We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Velha do Palheiro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Gardens(Funchal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto Santa Maria Hotel(Funchal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveler rating
391
97
30
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
97
30
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalheiro gardensthe main housecountry house hotelgolf wingdaily menuabove sea leveloutdoor poolexcellent spaset highminute drivecharming hoteloverlooking funchalperfect stayluxury hotelexcellent weekroom upgradepeace and quiet
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 529 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The service and friendliness was exceptional and the food of a quality that deserves wider recognition. The facilities on offer were all excellent with the pool and spa a real bonus. The only issue was ventilation in the rooms and their need for some refreshing. The wine list majoring on Portugese wines was an education and well priced. Overall 12 days that provided relaxation and comfort. Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: The garden rooms can be too warm as there is no cross ventilation although a fan was on offer. They could also seem a little dated but very comfortable. Maybe the main house is a better option.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonandDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Simon and DJ,
thanks for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your experience including our spa
facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

All good things about this beautiful place have already been said. So I just would like to confirm all of them from my personal experience. :) Celeste and her team are fantastic hosts and provide a classy stay. If a traditional 5* country golf hotel is what you are looking for this is paragon.

For my personal taste it almost felt a bit too traditional and stuck in a antiquated pattern of luxury; it really could loosen up a bit. A few small changes (e.g. cool new uniforms for the stuff, encouraging communication between fellow guests) could make it more informal and add an energetic zing in the air, that was missing a bit during our stay. This is why I would rate this place 4.5 out of 5 ...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marclerche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Marc,
Thanks for your great review. We have taken your comments on board and will consider again when it is time to review our uniforms. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.


“Classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 11 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I recently spent a "significant" Birthday Celebration at Casa Velha and I cannot thank all the staff
enough for their attentiveness and the way in which they looked after me and my friends. We all had a marvellous time and if you want to escape the "rat race" and relax there is no better place I can think of. The food and service were excellent and once you have visited you will want to return one day. A particular thank you to Sonja front of house for all her hard work and to Luis and his team for all their attention to detail in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Corner suites are delightful overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Nicholas,
Thanks for your excellent review which we have circulated to all of the team. I understand you had epic birthday celebrations which the team at Casa Velha were delighted to help with. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Lovely place in a truly magnificent location. However, there are a few minor niggles. The upgraded rooms definitely not worth the increased cost. Food at the hotel is really very very good. However, this is reflected in the price with no choice for less expensive or smaller options. Moreover, there is little else near by with the exception of the golf club which has very good food but close before 8 pm. The course is magnificent and a hotel/golf package is amuse for any golfers. The only downside of the golf is their reluctance to offer any real flexibility with their golf packages.

Room Tip: Don’t go for an upgrade.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank MikeChrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Mike,
Thank you very much for your review and your feedback. We are looking into your comments and seeing how we can improve our offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Casa Velha is an excellent place to stay for a most relaxing holiday and to be looked after by committed staff who are all interested in making your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. For me the Resturant is the best on the Island for quality and service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike-Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Mike,
Thanks for your excellent review. I will pass on your kind words to our chef and his team who will be thrilled at your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews