We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

A 4 star rated hotel with 5 star quality. Can't rate this hotel highly enough - we have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the last 6/7 years and have always found all the staff - reception, restaurant, bar, housekeeping, pool, maintenance, gardening, etc - to be extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. They always greet you with a smile and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is not in the Lido tourist area but is in Funchal itself close to the cable car, bus terminals, market, numerous restaurants and 10 mins walk from the marina. It is just off the promenade walk which is flat so there are no hills like at the Lido etc just small, gentle slopes enabling you to easily get out and about into town. Despite there being 'works' ongoing in front of the hotel the noise etc was not disruptive, in fact it was quite entertaining watching what was happening and the progress being made. It is also in a great location to see the cruise liners arriving/leaving although it sometimes feels like they are going to join you in the hotel they are that close! We have now been for all the major events - Xmas & New Year, Flower Festival and Carnival - and we'll be back again in October. The hotel does have a downside - the side rooms overlooking the park and cable car station do not have a view and are dark due to large, high trees and the park area can be noisy in the late evening/night.

Room Tip: Front facing sea views are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

it is always a pleasure for all the Porto Santa Maria Team to read reviews like yours, it makes us very happy to know that our repeat guests still enjoy our hotel. We will be waiting for your next visit in sunny October.

Best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    329
    47
    11
    9
See reviews for
101
1,242
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent attentive staff. Would suggest paying extra for a sea view room as the garden view is really park view and rather noisy, especially from the bottle bank. The local restaurants throw away their empties every night at closing time. A la carte menu very good. Buffet not so good but breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnyboy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review on Porto Santa Maria Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that on your next visit you will try out our Gourmet dinner menu also. See you soon.

Best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everett, wa, usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Feb 8 thru 15 2013. The hotel was excellent, the room was always clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They are all bi-lingual and eager to please and are genuinely concerned for your well being. We were a little disappointed at the construction going on on the seafront promenade but we'll survive. The breakfast buffet was fabulous with over 150 items to choose from including champagne. Lena, the greeter and director for seating was the highlight of our every morning with her warm greeting and outgoing personality. The hotel is Adults only. What a treat, no yelling screaming kids. What a treat but then I repeat myself. We are Americans and we were an oddity due to the very small demographic of Americans who visit Madeira. The no. 1 tourist group is Brits so as soon as we spoke they asked where we were from. We had fascinating conversations with them and enjoyed them very much. The heated indoor pool and jacuzzi were a great way to relax after a full day of walking about and the Hotel is situated in the heart of old town, the most colorful and intriguing part of Funchal. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and my 70th birthday and the bar had live music every night for dancing which we took full advantage of. We look forward to our next visit and we'll for sure stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: assk for an ocean view room facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your review of our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that Madeira's good name is shared in the US. We hope to have your visit again soon.

Best regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and my brother had the same week off so decided to book this hotel due to catching the last of the carnaval. When arriving at the hotel we were greeted with a great reception staff who advised about the disruption fee and gave us our keys and we were on our way. We were in a side room overlooking the park so at 11pm and 6.30am you get the local restaurants recycling their bottles in the bins below but other than that if you lean over the balcony you have a great view of Monte. The hotel itself was nice and well presented and the staff were nothing but excellent. Its a shame due to myself being 28 and my brother being 24 the looks we got most nights around the hotel by guests. This hotel is in a good location at the front near the old town beside the cable car and next to the bus station so you pretty much have full access to the whole of Madeira right on your doorstep. The hotel also has a jacuzzi and heated indoor pool and also a nice little gym, and a sauna (at a charge of €4 an hour). We also had breakfast at this hotel and the buffet style choice of food was excellent. Overall this is a nice hotel with a central location and excellent staff although I'll leave it another 30 years before I return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barkey1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,

thank your for your review on our hotel and hope that you enjoyed the carnival festivities in Madeira. We hope that you do visit us again before thirty years have passed.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

On arrival a well presented hotel, however room allocated was side of hotel overlooking public park and as this was carnival week became a disaster, drums beating all night and noise and smell very bad, after first night we decided to request a move, the hotel staff were more than helpful and immediately got us transferred to a sister hotel(very much quieter and obviously an upgrade) Be warned do not accept side view rooms overlooking public park with a balcony which has no view due to large tree immediately outside making it impossible to sit out on.

Room Tip: As above opt for front sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davros-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy the room that you had booked due to the Carnival festivities in the island, unfortunately it is something that is not under our control at the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays in another hotel of the Porto Bay Group.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My review of a year ago said it all about this very attractive hotel.
I would like to re-iterate the comments I made then, and to say that I am delighted that they strive to maintain these high standards

Room Tip: It's really worth taking a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for another review of Porto Santa Maria, we hope we keep up the standards and quality on your seventh visit.

Best Regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Were do I start. Just returned from Madeira Porto Bay resorts.This hotel exceeded our expectations of a package hotel. This was a special birthday for my husband ( joining the OAP brigade) much to his disgust. We have not been on a package holiday for many years as we have timeshare. We were a little unsure as we were told of the building work that is currently taking place outside the hotel. No problem at all, it was fasinating to watch and the slight noise from the wagons was not an issue. The hotel kindly gave all guests a generous incentive voucher to use in the hotel which we thought was a very kind gesture as this was 20 euros per couple per day. The rooms were spacious, fully equiped even mini kitchen if you wanted a snack, excellent view over the port (well worth paying extra for a sea view room) to see the liners docking . Beds too die for! Matress topers and soft pillows, no lumpy hard beds in Santa Maria.Maid service every day nothing too much trouble.
The food was fantastic, we had half board, plenty of choice the staff were lovely, happy hour in the captains bar every night, what more can you ask for.
The spa pool was great, never seen one so big in a hotel, everything was spotless.
We enjoyed Madeira very much plenty to see although all the flowers were not in bloom yet, would go later in the year next time.
Would we go again yes indeed. Would we go back to Santa Maria most definately.
We have already recommend this hotel to friends and family
Excellent keep doing what your doing!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your first time experience of the Porto Santa Maria Hotel, it makes us all that are part of this team very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us while celebrating your husband's birthday and we hope that it won't take long before your next visit.

Best regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Property: Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing