We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant dining experience”
Review of Med Restaurant

Med Restaurant
Reserve with
Med Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 688 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Explore Mediterranean flavours. The atmosphere here is a very welcoming fusion inspired by a décor with Greek and Moroccan motifs. A special corner waiting to be discovered... À la carte dinner • wine cellar with about 100 wine references • special children's menu • reservation recommended . .. Seating: 60 + 12 (terrace). Open from Tuesday to Sunday (19.00 to 22.00). The restaurant is located inside the Porto Mare Hotel. » An outside terrace table is not guaranteed, first to come first to seat.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This restaurant is hidden away inside the Porto Mare hotel but it is worth the effort of finding. We sat outside and enjoyed a pleasant evening. The food was excellent and the service was superb.

2  Thank laretal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Med Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Client,

Just a short not for the “Elegant dining experience” review about Med restaurant that you were so kindly to share on tripadvisor

We will be most pleased to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

549 - 553 of 806 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Although this restaurant is located within the Porto Mare Hotel don't let this put you off as it has the feel of a high class independent restaurant. Although we were staying at a sister hotel a few minutes away, the trip advisor recommendations encouraged us to try this restaurant as part of our anniversary celebrations and we weren't disappointed. The welcome was excellent and by arriving early we had the choice of tables. We sat outside on the balcony which only added to the experience. The service was first class from the staff including the manager. The food was excellent and complemented by the wine recommendations. Overall this was great value for money and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this restaurant as one of the best in Funchal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Rocky2Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Med Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for sharing on tripadvisor your opinion about your dining experience at Med restaurant. Yes it is not so common for a restaurant inside of a hotel to be on the spotlights of tripadvisor, but with the kitchen and service team efforts we have made it possible. Really happy that you were so pleased with your dinner.

See you soon with much pleasure,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We initially attended Paolo's wine tasting session at the Porto Santa Maria. After such an informative lesson decided to make the trip to his restaurant at the Porto Mare Hotel.
He was genuinely pleased to see us and welcomed us with complimentary Madeira wine. It was a special 'meat eaters night' so we shared the chateaubriand, preceded by prawn cocktails.
The wines for the evening were all suggested by Paolo, who is an expert on Portuguese wines. All the people who served us were excellent and informed Paolo of our comments, especially about the temperature of the red wine. My husband has taken Paolo's advice so seriously that he now has asked for a wine thermometer for Father's Day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Med Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Client,

First off all it so rewarding to see that clients from other hotels are coming to Med restaurant one of the four gastronomic options of Vila Porto Mare. It seems that Paulo and his team went for the extra mile and I am genuinely pleased with it. Paulo read already your comments but I will proudly share your feedback with all my hotel team as an example of attitude and service.

See you soon with much pleasure,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

It was so lovely to be greeted as a friend when we arrived at the Restaurant last Friday evening by Paulo. Last year I had my special birthday meal there with my husband and four friends which was exceptionally good and made very special by Paulo and his lovely staff. Again this year they were very attentive especially as I had a broken wrist, so chef very kindly cut up my food so it was easier for me. The presentation of the food is always amazing. We enjoyed the Music also provided by a duo which added to the atmosphere. We look forward very much to our visit next year! Thank you Paulo & staff. Marilyn Clark

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Med Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you too for such a nice review about another Med dining experience. Thank you for being such a great suporter of our hotels and restaurants in particular the Med.

It will be a pleasure to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Another great evening at the Med it is always a special place to wine and dine at . On arrival you are made to feel special by Paulo the manager and his staff. There is a lovely atmosphere to the place, with the choice to dine outside over looking one of the pools and gardens or inside. The service is excellent and the Quality of the food is amazing I had the rack of lamb which was so tasty and tender. A first class meal will be returning next year

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Med Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for “First Class Restaurant” review shared with the vast audience of tripadvisor.

I am pleased to learn that we were abler to once again meet your expectations and I will proudly share your thoughts with Paulo and his team.

We will be most pleased to welcome you soon.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Med Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Med Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing