We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very relaxing hotel and no children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very relaxing hotel and no children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel and it's still excellent. Perfectly placed in the middle of the old town of Funchal. Shops and restaurants on the doorstep and it was wine week whilst we were there. Wine samples for 1 euro and great entertainment, all for free. The building work along the sea front is essential and although unsightly is bearable and the 10 euros per person per day given to every guest by the hotel is a wonderful gesture. If the noise is too much just plug in the ipod and you won't hear it. The staff at this hotel are lovely. Everyone has a smile and a warm welcome for you. The rooms are excellent with the very useful kitchenette. We only had the breakfast in the restaurant and this was more than satisfying with plenty of coffee available (and tea). Would recommend this hotel every time but if it's your first visit to Madeira perhaps wait until later next year when the work should be finished along the coast.

Room Tip: If you want to see the cruise ships book a sea-view room and email the hotel to let them know you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConcordeManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    310
    46
    11
    9
See reviews for
94
1,154
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this superb hotel and as my title indicateds it can't be faulted. We had a studio room on the ground floor with a garden view, #45, that was spacious, clean and thoughtfully equipped with top quality furnishings and equipment. WI-FI was available only in the reception and bar, but was being installed in each room as I write.

Every member of the staff knew exactly what their job was and did it cheerfully and professionally. The work to improve the Funchal sea defences right at the front of the hotel was under way, and will be for a further 12 months, but we didn't find it at all intrusive. In fact I quite enjoyed walking through the hotel gate onto the promenade and watching the work, some big boys toys in use. The hotel currently compensates each guest at 10€ per day that is set against your final account - very fair I thought. I would recommend the Gourmet Night, at 27€ pp. it's worth every penny - we really enjoyed the meal.

This is a hotel that we would recommend without question and we will certainly be repeat guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dugb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Porto Santa Maria hotel for two weeks from the 26 August and this was our eighth visit to this hotel. Although there ids major works taking place opposite the hotel and there was some noise from time to time it did not spoil or mar our holiday and the hotel were generous with the compensation package. The staff at the hotel are brilliant and nothing is too much trouble, they are a credit to the Hotel Manager and to the Porto group. The food at breakfast is excellent and the evening is also very varied with different regions each evening. The bar staff are helpful and always happy and will have a joke with you. All in all the hotel is a good Four Star. We are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We will give the hotel 10 out of 10 - it deserves 11. Everything about the place helped make our holiday a very memorable time. The location was ideal, the food was excellent but most of all, the staff were incredibly polite, helpful and professional. We can single out Lena and Maria for special mention but it is impossible to remember all other names but they were all superb.
Yes there was building work going on which we were warned about in advance but it did not affect us at all and the compensation offer the hotel gave was more than adequate and very much appreciated. It certainly helped when settling our bar bill on departure!!
Thanks to everyone concerned - we will return.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room which helped diminish the harbour work noise. Next time it will be a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

just returned from a week at this hotel and cannot really find any fault at all, the location was great just a stones throw from bars and restaurants in the old town, the staff were all friendly and helpful, the food good and the rooms were very clean and comfy, there was entertainment on every night and the roof terrace was perfect especially at night when all the town was lit up in front us, we didnt really find the sea defence building work any bother although the sea front itself wasn 't very pretty. all in all we had a great holiday on this beautiful island but you must get out and see all of it not just stay in the hotel sunbathing

Room Tip: upgrade to a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Have just spent a week at this fantastic hotel

The location is perfect, right on the coast and in the heart of the old town, perfect for the miriad of local restaurants on it's doorstep. Unfortunately there are major building works right along the seafront but we were made aware of this prior to departure and a generous compensation was applied to our bill.

The staff were all exceptionally polite and helpful, especially Lena who was a fantastic host all week and couldn’t do enough to make sure our stay was perfect.

The photos online are a true reflection of the hotel – the roof terrace really is an exceptional space to sit and relax and watch the world go by.
It would appear that the management are constantly trying to improve based on customer feedback – as we left, the old kids pool (The hotel is now adult only) was in the process of being converted into an additional Jacuzzi and Wi-Fi was being installed into the bedrooms (Currently only available in reception / bar area). The only minor criticism that we could make was on the aesthetics of the pools which are a concrete type finish and this made them look somewhat murky. We can testify that they are in fact very clean and its an optical illusion…perhaps painting them blue would be an easy solution!

In all, we really enjoyed our stay and hope to return next year

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank afterjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Yes there are building works taking place right outside the front of the hotel, but you do switch off from any noise almost immediately as this hotel gives a sense of calm as soon as you walk through the front door.
Guests staying at the hotel are respectful of others and remove towels when leaving their sun bed therefore there is no scramble for sun beds which are freely available with plenty of umbrellas.
Breakfasts are lovely with plenty of choice from cooked options to fruit, the choice of sitting inside or outside for eating is also an option.
Nothing seems to be any problem for the staff who work very hard to ensure their guests are looked after.
Having the option to use the courtesy bus to travel to the other hotels in the group in the 'hotel zone' in Funchal was good and we did travel there on a couple of occasions to visit and use the facilities in the other porto bay hotels, although we were very glad we chose the Porto Santo Mare hotel overall.
We booked for the barbecue evening at the hotel which was very good value for money with plenty of choice available.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isobelhrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
2.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Property: Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing