We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Another Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We had our fifth holiday in this fantastic hotel at new year time. The whole place was magical with decorations. The staff are so friendly, its the same staff we see each time so this says a lot about the management of this hotel. The usual high standard of rooms and food were on offer. We really enjoyed the Gala dinner and later drinks and fireworks on the roof terrace. We will be back for a summer holiday and looking forward to that very much.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    336
    50
    13
    9
See reviews for
107
1,276
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

First of all, I personally don't understand why they didn't rate it as a 5 star hotel? As it is better than a lot of 5 stars I've ever stayed in. Excellent location in Funchal, exactly in the turistic center of the old city, near all the restaurants, bars. All the rooms are facing the ocean, some with front view, other ones with side view. The staff is excellent, they help you with any request you might have.
Excellent breakfast, plenty of choices, champagne, a lot of fresh fruits. The swimmingpool area looks wonderful, it's an interesting exotic garden with a lot of flowers and all kind of exotic trees. The view from the balcony, especially at sunrise, worth a lot!
They also provide taxi service to the airport and it's cheaper than the usual taxi fare.
There are a lot of restaurants near the hotel and this area is now much more populated than the other side of the city where most of the big hotels are located. That are was empty,no one in the street, and we didn't also see anyone at the hotel's swimmingpools either.
For a relaxing holiday, a relaxing atmosphere, also for having a great sunbath during the winter, we reccomend Porto Santa Maria Hotel in Funchal! We will definately visit Funchal next winter and for sure we will chose the same hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cosmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

a lovely hotel right on the sea front and close to the old town of Funchal. Close to many superb restaurants and little streets to explore.
less than 5 minutes walk from the cable car which takes you up to some of the beautiful gardens of maderia.
A really clean and nicely set out hotel with indoor and outdoor pools and a spa area.

It's more for slightly older residents- wouldn't suit chiildren particularly but then I don't think Maderia has much to offer children in entertainment anyway.

Room Tip: pick a sea view room on a higher floor for lovely views out over the harbour and the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liney223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Hotel Porto Santa Maria is part of the renowned Porto Bay Group and is located in the old part of Funchal.
It is classed as 4*, is well worth that rating and is specifically for the 'over 16' clientele. I have disability issues and was looking for a quality Hotel in the centre of Funchal, close to all amenities, Porto Santa Maria fits all of these requirements.
The area surrounding the Hotel is also quite falt, which is ideal for wheelchair users or anyone who has walking difficulties.
The facilities are excellent with both outdoor and indoor pools where various spa treatments are available and up to date disability access.
Rooms are a good size and include a kitchenette which is an added bonus.
This was our second visit, on the first occasion we booked on a half board basis and the restaurant has a very good selection of food. Our lastest visit gave us the opportunity to try bed and breakfast which was also fine due to the close proximity of a good selection of restaurants adjacent to the Hotel.
If you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful Winter break to a centrally located hotel in Madeira, then the Hotel Porto Santa Maria ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: If you 'book', ask for a Harbour View Room and you can watch all the Cruise Ships from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ColinBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

This hotel is 24 mins from Funchal airport on a minibus. It is next door to the old town and promanade so has many restaurants and walks within easy reach.
I found the hotel clean and well maintained.The room came with a small kitchenette , no actual tea, coffee or milk but thse could easily be purchased. The room was not spacious, it did have a small table and one easy chair in it but was fine. It was equipped with a/c and a TV which had some UK channels, they also showed some football on the library TV which my husband appreciated.On a couple of nights there was a faint mechanical drone in the room which I never resolved, and the horns of the liners coming into port were effective.
It does have some live entertainment in the evenings - sometimes a duo or solo singer who I thought were not much different from the muzak usually played.
The indoor swimming pool was good, I only dipped my toe in the outside one and it seemed v. cold.
Breakfast was a buffet with full English, friut. pastries bread and cheese etc.
We had two bar meals in the evening and one meal in the restaurant both of which were fine.I also enjoyed the Harvey Wallbangers from the bar. The only bar meals in the evening were actual meals , we usually had such a large lunch we would have preferred something a little lighter but of course managed to clean our plates.
During our stay many of the guests seemed to be from the UK, athough there were Germans, Scandinavians and some Portugese as well.
The staff were very good and very helpful.
Many guest seemed to be on repeat visits, I may also go back. it was not luxorious but was ideally situated and relaxing

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jacqimcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

The hotel is right on the sea front next to the (yellow) Fort Sao Tiago, right in the middle of one of the old centres in Funchal. The views from the 3rd floor sun-terrace are spectacular at sunrise, during the day, at sunset, and in the evening when all the Christmas lights are on. Take a camera or you will regret it. If you go only once to the hotel you can join the Prestige Club - ordinary members get 10% off meals and drinks, and are eligible for a free room upgrade. The perks get higher when you have been there 5 times. We went for a week in early December and got a special discount of 20% off food and 25% of drinks one evening, and an invitation to a cocktail drinks evening. We got a free room upgrade, the rooms are large, cleaned every day and we got a free bottle of water and free basket of fruit every day. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food at breakfast and dinner is excellent. Come here and love it!!

Room Tip: Ask for one if you are not satisfied with the one you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GeorgeSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay over the Christmas and New Year. Lovely rooms, food excellent with great friendly staff from the manager down to the cleaners.
Right on the seafront next to the old town resturants within a 100 mtrs with all sorts of activities and one of the best fireworks displays I have ever seen. New Years eve gala night with everything from food to drink included, finishing off with champagne on the roof watching the fireworks.

Room Tip: You need a room with a sea view, south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedtoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Property: Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing