We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location is the key” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Altrincham, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Location is the key”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

So much has already been written about the qualities of this hotel and I see no reason to disagree. For us however it was the location right in old town that made it so special. Before choosing this hotel we had looked at descriptions of other hotels mainly situated up on the hill beyond the harbour and the Santa Caterina Gardens. They looked very nice but they appeared to be surrounded by other hotels, rather than a "real" town. Furthermore they seemed to require a long walk or a short bus ride before you were properly in Funchal old town.
If you enjoy exploring the place you are visiting and want to do it independently by cable car, bus, boat or on foot, then the Porto Santa Maria is ideal. The cable car to Monte is two minutes away; one of the main bus terminals is only a little further; the lovely old town with its wide selection of restaurants is literally on the doorstep.
The hotel's allowance of 10 euros per person per day to compensate for the inconvenience of the construction work is very generous. We dined in the hotel two evenings and the allowance completely covered it.
At present, relaxing poolside in the hotel grounds during the daytime will have the background noise of some pretty serious construction work, but if, like us, you leave the hotel after breakfast and don't return until early evening, then the Hotel Porto Santa Maria is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Some sea view rooms are just that - sea. A sea view including the harbour allows you to watch the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    342
    50
    13
    10
See reviews for
108
1,294
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

In January 2013 we booked a weeks holiday to begin on the 6th May 2013 at the Porto Santa Maria Hotel Funchal this was to coincide with the Flower Festival, confirmation of the booking was received also in January,we normally take a wheelchair for my wife to use when walking long distances but thought it not necessary on this trip due to the splendid location of this hotel.The day arrived, flight to Madeira,taxi to the hotel, to be greeted by the news there is no room for you, the hotel has been overbooked,total disappointment to say the least,we protested with many questions the room was booked five months ago and confirmation received, but all to no avail,feeling tired, and sorry for the Thomas Cook rep.who had to break the news to us we went back to the taxi to be driven well over a mile to the Cliff Bay Hotel an excellent hotel but totally in the wrong location for our needs,during our stay we met four other couples having been transferred for the same reason.We would certainly return to Madeira but would not trust the Porto Santa Maria Hotel with the booking.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have now stayed at this hotel on three occasions and have found it uniformly efficient and friendly. I only withhold the fifth "star" because of the work being carried out on the waterfront at present occasioning a considerable amount of noise, though we were compensated for this with a significant discount. Having booked a "junior suite" we were "upgraded" to a full suite - a most welcome gesture!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FluterCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

On arrival we were given a free upgrade on our room, We were also informed of construction work taking place on the sea front. We had not been fully informed about this from Thomas Cook. However we were offered 10 Euros per person per day for the duration of our stay and to be spent in the hotel. If I’m honest whilst the noise was audible it did not disturb us that much and the money more than made up for the inconvenience.
We were given room 140, and found it more than adequate, it had a small kitchenette with fridge, kettle etc. The blue towels in your room are the pool towels and they are replaced by the cleaners whenever you need. The room was very clean, and kept clean throughout our stay. Nice and comfy beds, good shower, bathrobes also supplied. TV was good for us Brits, BBC 1, BBC 2 and ITV.
Happy hour with half price cocktails 6pm to 7pm, the best cocktails we have had for a while, on the odd night the staff seemed to be a bit short on numbers which resulted in a slow service.
We only stayed bed and breakfast and was glad we made that choice only because of the fantastic choice of restaurants and bars all within 10 mins walk. I would recommend the A. Muralha, right outside the hotel. Also worth taking a right turn out the door and after a 10 min walk, you will find the “RISO” a rice based restaurant, we had a lovely meal there. All reasonably priced, and large portions. You must try the local fish "Scabbard" and served with fried banna strange mixture but it works well. We did think that evening meal at the hotel was a bit pricey at 27 Euros per person! Can’t comment on the food as we did not eat in the hotel other than at breakfast, which was lovely, a wide range of food available, all tastes catered for, with champagne also available every morning. Poolside bar staff all very good, although we did think lunch was a bit expensive, but very good.
Outside pool was freezing!!!not heated, didn’t see anyone in it at all! There is an indoor pool that is heated, and has a small section that you can swim outside. This is the one I used.
Would defiantly recommend this hotel for the excellent service and location. We will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank msh711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

After much deliberation, we decided this hotel would be suitable and we booked a junior suite. I can highly recommend this. We were on the first floor with a large lounge, self catering kitchen, well appointed bathroom, huge bed and nice balcony overlooking the pool and sea. One side of our suite overlooked the same area as the 'garden view' rooms, which is where local people seem to gather and chat during the day. I did not have any issues with noise or drinking from this area at any time. The general location of this hotel is great, with a supermarket a short walk away, as well as the Marina, cable car and lots of places to eat. Our room was made up as twin when we arrived but a quick chat with reception had this rectified straight away. Due to the time of year the outside pool was a bit cold, but the inside pool was lovely for a swim. There is a gym but its not the most inspirational location to spend your time. The seafront works are messy and noisy, but don't happen on Sundays. They are also very interesting to watch! The 10 euro per person compensation from the hotel goes a long way with their reasonable prices, especially if you use it during happy hour (50% off during 6pm-7pm). This can also be used at their other hotels. Their no children policy lends a relaxed vibe to the hotel. Breakfast is amazing with all sorts of choices from pastries, to fruit and cheese, breads, cooked items and cereal (as well as sparkling wine!) and they never seem to run out of anything no matter how popular it is. The reception staff are really helpful with making tour bookings as well, or any additional queries you have. So pleased that we chose to stay here.

Room Tip: Despite the seafront works, the sea view is lovely and go for a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGG
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have just spent a week at this charming hotel. It was our second visit and the hotel had
not changed from our last visit when we found it to be special. Other aspects of the holiday
did disappoint; the weather was dry but dreary and the major works on the seafront of
Funchal have detracted from the overall charm of the town. Having said that, the works have
to be done in order to avoid another disaster and the hotel cannot be blamed for the weather.
The hotel has graciously given 10 euros person per day to compensate for the work
being carried out in front of the hotel. We were not affected in anyway (except visually)
by the work - it does not start too early and the noise not excessive. If you wish to visit Madeira
and want a really nice, well sited, hotel, the Porto Santa Maria is, as far as my Wife and I
are concerned, the place to stay.
Previousy, we have visited Madeira in Early October and have had excellent weather, however,
although the weather was not so nice, we had the chance to see the wonderful jacaranda trees
in full bloom and this certainly went someway to compensating for the less good weather experienced in early May. All visitors must visit the Monte Palace gardens, reached via the
spectacular cable car from Funchal Old Town - voted,we understand, the thirteenth most
beautiful garden in the World. From Monte you can take the famous ride down towards Funchal
on the wicker sleds - good fun but quite expensive. A 'Lavada' walk is to be recommended
when you can have spectacular views while on a gentle gradient walk.
We find the food available in Madeira, not surprisingly,when you think for how many years
British people have been visiting this lovely Island, to be very much to our taste.
The Hotel Porto Santa Maria, whilst offering excellent food itself, is perfectly sited for the
numerous restaurants found in the 'Old Town' area.
We will certainly return again to this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLIVE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This Hotel is superbly placed for the old town of Funchal. It overlooks the harbour and you are able to see all the cruise ships coming in. The unfortunate thing this year is the noise of the waterfront works. This starts early and finishes late, rather spoiling the otherwise good holiday. I will use this hotel again but will check the all the waterfront work is finished.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lester R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#10 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Property: Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing