We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Really lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Velha do Palheiro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Velha do Palheiro
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This small and comfortable hotel with a spa, indoor and outdoor pools was a happy find. The staff are efficient and extremely helpful and the food was mostly very good. The gorgeous gardens were surrounded by a beautiful golf course with views out to the Atlantic, so just walking about the grounds gave plenty of exercise even for non-golfers. With the exception of one day the weather was not as warm as we had hoped (but in the UK it was snowing!) It was rather pricey but money well spent and we were very satisfied with our week's stay.

Room Tip: Aim for rooms facing the lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeNW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for your feed back and kind words about Casa Velha. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back one day.
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    69
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
249
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is in a very quiet area above Funchal and the rooms are very nicely decorated with
period furniture. The position against the golf course is superb and has a tea-room at the bottom of the wonderful garden. The breakfast and dinner were excellent and the extremely friendly staff just made for a perfect holiday. We will definitely be visiting again next January.

Room Tip: We were in the garden rooms and had french windows overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenfYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Located in the hills, 15 km and 500 m above Funchal, this is a haven of calm. A Relais et Chateau property, it was first built in 1804. Located on a wonderful golf course, you may never wish to leave. The rooms are wonderful, and the restaurant is excellent. We were treated to a special event with a guest chef - six courses with matched wines. The hotel has a van to take you into town (Funchal), but if you are adventurous, it pays to rent a small car. Lots of wonderful places to eat, and Funchal is a great place to poke around and walk.

Room Tip: Go for Rei Dom Carlos room if your budget is "flexible".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross-Siobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel in English tea-house style.
Very friendly and service-minded staff. Service impeccable.
Beautiful located in the hills, abt. 500 metres above sea level.
Fifteen minuts drive to Funchal.
Weather colder and often cloudy/misty when sunny in Funchal.
Great and easy access to challenging and well kept golf course.
Standard rooms dark with no terrace/balcony.
Breakfast seating no good. Stowed closely together like cattle.
Evening restaurant good, but vey expensive.
Almost equal quality food and identical wines available in
Funchal restaurants for less than half the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter O O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spend one week in this splendid location, everything was perfect. The place is so peaceful in beautiful gardens. Perfect dinner for 42 €, good Portuguese wines and a professional service. The golf course is hard to play the first time, but day after day it becomes very pleasant to play.

Room Tip: Standard room with shower in bad tub, upper class with separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pierre_steels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We are returning guests, this time with my parents-in-law. It was for them a slecial occasion, because of their golden wedding and the Casa Velha staff made the whole stay perfect !
Food, Golf, organizing a rental car, special celebrations at the wedding day - all this was no problem at all and with Luis in the restaurant as our best friend after the first evening, all our wishes became true.

The New Year celebration was good as last time and the view from the clubhouse amazing as ever.

Thanks guys, we wil come back !

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Al_MaSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brecon Beacons
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Having had a fabulous holiday last year we returned to Casa Velha, which is something we rarely do as it usually turns out to be a disappointment. Fortunately this did not turn out to be the case.
Everything was up to the standard if not better than when we came last year (review 'paradise')
Although last year we received the warmest of welcomes and wonderful service, this year as returning guests the welcome was unbelievable. we arrived at about 11.00 am but were given access to the room, although understanably we had to wait about 10 minutes for the housekeeping to be finished, so we were shown to the library, where we were given drinks while we waited. Celeste, the General Manager of the hotel, made a point of coming in to the library and welcoming us back. All the reception and hotel staff that we had met last year all recognised us and made a point of saying welcome back. We were then shown to our rooms to find they had allocated us the same rooms as last year, a nice touch. The same happened
with our table in the restaurant, and in the Breakfast room. All the hotel and restaurant staff gave us our names whenever they saw us.
On our first visit to the clubhouse we were given the same warm welcome, even hugs from the girls in the pro shop. jonathon, the MD of the golf club made a point of finding us on the terrace and welcoming us back. Again the Srarters and course marshals made us welcome and would wave whwnever we saw them on the course.
As we said last year a fabulous golf couse and the food and service every bit as good if not better than last year.
This year we found the time to cisit the tropical gardens which can be accessed from the hotel, they are truly beautiful, and took in a visit to the Blandy wine lodge in Funchal, and learnt about the History of the Blandy family (the owners of Casa Velha and Palheiro Golf) in Madeira.
We were also lucky enough to be invited to a wine tasting in Funchal where over 80 suppliers from all over Portugal were giving free tastings of their wine. We will have to return as we didn't quite get round them all.
A fabulous holiday in a home from home. We will definately be returning.
The Porter Family

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
3.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
3.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
4.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velha do Palheiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velha do Palheiro

Property: Casa Velha do Palheiro
Address: Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#16 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Velha do Palheiro 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Velha do Palheiro is a graceful 5 star Madeira country house hotel with 37 luxurious rooms.The hotel is situated next to the famous Palheiro Gardens, originally created over 200 years ago. Hotel facilities include: Championship golf course, full spa facilities including indoor and outdoor heated pools as well as a variety of treatments, fishing boat for whale and dolphin watching and big game fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Velha do Palheiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Hotel Funchal
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing