage ?spa facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place is fine - does what it says on the tin. We booked a cheap easyjet break for some february half terrm sunshine and Girassol made us very welcome. We had a sea view balcony which did have a sea view, but that means you are on the main road which is a bit noisy. Waking up to the weather and the sunrise made it worth it for us but if you dont like early evening or morning car noise go for a side room. Two rooms cleaned well every day. We paid 1.50 euro extra a day for a kettle! Nice enough pool, grotty games room that the kids loved, very friendly and helpful reception staff who seemed happy at their jobs which is always nice. Good location not too far from Lido restaurants and twenty mins slow walk into town, or short bus or taxi. The airport bus goes by much cheaper than transfers. And madeira is lovely. Recommend the teleferico, funchal market, levada walks, prainha beach. And the lord of the rings steep steep walks up at the mountain tops. Not for the vertiginous. A good trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drlaurawatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews