We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We needed a week away to relax and you can certainly do it here in some style. There is some remedial work going on along the shore at the front of the hotel which we were warned about before we went but apart from a bit if noise it was fine it wasnt dusty or dirty. It is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in and I've stayed in some great hotels. Even outside you will never see a dead leaf lying around! The staff are all lovely and extremely courteous. The bed was more comfortable than mine at home! The location is amazing amongst lots of local eateries and bars which serve some lovely local food (especially the Flambed prawn curry at Le Jardin.

Room Tip: Don't be swayed by the sea view rooms - the ones at the side with garden view are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vivitoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    335
    50
    13
    9
See reviews for
105
1,274
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The best hotel we have ever stayed in, service, ambience and food all excellent. God willing we will return next year. We even found the work on the sea front interesting rather than annoying and the 10 euros compensation per day certainly helped with the food and the bar bill. Great holiday, we will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Do not stay at this hotel stay at Cliff Bay but went in on several occasions.Staff friendly in a good location in the old town near cable car a lot of building work going on sea front but when i was in did not seem to cause too much trouble.Nice to pop in for a coffee or snack facilities seem good cant speak for rooms but on al accounts seem fine.On one of my visits meet Lena who looks after guest affairs very nice and helpful. This hotel is i would say my second favourite after The Cliff Bay and a credit to the Porto Bay Chain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bobbarclay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Yes, the reviews about this hotel are right. I cannot find serious fault - perhaps the reception staff could be more customer-friendly (it is the hospitality industry after all) otherwise excellent. Evening entertainment was ok, with one singer, Cristina Barbosa, very memorable for a very professional performance.
Government building work along the promenade, including right outside the hotel, will carry on until October 2014. It wasn't too noisy but the hotel credited accounts with €20 per person per night. Considering this is not their fault, it is a most fair gesture. But the work prevents a promenade walk and you have to walk around corrugated fences and temporary bridges - pity really.
The weather was poor ( or was our expectation of sunny days in the second week of June, unrealistic) We had one sunny day in 7 days, and on departure day, rain and cloud closed the airport which clearly cannot handle the numbers caused by this eventuality.
Very surprised that the shops didn't stay open in evenings - bearing in mind their economic situation and arrival of cruise ships.
We had a very chilled-out holiday but found it best suited to serious walkers who absolutely love it and defend it vigorously. If you're not a walker, don't bother. If you are, stay at Santa Maria. It's very good but doesn't compensate for the downsides of the island.

Room Tip: Normally I'd say get a sea view but the current building the sea defences means you should do th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billdobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Despite the seafront position, the hotel is very much in an urban setting. It has the feel and fittings of a business hotel - think Holiday Inn - and although comfortable, it just lacks that wow factor. The outside pool area is fairly cramped, uninspiring and not somewhere you would want to spend a two-week holiday. This hotel would be the ideal base for a short break of 3-4 nights to explore Funchal and have an occasional dip in the spa pool. Hotel seems very popular with retired guests - lots of repeat visitors so clearly it depends what you want from your stay. To be fair, I think we chose a good hotel that just wasn't to our taste. The food here is very good indeed, really good buffets. The hotel do a 2 and 3 night restaurant package at a discount for residents if you did not book half board. The roof terrace is a great feature, especially after dark, but does not have a bar - you need to call down to the main bar for drinks, which rather spoils the idea. If you would prefer a relaxing resort hotel that is a bit more lively / interesting on site, then choose the others offered by this chain - Porto Mare or Cliff Bay. Both are excellent and there is a regular free shuttle to both of them. They also seem to get better weather - if it is cloudy over the main town, try heading west.

Room Tip: Avoid west side rooms overlooking the street / park / square unless you enjoy watching noisy card pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

What more can I say that hasn't already been said.....

Fabulous hotel, great location, wonderful staff, only went B & B but breakfast did not disappoint, although,we used some of our allowance for the BBQ on Saturday night, which was very good, too much food to eat!!

The "noise" didn't bother us at all, yes for a few minutes at a time is could be loud but it didn't last, although we didn't spend many full days in the hotel, but on the days we did, the noise wasn't all that bad, I suppose you could argue that the cranes etc weren't all that pretty, but there is plenty of sea to look at. My advise would be just go and enjoy your holiday and don't focus on the negative comments, everyone's perception of "noise" is different.

I have rated this hotel as exellent, which it was for us, the only criticism I can find, and again this is purely a personal thing, is that I wish they had WiFi thoughout the hotel and not just the reception and bar area, as that would have been a bonus for me.

Room Tip: worth paying the extra for sea view, although ours was technically described as "side sea View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodosdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The location of this hotel is superb. Right on the streets of the old town, with the cable car, buses and taxis so close by. Lovely cafes and restaurants so close too.

When we arrived, our room was not ready so we were given a free lunch with drinks, including wine.

The staff here are marvellous, especially Lina who is front of house in the restaurant. She was always there to show us to a table. She is a real asset to the hotel and really seems to care about the visitors. The food was very good, especially the Gourmet taster evening. We had 140 Euros to spend because oif the building work, so used it on food and drink in the hotel. Fab.

I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and will certainly be returning, probably when the building work is finished.

Room Tip: Sea views will be worth having when the building is finished. Even now, it's interesting to wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy499613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Property: Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing