We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful reunion at Hotel Porto Santa Maria in Maderia.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have just returned from a Xmas/New Year cruise, which stopped at Maderia (it felt like coming home). Having stayed last year at the above wonderful hotel, we felt we just had to go and say hello to the wonderful receptionist Maria. As we walked in, were greeted with her amazing smile, hugs and kisses all round. The hotel was just as perfect as last year. She took us to to 3rd floor, where they have a new section outside for sunbathing/relaxing, sunloungers, surrounded by artistic stone/boulders. , very impressive, and the views were to die for,, with the ships in the harbour, and all the scenery that Maderia has to offer. It was so sad to say goodbye, but we shall be back hopefully, staying again at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a shame you visit was such quick visit but we will be here waiting for a proper visit to enjoy our hotel and our harbor terrace on the 3rd floor.

Regards,


André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
There are newer reviews for Porto Santa Maria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,183 - 1,189 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had perfect pre christmas break . Lovely food beautiful room and really taken care of, fruit and water in room everyday.. sunshine too , and the Christmas lights and festivities were great . They know how to celebrate over there. There was some building work on the beach , but it didnt cause too much of a problem, and the hotel compensated with a small discount. hopefully we can return for firework and celebrations next New Year..

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the park/garden not as nice bit noisy.we changed from there to lower inside g...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you nice review of our Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas. I must say that New Year's Eve up at the harbour Terrace was, as usual, amazing and we hope that you have the opportunity of watching it with us next year.

Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our first visit to Madeira and were very fortunate to be staying at the "Porto Santa Maria Hotel"
My partner thought everything was perfect from checking in through to checking out. Our room was beautiful and overlooked the hotel gardens, the buffet breakfast was amazing and one was truly spoilt for choice.
The management and staff at all levels were very helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed both pre and post dinner drinks in The Captains Bar.
We would love to visit again and will certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PeterandJackie639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review, we are glad that we were able to provide you with a nice holiday experience. I will pass your review to the team specially our Captain's bar team since I know they will enjoy reading it. See you soon.

Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a 'typical' good quality hotel with excellent food, nice rooms and very good service in the restaurants. The facilities are good, and the indoor pool has a small indoor/outdoor swimming area which is lovely to enjoy after dark with the water still very warm.

The location of the hotel is also excellent, with Funchal centre, the many restaurants of the old-town, and the cable-car within easy walking distance.

Overall this was a very good stay. Why no 'excellent' rating? Simply that its size makes it a little impersonal........nothing more than that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Golfingtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank your for your time reviewing our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your overall experience. I am sorry that you felt that you had an impersonal experience. We try to make each and every guest personally welcome to our hotel. We have in our company another hotel next to the golf course called Porto Bay Serra Golf that has 22 rooms that might also be a good option if you prefer smaller hotels. We hope to see you again at Porto Santa Maria.

Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have just returned from our first ever visit to Madeira ,staying at the Porto Santa Maria,wow,the hotel,hotel staff & people generally are fantastic.
The hotel far exceded our expectations & having a holiday rep handy nearly all the time was wonderful as for the last 18 years we have used time share,looking back that was a waste of time & money , we had a more relaxed holiday in superior surroundings for less money.
They have got work on the sea defences out side the hotel but as we were out & about most of the time the noise never bothered us,(highly recommend the Jeep Safari to the Sunday market if you are adventurous).
Want to get back as soon as possible to see more of the place,the added bonus was ,there were no children under 16 around.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the park,not to every ones taste but you could watch the world go by &...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for you nice review! We are glad when we are able to cause a good first impression and will be here waiting for your next visit to Madeira.

Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

So pleased we chose this hotel. Brilliant location in the old town. Excellent staff, nothing too much trouble. Bar tenders happy and cheerful. Live music in the bar area each evening. Good size room, spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds, slight problem with patio door dealt with immediately. Kitchen area with fridge, sink, 2 hotplates, china, cutlery glasses etc. but we only made cups of tea. Wonderful buffet breakfast from 7.30 to 10.30 which could be eaten in the dining room or outside on the patio area. Excellent basement indoor pool, jacuzzi and beauty therapy. Outside pool, loungers, seating etc.

We chose to eat out in the evening - lots of great little restaurants nearby. Close to the cable car to Monte and the two bus stations, the Market and main shopping area of Funchal. We walked across the front to the western end of Funchal and went into the Porto Mare, The Residence, Reids and several others and came to the conclusion that if you spend your time out and about seeing as much of Madeira as you can, then Porto Santa Maria is definitely the best choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank seelie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Porto Santa Maria experience with others, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Maybe on your next visit we can tempt you with the our restaurants' specialties for your evening meal.

Regards,

André Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We chose Madeira as a venue for our honeymoon. We were looking for quiet, peaceful luxury and preferably with no kids (we have 5 between us so....) and needed to fly from Glasgow. November options are limited but the Porto Santa Maria looked great in the brochure.
On arriving at the hotel we were blown away. It is right next to the old town, set on the sea front and is just ideal for some top rate R n R. The brochure doesn't do it justice!!
The service is amazing and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. As it was our honeymoon the room was upgraded to a suite - stunning!!
The only down side was the blandness of the musical entertainment but then again it was ok as background music to the large range of cocktails available.
Great place, excellent food - breakfast buffet selection was brilliant and the gourmet night was excellent. We'll defo be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,934 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,108 reviews
2.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
839 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $162 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing