We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Velha do Palheiro
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
brecon Beacons
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Anyone who doesn't think this hotel is anything but excellent should not go on holiday as they are going to be disappointed wherever they go.
From the moment we were greeted at the airport to the moment we left, everything was just wonderful. The hotel staff were very professional yet warm and friendly. The restaurant was wonderful as you would expect from a Relais and Chateaux hotel. We had a complementary meal on the first night, and having visited Madiera several times in the past decided that their was no point in eating anywhere else when probably the best restaurant on the island was on our doorstep. The menu changed every night, and their were complimentary pre starter and pre dessert courses. The presentation of the food was stunning, and the food was delicious and generous. The Maitre de, Luis and his staff we attentive informative and great fun. The dress code seems to have been relaxed since earlier reviews, and I think the reviewer with the 'stylish white canvass shoes' might have got away with it now.
The golf course is fabulous, with five different tees on every hole to suit all standards of golfer, some very challenging holes, which become more playable once you know your way around. Billy Casper, the twice US Open and US Masters champion was playing the course on one of the days we were playing.The hotel will take you to the clubhouse if you wish, but it is a pleasant stroll from the hotel and you can store your clubs in the clubhouse where they are cleaned for you after every round. The hotel will clean your shoes whenever you wish. The starters and the clubhouse staff recognised us after the first day, and had our clubs and buggy waiting for us when we arrived.
The catering at the clubhouse is managed by the hotel, and shares the hotel waiting staff, and the food is of a very high standard and reasonably priced.
Between playing golf, eating lunch at the clubhouse, relaxing in the spa and dining at Casa Velha in the evening, we had no need to leave the grounds of the estate.
A fabulous holiday we will definately be back.
I have just read through the review and think it looks a bit like an advert for the hotel, if anybody reading the review want's to contact me I would be more than happy to confirm the validity of the review.
John Porter

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johnbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    79
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
50
282
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The low lands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Quality in a relaxed homely atmosphere. Excellent and friendly personnel. Quiet, close to golf course, fine dining, and outstanding wellness and spa ficilities.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansBrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lintgen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

An excellent hotel if you like a relaxing and comfortable stay. Staff is not imposing at all, but are very helpful if required; good eye for detail and small additional items like fresh fruit every day and tasty espressos in your room definitely add to the feeling of comfort.
The restaurant is excellent, although if you like meat the focus on fish is a bit too strong and if senior staff is not around it seems to us that the level of service if dropping slightly( still very good though).
The very nice gardens and extensive compound are very inviting to some strolls.
The complimentary bus to Funchal is a nice add-on and defintely advisable.
The drawback for me is that the hotel (but this probably applies to most hotels) is not very smoker friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cdw064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Director at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thanks for your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. Regarding the smoking - we are at the mercy of the law regarding smoking areas but are pleased to say we have a smoking area in one of the public areas.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had never been to Madeira and so had no idea what to expect save a recommendation for this hotel. It is near perfect, on its hill above Funchal, with a lovely garden beside it. And they say (I don't play) the golf is excellent.
The main building is a charming 200 year old holiday lodge with two added bedroom blocks. We had a superior garden room; masses of space and a huge comfortable bed.. The staff are kind, courteous and efficient, and I say this as someone who is partialy disabled. They were expecting my wheelchair and had built two ramps to cover a few steps, and the hedge by the steps had been pulled back to make access easiuer. That's the standard of service. And the food justified its Michelin star. Our travel agents here were Classic Collections, who dealt with our unusual requirements as if they were normal. In Madeira Blandy Travel coped with our needs and problems very well indeed. And introduced us to an excellent taxi driver called Teresa. If you want a really quiet holiday in beautiful surroundings on a fascinating island this is where to go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband booked a suite in the hotel for a surprise birthday treat. We stayed for 7 days in August and had the most wonderful time. We swam every day, and the swimming pool was surprisingly under-used so was never crowded, and we also used the spa and massage facilities. The grounds are splendid, as is the golf course - neither of us play golf but we walked through the pathways to the club house for dinner on a couple of occasions. The food in both the hotel and the golf club was spectacular and we will certainly return. We ate outside in the hotel gardens on a couple of evenings, and on the patio overlooking Funchal in the golf club. We had a hire car for the week, but only went out on two days as it was lovely just walking around the gardens and grounds and relaxing by the pool.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the first floor with two small balconies overlooking the lawn at the back, with wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PolkadotSouthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moers
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is our 4th visit, and once again the staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and the service 1st class. The Spa and pool area are great, the dining fabulous and the golf being at your front door is a great challenge but fun. We'll definatley be returning, as Madeira is one of our favoutite places, as is Casa Velha. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

If 'bling' is your thing and you are looking for glitz and entertainment this hotel is not for you. However, if you recognise that understated elegance is the mark of real sophistication, head for this lovely hotel in the hills above Funchal. We stayed for 7 nights and used it as a base for exploring the island by hire car. The hotel is set in a beautiful estate and has a real country house feel. The only sound you'll hear on the terrace, whilst sipping your pre-dinner drink, is bird song. The charming staff are attentive without being overbearing. We had a 'superior' room, which was entirely adequate. The food in the restaurant is excellent with a 'specials' menu that changes daily. The pool area is large and secluded and we never felt crowded. It is a short walk through the scenic golf course to the clubhouse, which has stunning views from the terrace over Funchal and where a good lunch is served. The gardens adjacent to the hotel are lovely and it is possible to do a 'levada' walk from the village above the hotel. The hotel runs a complimentary shuttle bus to Funchal during the day. We ate in town on 3 evenings, and taxis cost about 15 euros each way, however the quality of the food in the hotel restaurant was hard to beat. The boat trip organised by the hotel was great fun and incorporated a lunch stop at a taverna-type restaurant that is inaccessible by road. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting relaxation, in peaceful surroundings, but with the option of Funchal close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the (newer) garden annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grogsblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
3.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
4.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velha do Palheiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velha do Palheiro

Property: Casa Velha do Palheiro
Address: Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#16 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Velha do Palheiro 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Velha do Palheiro is a graceful 5 star Madeira country house hotel with 37 luxurious rooms.The hotel is situated next to the famous Palheiro Gardens, originally created over 200 years ago. Hotel facilities include: Championship golf course, full spa facilities including indoor and outdoor heated pools as well as a variety of treatments, fishing boat for whale and dolphin watching and big game fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Velha do Palheiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Hotel Funchal
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing