We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed after our timeshare week was completed at The Residence, another Portobay hotel. I loved our room 262, it wasn't the largest but well thought out and the views were spectacular. It was great watching the cruise ships leave port at night all light up like Christmas trees.
The breakfast was okay but why oh why can't they give us a teapot instead of a jug of hot water. The Residence gives you one as does their Serra Golf Hotel. It would make breakfast so much more enjoyable and surely not too much trouble? It's the only bit of Britain I want on holiday with me!
The hotel is situated in the old town of Funchal very close to the sea front and when the work is completed it will be spectacular. The only downside we found were the seemingly homeless dogs running around but this is not the fault of the hotel.
The staff, like all Portobay Hotel employees are exceptional. It is a lovely hotel and we hope to return

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pet00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review we are glad to have lived up to the Porto Bay expectations that you already knew from our other hotels. We will consider your suggestion on the tea pots. Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed on a B&B basis for 7 nights. Located just in old town with about a 10 min walk into Funchal centre. Staff very nice and very helpful. We weren't keen on the location of our room but once I spoke with reception we were allocated another room which was fab overlooking the sea and great for watching the cruise ships coming and going. Breakfast was very good all you could want and eat. Didn't eat any other meals in the hotel but looked really nice. Plenty of restaurants around to choose from literally just outside of the hotel complex.

We were aged 48 and 53 so were probably the youngest couple to stay which was not a problem for us, although I do have to add that the more senior guests to struggle with closing doors quitely and seemed to love dragging chairs on the balcony at 7am in the morning!

Facilities were quite good. Outside pool too cold to use though but the indoor was quite good although looking tired now and in need of an overhaul. There is a separate charge to use the sauna 4 euros per person which for a 4 star hotel you would expect to be free of charge. Happy hour in the Captains bar was a nice touch to give you 50% off between 6 - 7 every evening.

Overall nothing to complain about and would return again.

Room Tip: We paid for sea view and the first room we had was not a very good view but once I told reception we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sal5166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience at TripAdvisor, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and have carefully read your suggestions. I would recommend a visit to our restaurant on your next visit as I am convinced that you will enjoy it.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel (last time was 2 years ago) and - again - the room, service and breakfasts were all you could hope they would be. The Porto Bay group of hotels operate a loyalty scheme that gives you a card entitling you to discounts on future visits. This made it cheaper for us to book flights and accommodation separately than to book the whole thing on a package, as we had done previously. There is still a lot of development work being done on the front to reinforce sea walls and create a new dock for the cruise ships so we missed being able to walk directly from the hotel along the promenade to the harbour. Once this is finished it will be another advantage to staying in what appears to be the only hotel directly on the promenade and next to the old town with its good restaurants and interesting painted doorways.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Killermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

we were happy t have you for a second visit and hope that a third one won't take long. The works in the sea front are moving on and away from the hotel. We hope that they will be don on your next visit.

Best Regards.

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel is fantastic. Overall the standard of hotels in Madeira is very high and others can match this one for quality. However the Porto Santa Maria wins over them all for the following reasons:-
1. This hotel has the best location in Funchal, right on the sea front and in the middle of the old town surrounded by excellent restaurants.
2. My wife and I liked the kitchenette. You would't really call the rooms apartments, but they do have a kettle, which most hotels in Funchal don't, two electric rings and a decent sized fridge. Since we like to sit on the balcony in the afternoons with a good book and a glass of wine it is so much better to have a full sized empty fridge, in which you can put wine, soft drinks and water in without having to remove the entire contents of a mini bar.
3. Whilst we rarely watch TV on holiday it was still nice to have BBC1,2 & ITV in your room, which was a first for us on holiday.
These three things really make this hotel stand out, which is not to say that all the other things are first rate as well such as the helpfulness of the staff, quality of the breakfast and all the facilities offered by the hotel.
We paid extra for a sea view and had a room on the ground floor. This came with small terrace with a gate which meant you could go straight to the pool area without having to go through the hotel. We preferred this although some people may prefer to have a room on a higher floor with more privacy and a better view.
We will be going back to this hotel again which is something that we very rarely do.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view and go for either a ground floor with direct access to the pool area or a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank squarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will enjoy your next visit although I must inform you that we don't have BBC1, 2 and ITV anymore because those channels have stopped their international broadcasting. If they ever do broadcast them again we will of course do our best to offer them to our guests.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is perfect for anyone looking to explore Funchal.

It is clean, the staff are friendly, the manager is welcoming, the food is brilliant - well worth a stay.

We had previously stayed at the Cliff Bay, and chose to locate more in the centre of town this time, and whereas it was different, it was a great hotel nevertheless.

We had a great time at the Porto Santa Maria, and will definitely consider it again if we head back to Madeira again.

I would like to thank all the staff at the hotel for making our stay most welcoming, in the true Porto Bay style!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your kind review, makes us all feel happy and proud. I will pass your review to the other members of the team as I am sure they too will be happy to read it. See you soon

Best Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. We wanted to be close to a range of restaurants and we certainly were. Probably thirty within three hundred metres from the front door.

The hotel facilities were first class with an excellent indoor pool (needed for winter) and attractive outdoor pool area. Bar and food service on the terrace were great. There was entertainment in the bar every evening.

The hotel served an excellent self-service buffet breakfast.

We thoroughly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter36mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for reviewing Porto Santa Maria on TripAdvisor, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the nice pictures of the hotel room view.

Best Regards

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from this wonderful hotel.The location is perfect right next to the 'old town'.The hotel is spotless,the food varied and tasty,the staff warm and welcoming.Our room was light and airy and faced the marina so that we had a wonderful view of the cruise ship scoming and going.There is music in the bar every night,nothing heavy so if you want you can still talk to each other.This is our first time in Madeira but we shall be coming back and the 'Porto Santa Maria will certainly be our base.Madeira is a beautiful Island every where very clean.

Room Tip: A sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mallows10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,106 reviews
2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
966 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $177 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing