We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Velha do Palheiro
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Stowe,Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best of everything”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The setting, gardens,food, room all the best. Madeira is one of those special places on earth that is still very real. The pride and honesty of the people that live on the island is wonderful to experience. Casa Velha do Palheiro is the icing on the cake. Luis Emanuel is a class act. His crew is well versed and trained in their trade. Next time you're thinking Portugal just head south to Madeira for a true adventure.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54mainstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    81
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
52
298
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We found Casa Velha a very comfortable hotel with friendly and efficient staff. The food is very good, without being outstanding. The lounge is a light and very comfortable room and the new spa facility provides an alternative location should the weather be less than ideal. However, the outstanding feature is the location set between a very picturesque golf course and a wonderful garden

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Peter,
We are delighted that you found Palheiro Estate a great setting. We are also excited about our new spa which is a great addition to the facilities. This year we are celebrating our 20th year at Palheiro Golf and we have some great competitions that you may like to enter if you return before March 2014.
Jonathan





We found Casa Velha a very comfortable hotel with friendly and efficient staff. The food is very good, without being outstanding. The lounge is a light and very comfortable room and the new spa facility provides an alternative location should the weather be less than ideal. However, the outstanding feature is the location set between a very picturesque golf course and a wonderful garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This small and comfortable hotel with a spa, indoor and outdoor pools was a happy find. The staff are efficient and extremely helpful and the food was mostly very good. The gorgeous gardens were surrounded by a beautiful golf course with views out to the Atlantic, so just walking about the grounds gave plenty of exercise even for non-golfers. With the exception of one day the weather was not as warm as we had hoped (but in the UK it was snowing!) It was rather pricey but money well spent and we were very satisfied with our week's stay.

Room Tip: Aim for rooms facing the lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeNW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for your feed back and kind words about Casa Velha. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back one day.
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is in a very quiet area above Funchal and the rooms are very nicely decorated with
period furniture. The position against the golf course is superb and has a tea-room at the bottom of the wonderful garden. The breakfast and dinner were excellent and the extremely friendly staff just made for a perfect holiday. We will definitely be visiting again next January.

Room Tip: We were in the garden rooms and had french windows overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenfYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Located in the hills, 15 km and 500 m above Funchal, this is a haven of calm. A Relais et Chateau property, it was first built in 1804. Located on a wonderful golf course, you may never wish to leave. The rooms are wonderful, and the restaurant is excellent. We were treated to a special event with a guest chef - six courses with matched wines. The hotel has a van to take you into town (Funchal), but if you are adventurous, it pays to rent a small car. Lots of wonderful places to eat, and Funchal is a great place to poke around and walk.

Room Tip: Go for Rei Dom Carlos room if your budget is "flexible".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross-Siobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel in English tea-house style.
Very friendly and service-minded staff. Service impeccable.
Beautiful located in the hills, abt. 500 metres above sea level.
Fifteen minuts drive to Funchal.
Weather colder and often cloudy/misty when sunny in Funchal.
Great and easy access to challenging and well kept golf course.
Standard rooms dark with no terrace/balcony.
Breakfast seating no good. Stowed closely together like cattle.
Evening restaurant good, but vey expensive.
Almost equal quality food and identical wines available in
Funchal restaurants for less than half the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter O O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spend one week in this splendid location, everything was perfect. The place is so peaceful in beautiful gardens. Perfect dinner for 42 €, good Portuguese wines and a professional service. The golf course is hard to play the first time, but day after day it becomes very pleasant to play.

Room Tip: Standard room with shower in bad tub, upper class with separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierre_steels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,859 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
3.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#21 of 86 in Funchal
901 reviews
4.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#18 of 86 in Funchal
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velha do Palheiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velha do Palheiro

Property: Casa Velha do Palheiro
Address: Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#16 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Velha do Palheiro 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Velha do Palheiro is a graceful 5 star Madeira country house hotel with 37 luxurious rooms.The hotel is situated next to the famous Palheiro Gardens, originally created over 200 years ago. Hotel facilities include: Championship golf course, full spa facilities including indoor and outdoor heated pools as well as a variety of treatments, fishing boat for whale and dolphin watching and big game fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Velha do Palheiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Hotel Funchal
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing